Back Seat Riders

Happy Dogs on Thursday, little friday and thankful Thursday to you.   Gretchen’s got a cute, fun post up, all about HER new pool…

Since she took care of the awwww factor, that leaves me free to play a little catch-up.    I have a question for you this week…

Anyone have any experience with these back seat hammocks?

Courtesy of In the Company of Dogs

Now that we’re getting a grip on Gretchen’s car anxiety, we need to figure out how to keep her safely in the back seat.  Left to her own devices, she’d like to hop around and finally settle on the center console, but now that we aren’t worried about her having a stroke from being so upset, it’s time for her to be properly restrained.

This particular model has nifty little slits – I think? – that will allow us to seatbelt her harness again, which is my favorite way to restrain the dogs when we travel.  Other models also have a piece that drops down at the doors to cover THAT part of the seat as well.

I’d love to hear from you if you or someone you know is using something similar.  I’m slightly concerned about being able to reach either dog in case one does get car sick, but it’s fabric, so I should be able to get it out of the way, right?

Thankful Thursday.   I’m really thankful for my husband.  I don’t know that I give him enough credit here on my blog.  I’m sure sometimes it sounds as though he’s rather an absentee part of our pack, and nothing could be further from the truth. 

See his hand there, trying to “encourage” Sis to give the water a better chance?  (That’s a hint of what you’ll see on Gretchie’s post too.)  What Gretchen couldn’t tell you about that pool is that we had to go to about six stores in three towns to find it, here in late July.  I insisted we needed the “small” kiddie pool, and that made our search a little more difficult, but he agreed that the slightly lower sides would make it easier for Gretch to hop in and out.  He’s generally very tolerant of my whims, and loves those fur-girls dearly.

Happy little friday!

17 comments on “Back Seat Riders

  1. gMarie says:

    No help at all today. Sorry. I just let my dogs run like the apes the are in the back of the jeep. I know, right? Horribly irrisponsible dog owner.

    that is one tiny pool! I didn’t realize it was that small. Your girls are adorable and Your Knight is a gem. Truly. g

  2. Sue says:

    We have a hammock in the back seat of the Subaru and have used it for about three years. It’s great. It’s easy to reach into if you need to attend them, it’s comfortable for them to sleep on, then can’t fall off the seat in a sudden stop. It’s easy to attach and remove and you can just undo part of it and shove it aside if you need to use the seat. Best of all it washes beautifully. We bought ours from Duluth and we use it constantly.

  3. AlisonH says:

    That’s a cute little pool!

  4. Nichole says:

    Cute pics! Cute LITTLE pool! =)

  5. Sandy says:

    Heh, you just need the right car! Mine is a Honda Element (yes, I know its ugly) and I took the back seats out about a year ago. There is a dog blanket or two on the floor and the pups love it. No trying to crawl into Mom’s lap through the centre. And there is lots of room to move around. Did I mention that there is no carpeting, so easy to clean? This is the perfect dog car (and I have AWD too).

  6. anniebananie says:

    That pool is fab. I can tell that Gretchen loves it, but how about Sissy? Has she taken to it yet?

  7. That hammock looks like something I could use. My ggrls think they have to jump into the front seat all the time. (I don’t share their opinion)

  8. Natalie says:

    Awe how awesome!! I used to have one I dragged to the dog park for Abby to lay in when she got hot. Jackjack didn’t like it.

  9. Jessica says:

    i have used that before. it worked fine with Henry, who is calm…and horribly with Fred, who is a spaz. We have now switched to seatbelts, and they work wonders at restraining Fred! At first we just belted Fred, but then i felt guilty about not keeping Henry as safe…so they are both in seatbelts. People think i am a freak, but i don’t care…no one can operate a vehicle with 40 pounds of spastic Vizsla trying to climb on top of their head.

  10. Marjie says:

    We stuff Thor on the back floor between my seat and the back seat. I’ve done that with our other mastiffs too. Of course, they’re huge and very calm, not like Jessica trying to keep Fred tied down…

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    The pool looks a lot bigger in Gretchen’s post. I’m glad they’ve got something to cool down in, though. It’s miserable out there. Blech.

  12. Anita says:

    Love the pool photos!! I wonder if the girls would mind much if I come join them in it? he he

    Sorry, can’t help you on the car thingy….

  13. Walden says:

    She looks adorable in her pool. Her post is adorable too, I’d probably get in there and enjoy it with them!

  14. Louise says:

    Happy Friday Chan! sorry I missed you and the girls on Thursday. Wish I could help you out with the “car seat” for the kiddies but…

    I’m thankful you’re thankful for the Knight. I miss my “knight” most days and it just makes me realize, a nod is a good thing every now and again. Not too much though ’cause they have tendencies to get big heads:)

    Enjoy your weekend!

  15. Cathy says:

    My guys love the water too and I need to get a replacement pool – since you found one so late in the season, I hope I will too! Max (yorkie/beagle mix) just hops him little self into the bathtub if he can’t find any other water to play in!

  16. Dianne says:

    That hammock thing is a great idea! I’ve never seen one before.

  17. Kathy says:

    I know nothing about restraining pets. They are horrible for car rides. Like G, I’m a terrible pet owner but Molly pants, Gypsy is all over the place and Mr. B whines and cries like a big baby the entire trip. Oaf!

Leave a Reply

