Art you pretty?

We have very little “real” art in our home, because frankly, I love photos.   However, yesterday I fell in love with a print, and it just doesn’t seem to be available. 

Now, I’m hoping some of you more internet and/or art savvy than I am can help.  The print had this at the bottom of it:

By Fred Morgan  Supplement to The Family Herald and Weekly Star, Montreal, Can.   Produced by C. W. Faulkner & Co. London ED

The title of the work, done in a script across the bottom of the print was Queen Alexandra, her Grandchildren and dogs.

Borrowed from Wikipedia

I’ve found a color version online, but I can’t find it now to link.  It looks as though Frederick Morgan is the same guy, because the style is identical.   I’ve admired some of his work in vets’ offices, but nevertheless…

It isn’t flat-out dog art.   I think that’s why I like it.  I liked the particular print I saw yesterday because it was black & white-ish and the hounds (we’ll call them bassets) reminded me a lot of a young Fred (on the right, on all fours, if you find the print) and Sissy (standing on her hind legs, just about center, feet in the lap of a young grand-princess).

Please let me know if you have any clues that might point me in the right direction!

14 comments on “Art you pretty?

  1. Sue says:

    All posters.com has a lot of his work, but I don’t know if that particular one is there.

  2. gMarie says:

    I don’t have any idea – but I like the one you used in the post too. Lovely stuff. g

  3. Blond Duck says:

    I have a lot of local artists’ work or photos.

  4. Cute pic. It does remind of some in the vets office. I’m sure Dear would think it too ‘cutesy’ for the house…

  5. Natalie says:

    I agree…it sounds awesome!! Let us know if you find it!!

  6. Marjie says:

    We went to a gallery in Knoxville after we bought this house, and filled our Ford station wagon to the roof with oils and prints – for $3000 total. It must have been 100 pieces, and I love them all. But you don’t want things you don’t really enjoy in your house, because that would just make it depressing.

  7. Walden says:

    It is adorable.

  8. Barbara says:

    I bet one of your blog buddies will come up with it Chan. I’m not familiar with it. Sorry I can’t help. 😦

  9. anniebananie says:

    I came up with this, although it is a different picture than the one posted on your blog.

    http://www.antiquemapdealers.com/item_P1997@alexandre.htm

  10. Barbara S. says:

    Photographs are “real” art too.

  11. Kathy says:

    I’ve seen this print before but have no idea where to find it. Good luck.

  12. Louise says:

    I can see why you would want to search that darling image out Chan, so cute…I don’t know much about that one but, you just reminded me, I should check through the prints I have to see if their are any related to the girls. I don’t think so but you just never know around here. Remind me to check and if I get all bogged down in whatever life is throwing at me, remind me again!

    Thanks for sharing…

  13. Jaclyn Patterson says:

    Were you able to find in information on the print of Queen Alexandra, Grandchildren and dogs. Supplement to the family hearld and weekly star montreal Canada? My daughter has come across one and believe it came from an old home in Gaspe Quebec.

Leave a Reply

