How Book You Do?

Last week, I saw a post on Ruth’s blog that made me think.   You can follow the links (to Ruth’s blog, then beyond) back to where she found the questions, but I’d really like to hear some of your bookish thoughts too! 

Grab a tall, cool beverage if you’re suffering from a crushing heatwave as we are.  It’s a looooong post, but I couldn’t figure out how to break it up so that it made sense with anything else! 

(Forgive the sporadic links and the crazy bold stuff…  We were having issues this morning between Word and WordPress.)

1. Favourite childhood book:

I can’t choose just one.  I adored the Trixie Belden series, Nancy Drew, Misty & Stormy of Chinoteauge

2. What are you reading right now?

My third book on the Nook, the fourth in the crochet mysteries, A Stitch in Time.
3. What books do you have on request at the library?

Well, since I don’t use the library, I can tell you what’s on my Nook wish list.  I’m getting ready to download a preview of Casting Spells by Barbara Bretton, The Help, Garden Spells, Heart of the Matter, The Lost Symbol.  Then there are the hundreds of books on my Amazon “paper” list…

4. Bad book habit:

I don’t believe in letting go.  I have several hundred books that I’ve agreed I can part with, but there are still almost more books than we have shelves. 

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?

See above.  Our libraries aren’t conveniently located for me.

6. Do you have an e-reader?

Just got a Nook over the weekend.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?

One at a time, thanks. 

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?

And how!  My reading list has grown.  The friends I look to for recommendations have multiplied.  The friends who gift me books have increased too.

9. Least favourite book you read this year:

This year?  The Jane Austen Book Club.  Didn’t even finish it.

10. Favourite book I’ve read this year:

Plural.  Children of God & The Sparrow and everything by Neil Gaiman.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?

Depends.  Here lately, quite a bit.  I’ve discovered a latent love for “fluffy” mystery series and sappy stories, and I’ve also discovered that I like some fantasty/sci-fi stuff after all.

12. What is your reading comfort zone?

Left to my own devices, the classics, biographies and anything with a happy ending.

13. Can you read on the bus?

I can read in a moving vehicle.  Haven’t taken a bus since a group of us went to the Longaberger Homestead years ago.

14. Favourite place to read:

On my couch with a dog curled up beside me and a cuppa tea nearby.  (I’ll just second that, Ruth.)

15. What’s your policy on book lending?

I loan books, but I’ve had to let go of getting upset if they don’t come back . I won’t lend books I can’t live without anymore.  (Another case of couldn’t have said it better.)

16. Do you dogear your books?

 NEVER. 

17. Do you write notes in the margins of your books?

No.  Not even in textbooks.

18. Do you break/crack the spine of your books? 

I try not to, but sometimes it happens.

19. What is your favourite language to read?

English.  It’s easiest.  That being said, I can read in French, Latin and with much sighing and crinkling of the brow, some Spanish. 

20. What makes you love a book?

The characters.  If you can’t make me care about them, I’ll have trouble finishing.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?

Anything I enjoy, especially if it’s something I think I missed out on and should have read long ago.  (Neil Gaimon, anyone?)

22. Favourite genre:

Today?  Fluffy, easy-reading mystery series.

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did):

Dunno.  I don’t read a lot of romance or horror, and don’t care to.

24. Favourite Biography:

Hands down, Five Sisters: The Langhornes of Virginia.  They grew up in my back yard and that made the book that much better.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?

Sure, but not lately, unless fiber arts books count.

26. Favourite Cookbook:

How about my favorite collection?  Anything Junior League…

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction):

The Sparrow
       

28. Favourite reading snack:

I sip water or tea while I read but rarely eat.  I’ve been known to overlook meals when I’m in deep…

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience:

The end of the Harry Potter saga, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.  Not only did it ruin my experience, it broke my heart.

30. How often do you agree with the critics about about a book?

Well, let’s see…  I don’t read critics, so…  ??

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?

