Four FOs

I am completely unmotivated to knit (aside from a fascination with the Wendy Knits Shetland Pi Shawl KAL, not that I’ve cast on yet…) but that doesn’t mean I’ve been idle.  I’m about 500 pages deep into Pillars of the Earth and I’m wondering why it took me ten years to read it.  It’s right up my alley, aside from the rather graphic rape/sexual stuff.  (Skim, skim, read…  and honestly, some of the building details are blah, blah, blah to me too…)

I’ve also been on a bit of a crocheted cloth tear.  I generally knit a bunch of cloths about this time of year, when it’s too hot to tote wool around, but I’m blaming it on my crochet murder mystery reading and hooking away.

First up is my first granny square, courtesy of Hooked on Murder
August 2010 010
Pattern:  CeeCee’s Granny Square Washcloth, listed in the back of said book.   It was easy enough, especially since I didn’t bother with color changes.

Yarn:  Peaches and Cream’s Peppercorn. 

Hook – J, but if I make this again, I’ll use H.

Verdict:  I’ll try another one of these days…

 

August 2010 008

Project: Lanscape Daisy Cloth.

Pattern:  Daisy Cloth, from Lily’s Bright Idea booklet.  According to Ravelry, this and the Primrose pattern (below) are/were available as a free flyer at Michael’s.  I liked them both a lot!

Yarn:  Sugar ‘n Cream in Landscape.

Hook:  H

Verdict:  I’d make this or the Primrose (below) again in a heartbeat.

August 2010 009

Project:  Peppercorn Primrose

Pattern, hook & verdict: same as above

Yarn:  More of the Peaches & Cream Peppercorn

August 2010 011

Project:  Carefree Mod Flower Cloth

Pattern:  Mod Flower Dishcloth, also from Bright Ideas.  I’m not sure there isn’t an error or two, or maybe I was just too tired when I was doing this one, but…  It also took FOUR tries to get the center right.  I’m guessing it was me there too, because I really am a crochet novice.

Yarn:  Red Heart’s Carefree Cotton.  I think the yarn might have been part of the problem with the funky, inability to get square results.  There’s a lot of acrylic in with the blend, and while that makes it soft to work with, evidently it’s too pliable for this pattern.  I think this yarn would be better suited for clothing.

Hook:  I used the Addi H on this one.  I really liked the slightly bulkier grip.

Verdict:  Meh.  I might have to try it again with a truly utilitarian cotton.

What did you do over the weekend?

19 comments on “Four FOs

  1. Joan says:

    Love your dishcloths! I’m doing Pillars of the Earth on audio and can’t skip the boring parts cuz my iPod only goes forward and back at about 45 minute intervals. There are about 40 hours on the audio.

    I like the book but don’t appreciate his use of modern swear words thrown in. After all the research he did, you’d think he’d know they didn’t use the “f” word back then. I also didn’t appreciate the bear bating scene, although I know things like that went on back then.

    BTW, thanks so much for your nice comment on my “dog blog” about Molly. I see we have lots in common with both dogs and knitting!

  2. Barbara S. says:

    Would you believe me if I said I moved furniture around this weekend? Well, mostly shoved and dragged I suppose. Shuffled books from one spot to another as well.
    Now I suppose this new book you have lost yourself in might be my fault too? I could blame DTE if we need me to.

  3. Sue says:

    I’m guessing you know there’s a sequel called World Without End. I read Pillars years ago, so had to reread it last year before the sequel. I liked them both.

    It was too hot here to go outside, so we played Scrabble and I knit a little and read a little and watched crap on TV.

  4. Kathy says:

    Love your cloths! Unfortunately crocheting is a skill I don’t yet possess.

    Isn’t one of the cable channels doing a series/miniseries on Pillars of the Earth?

  5. gMarie says:

    Those cloths are adorable. Hmmm – my weekend, errands, pampering, driving the convertible with friends, pizza, reading, knitting (finished 2 pairs of socks!) sewing, cooking. It was good. ♥g

  6. km says:

    Still vacationing. Probably headed home Thursday.

    I stayed up late last night and sewed the buttons on my Hoodie. Photoshoot tommorrow in the city where I bought the yarn…1 year ago.

    I got a free flower pattern for crochet. I’m thinking of making some tiny ones for headbands. I’ll keep you posted when I do.

  7. grace says:

    love the clothes, they are adorable!!! My post fills us in on some of my weekend activities!!!

  8. Very nice cloths…who cares if you hook or needle, as long as you’re happy with the results, eh? You know “we” dug holes yetsterday….Sat, after chores, we shopped for things to put in holes!

  9. Nichole says:

    Oooh… pretty! Esp the daisy and primrose… love them!

    I found my knitting mojo on Saturday, even if for a short while. Cast on Coquille with some 3AM Enchantments yarn……but I’m still asking, just WHERE did the weekend fly away to??

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I think the heat is wearing on everyone!

  11. Amy says:

    Look at you, with all that crochet! I may have to try my hand at finally learning.

  12. AlisonH says:

    I learned that I am well enough now to drive up to San Francisco and bop around town there. I kept thinking, wow, a year ago…!

  13. Marjie says:

    I can actually crochet. I’m just not sure I want to crochet wash cloths, with the way things get abused around here.

  14. Anita says:

    Love your cloths!! 🙂 I actually knitted 2 cloths & started a small hand towel the past few days…

  15. Susan says:

    World Without End is as good as Pillars. Enjoy them both, now that you don’t have to hold the big heavy book!!!

    I want to do the Pi KAL too!! But I haven’t gotten started.

  16. Walden says:

    Love your crochet squares, especially the colors in the last one! I might have to make a couple of these squares/motifs!

  17. Kathy says:

    Very pretty cloths and functional too.
    Never read the book but now I’m curious.

    My weekend? Let me see….cleared land, planted crops, fed animals….oh wait….that was Frontierville…lol

  18. Bubblesknits says:

    I love those two round cloths. I might have to make a couple of those if I can get my crochet hook to behave.

  19. monnibo says:

    I actually really like the first one! Maybe it’s just the yarn….

Leave a Reply

