Un-plugging Along

Still unplugged, if you can count life with a Blackberry as unplugged.   No end in sight, and more storms later this week.  Hrmph.

borrowed from Wikipedia

I did whip out a granny square cloth from the pattern in the back of Hooked on Murder (link to previous post).  I got sunburned on Saturday morning, but otherwise had a lovely time at the farmers market.  Then, we went to the fair Saturday evening for the Knight’s much-needed funnel cake fix.   (His looked a lot like that, with cinnamon sprinkled on top of all that powdered sugar.)

Yesterday was another busy day.  Ironically, during this unplugged at home phase, I added Barnes & Noble’s Nook to my stable.  I’d really thought I wanted a Kindle, but the Knight kinda’ pressured me to buy the e-reader NOW, rather than the arm load of books I had to survive the rest of the siege   until internet is restored at home.

I think I’d like Kindle’s little keypad better than Nook’s touchpad, but for now, Nook and I are getting to know each other.  That’s my only obvious concern 12+ hours into the purchase, so it’s hardly buyer’s remorse.   There’s something to be said for being able to buy it NOW, and while Amazon and Target have partnered on the Kindle, my local Target was sold out last week, and Amazon is now saying the next generation of Kindle is sold out and won’t be available until early September.

Anyway, stay tuned for more about Nessy.  Yeah, like everything, my Nook got a name.  This one wasn’t even me being quirky…  When I was setting up my profile, “they” wanted to know what to call my Nook.  (Don’t ask.  It was late, and I was sitting in the car at the scene of an alarm activation, because that’s the kind of date night fun we have in podunk.  So, Nessy it is.)

I know a handful of you have Kindles.  Anyone else have the Nook?

Oh – and how was your weekend?

This entry was posted in Nook.

20 comments on “Un-plugging Along

  1. gMarie says:

    SNOL! No – I’m so unplugged at home my blackberry doesn’t have internet and I can’t find my iPod! 🙂 Sounds like you had a good weekend. g

  2. km says:

    We spent Saturday tying up details and washing lots of laundry. We spent Sunday driving to Napa. Today I’m relaxing as my kids ride bikes on the cul-de-sac. I think we’ll look for jobs here this trip. Oh, and I knit a hat on the drive up. Take your little un-plugged time as a vacation. I’m sure the reading will make it feel restful…that’s how I feel.

  3. Heatherly, of Intwined studios has a Nook. Do you know her? LOL…find her group of Rav and tell her Ruth sent ya!

  4. Oh yeah…she’s the Yarn Yenta!

  5. Cat =^,^= says:

    My new LG ‘droid phone can use the downloadable-book-application – but I am not thrilled with the tiny screen… one of these years I think I’d like a Nessie (or Ness-a-like) too – so I will read with interest as you work with her.

  6. Sue says:

    I bought Rob a Kindle for Christmas a year ago expecting him to get tired of it, then I could use it. Didn’t work that way. He loves it and uses it daily. I love the idea of wanting to read a book and having it there immediately, but I also love the feel of a real book in my hands. I love turning the pages and the smell of a new book opened for the first time. As you can tell, I’m truly torn. Maybe it’s best that Rob has his Kindle and I have my library.

  7. AlisonH says:

    Richard wants an Ipad… You know if we get one we’ll have to get his-n-hers, and it’s just not in the budget yet.

  8. Amy says:

    A gal at the re-enactment this weekend was raving about her Nook. My Mom has a Kindle, and they both look very nice.

    Still no interwebs at home? That’s not good.

  9. Nichole says:

    Nessy instead of Nookie? =)

  10. Blond Duck says:

    Let me know what you think of the Nook and/ or Kindle.

  11. Marjie says:

    I have real books. I kinda like being “out of the loop”, as my kids say.

    I went to the Gertrude Hawk outlet store this weekend. I don’t think I need to be fussy about cosmetics when I get chocolate for half price. And when it’s $12 per pound chocolate, I need it for half price. But chocolate makes for a good weekend, right?

    And so what is being done about your internet? Or will you just suffer in silence (or maybe not such silence)?

  12. Bridget says:

    I don’t have an e-reader, but The Tim will be pleased that you have a Nook … 😉

  13. Kristin says:

    Funnel cake is the sole reason I hit up the fair!

  14. Anita says:

    Oh! Farmer’s Market… we have one here in Calabash every Saturday, not that I have been able to go to even ONE all dang summer. Pout. Did you get anything there?

    I look forward to meeting your Nessy, see if I want one for myself. 🙂

  15. Darcy says:

    I dont have one yet cute that you named yours I got to go to the Farmer’s Market on WWKPD bought hubby some yummy jam and that treat is awesome had one of them on July 2nd MMmmm:)Hugs Darcy

  16. KnittySue says:

    AHHH, funnel Cake…YUM. Glad you had a great weekend, I’m off to the Farmer’s Produce stand today. Yes we still have afew farmers around here so I don’t have to wait til the weekend.:)

  17. Mary says:

    Not only do I not have an e-reader, I hadn’t even heard of a Nook (except as a place where you keep stuff). Hopelessly out of touch, but I keep the library so busy that the local librarians (in a large metropolitan area) know me by name. And I buy too many books, too. Glad you are enjoying Nessy. Sorry you are still mostly unplug. What a pain.

    As for the weekend…best forgotten (I wish).

  18. Susan says:

    I have a Nook and 3 Kindles!!! Ok, I know how to spell gadget geek!!! I prefer the Kindle.

  19. Bubblesknits says:

    Mine got the incredibly uninventive name of “Bubblesknits’ Kindle”. lol

    Nothing big here over the weekend. Just working on getting things ready for school to start back. Tomorrow is the big day!

  20. Kathy says:

    Well I see I should’ve stalked blogs first before I shot questions…..LOL

    I’m plunking change in my piggy bank. Think I may need a Nook too ;).

Leave a Reply