I’m not in third grade.  I speak honestly, and sometimes, a friend is disappointed that I didn’t share her love of a book, but life happens.  All of my bookish friends are still giving me recommendations, even if we disagree sometimes.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose?

I still want to learn Greek and Hebrew. 

33. Most intimidating book I’ve read:

Um, anything with LOTS of steamy sex scences?!  Seriously…  I skip those.  I wouldn’t say they’re intimidating, but they are off-putting.

34. Most intimidating book I’m too nervous to begin:

Not a clue.  I’m well-read, and thanks to my BFF’s hubby years ago, I now know I’m free to set a book aside if I don’t enjoy it.  

35. Favourite Poet:

I don’t do singular well, it seems.  Tennyson, Frost, Keates, Donne, Shakespeare…

36. How many books do you usually have checked out from the library at any given time?

Sorry.  The bookmobile got cut from the county budget years ago.

37. How often do you return books to the library unread?
N/A

38. Favourite fictional character:

Don’t have one.  I do think I wanted to figure out how to be a mix of Honey Wheeler and Trixie Belden long ago though…

39. Favourite fictional villain:

No one really stands out.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation:

Fluff.  Sure, I’ve read church history and biographies at the beach, but then I realized the lighter fare is fun when I grabbed a book off the bookshelves at the beach a couple of winters ago…

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading:

The first year or two I got into knitting.  I still read, but I didn’t burn through books the way I have most of the rest of my life.

42. Name a book you could/would not finish:

The Blind Assassin, by my otherwise beloved Atwood.  Just couldn’t get into it.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?

If it’s a good book, nothing.  Now that I’m not a firefighter anymore, there are no house horns to jolt me back to reality.

44. Favourite film adaptation of a novel:

Dunno.  Charlotte’s Web??  Black Beauty, the original with Elizabeth Taylor?

45. Most disappointing film adaptation:

The last few Harry Potters?

46. Most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time:

I have no earthly idea.  I’ve bought a case of the same book to give as Christmas gifts many, MANY times…

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?

Never.  I don’t believe I’ve ever read the last page before it was time either.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through?

When it’s so tedious and I’m already longing to start the next book in the pile…

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?

Absolutely.  It’s getting easier now that the Knight has insisted only my favorites that I will re-read can live with us. 

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once they’ve been read?

See above.  If I could, I’d keep ‘em all.  Now, I’m trying to share the ones I won’t re-read, and still have hundreds that want a yard sale or something, since used book store credits won’t work in a Nook.

51. Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding?

No.  Why would I avoid a book?

52. Name a book that made you angry:

To Kill a Mockingbird.  I’ve read it a dozen times, and it STILL gets me.

53. A book I didn’t expect to like but did:

The Sparrow.  Barbara confessed that her husband feared I’d never speak to her after reading it, but I think it’s a tale of hope, faith and the power of love.

54. A book I expected to like but didn’t:

Edgar Sawtelle.  I mean, it’s about a guy and his family has their own unique breed of dogs, but none of the characters made me care about them, not enough.

55. Favourite guilt-free guilty pleasure reading:

These little, fluffy mystery series…

How do my answers compare to yours?

18 comments on “How Book You Do?

  1. gMarie says:

    OMG – you must have hated getting my poodle books – dogeared, cracked spines, and cheetos stained! I’m glad you enjoyed reading them, however. g

    ps – I’m totally a fluff reader. My job is too serious, I need my hobbies and relaxation not to be.

  2. Marjie says:

    Holy cow! How did you find time to answer 55 questions? I never, ever, ever dog ear or mark my books, except to make memos in cookbooks so I remember what I did next time. I would never even buy a used college textbook, because highlighting offends me. I’ll read anything that comes to hand, but I just love mysteries, period novels, etc. I read The Maltese Falcon (for the first time ever) while I was in the hospital. My doctors were amused, others were just puzzled. I loved Sam Spade in his Deusy.

  3. Nichole says:

    Happy Reading!

