One down…

Well!  Let’s hear it for Nessy.  One book down, and another has been downloaded already.

Borrowed from B&N Dead Men Don’t Crochet, one and done.  Downloaded it onto the Nook at work yesterday morning, and thanks to a meeting that wasn’t as quick as the Knight thought it would be, I finished it up at the firehouse last night.  Then, since the firehouse blocks virtually all wireless signals and we weren’t there long enough for me to find IT Dude and get him to set Nessy up on the network, I went home and downloaded the next book in the series.  I’m a few pages in…

Anyway, another cute book.  This one had a bit of history on Irish lace crochet (I think I’m missing a few words there), so there was a smattering of education in there.  I’m going to be sad when I finish the series.

July 2010 016

Gratuitous cute doggies photo

Oh – and so far, each new book adds a new doggy to the series too.  They’re hardly main characters, but they’re cute and it makes me like the characters even more!

Internet might be restored tonight, if the shipping fates allow.  Seems the modem was shipped “signature required” but the Knight didn’t know that, so we’ll have to figure out how to get one of us and the box in the same place at the same time…

That leaves 1,498 books I can download before I need to expand my storage on Nessy…

15 comments on “One down…

  1. Nichole says:

    LOL… more than 1500 books on one ereader? =)

  2. gMarie says:

    But can’t you move books off too? So you can download more than 1,500? Or is there a limit to how many books you can actually download? Did you take a look at the caterer books? They are good – and she has a bloodhound named Jake. g

  3. Marjie says:

    Oh, my. You’d better get reading. Looks to me like you will have to update your Nessie in less than 3 years. Start planning now!

  4. Sue says:

    Don’t you feel isolated and out of touch with no internet at home? When ours was out because of the ice storm, I felt so cut off. I didn’t know if the rest of the world knew that we weren’t just ignoring them.

    I can’t count the number of times some strange thought will pop into my head and I run to Google to check it out, lyrics to a song, a name from the distant past, any little thing. I guess I’m in love with the internet.

  5. grace says:

    I thought I wanted a recliner for my birthday but maybe a Nook would be better!!! Here is a question for you, can you share books, or is that impossible?

  6. AlisonH says:

    Waiting for the shipper’s knock on the door is so fun… (One more. Just one more part to try on that dishwasher after three weeks wrestling with it, and if that doesn’t work then the parts go back and the dishwasher into the landfill after all. Crossing my fingers. Supposed to come tomorrow.)

  7. Yippeee! (both to books an internet)

  8. Walden says:

    Good luck, I despise “signature required” packages! 🙂

  9. km says:

    Somehow Nessy makes me think of the Loch Ness Monster. ;0)

  10. Mary says:

    Add me to the “waiting for parts” list: as in a new front door for a brand new high tech, super-duper washing machine. A lovely neighbor is allowing DH to do our washing there…because he wanted the d#mn thing, so he can do d@mn washing until it is fixed.:)

  11. Susan says:

    Once you read a book, delete it from Nessie. You can redownload it from B&N if you want it, but then you are free for another 1,500. Wouldn’t want you to run out of room the first week!!! 😉

  12. Anita says:

    Hmmm, I need to put that book in my wish list. 🙂

    I also have all of my ebooks backed up on CD just in case. LOL

  13. Kathy says:

    I’m asking the same question that G did, can’t you delete books to add more?
    Keep it up….you’re convincing me more and more to look into the Nook for myself ;).

  14. Tee says:

    Wow that’s alot of reading to do! I just finished Stieg Larsson ‘ Girl with the dragon tattoo’ and i’m not even near 10 books for the year!

    Love the cute dogs photos.

  15. Bubblesknits says:

    I just found one called, “Death by Cashmere”. I might download that one tonight. 😀

Leave a Reply