    Nook or Kindle… Nook or Kindle… Nook or Kindle… oh heck, WHEN will I have time to read? lol

  4. LOL…I can’t believe you found time to do this already! I’m pleased to say, no real surprises for me from this…that means I’m paying good attention, right? As to dollars spent…last, in the virtual bookstore, I bought ALL of Daniel’s books for the new semester…used! Ugh and shuddur, tho…since we’re late to the party, had to pay outrageous shipping to get them in time…

  5. Sue says:

    I love this post so much that I’m going to answer it on my blog, something I never do. Books have always been such an important part of my life that this deserves thought and attention.

  6. AlisonH says:

    If I love a book enough to want to give it out, I look for cheap used copies to have on hand. I gave Don three of those yesterday. I told him about “Mountains Beyond Mountains,” too, but my only copy is signed and I didn’t offer that one.

  7. grace says:

    Now that is an informative meme, and one I will do sometime soon. Thanks for taking the time to do it!!!

  8. Blond Duck says:

    I LOVE to read. I just got 8 new books from the library. And I love JL cookbooks. Didn’t you adore the original cartoon of Charlotte’s Web?

  9. Anita says:

    I don’t do poetry, & I do NOT dog ear books or mark them in any way. LOL I like to keep them all too. That’s what makes ebooks so great. 🙂

  10. Kathy says:

    STOP already….you’re killing me here LOL. Now I MUST have a NOOK. Think I’d read more. I have a tendency to not return library books on time so I skip it therefore I don’t read as much as I’d like.

    ooohhh…Trixie and Nancy were my most favorite book series as a kid. I would lie under the willow tree in the back yard and that’s where I would be on a summer day. I have no idea how many times I read the books. I know more than twice just like Little Women. Loved that book and read it at least 3 times.

  11. Krystle says:

    I wasn’t much of a reader growing up, it was like I was trying to defy the system… The first set of books I read completely by choice were all the Harry Potter’s starting in about 4th grade… and I’ve been hooked to reading ever since.. I don’t dog ear, but I do underline new words that need to be looked up, and then I can reference the dictionary at the end of the chapter or book to increase my vocab.. I also underline, highlight, and make notations in my text books, but hey, I’m just making less studying for the next person to take the class…
    A book to recommend: The School of Essential Ingredients. It is light hearted, great characters, and a wonderful story of how food aids them. Very quick read, and definitely in my top list. I won’t be offended if you don’t like it either! Happy reading!

  12. Mary says:

    Not too many surprises from your answers. I would be bankrupt from book buying if I didn’t have simple and easy access to my local (3 counties-worth) library system (including placing holds online, email notifications when they come in, etc). On first name basis with librarians as I visit at least 1-2x a week as I drive right by the library every night on my (100 miles a day) commute. Books on CD are my salvation during the commute. But even with the library, I still buy too many books.

  13. Heather says:

    I loved the Trixie Belden Books!!!

  14. Kathy says:

    That’s a lot of questions you answered!

    I really want a Kindle.

    I’m going on vacation next week and thinking of what books to take. I won’t lie, size does matter almost as much as content. Most hard-back books are too big to take. I like the trade size paperbacks. I am trying to decide if I’ll go shopping in my shelves or at my LBS (local book store).

  15. Knitting It Out says:

    Fan-freaking-tastic. I love this line of questioning 🙂 I have just recently found myself interested in reading again (after a long spell of not reading books at all).

  16. […] to all of you who’ve grabbed the book meme and posted your answers.  It’s a long read, but I’ve really been enjoying them! OBX […]

  17. Julie says:

    I try to read Charlotte’s Web every summer. It is my favorite children’s book. One of the worst books I ever attempted to read was “The Jane Austen Book Club”. Thought I would love it and really hated it! I don’t want a reader~Kindle,Nook~I love the feel of a book in my hands.

  18. […] can also now answer the villain (#39) question.  William Hamleigh is beyond a shadow of a doubt the most despicable character in the history of […]

Leave a Reply

