Best Wishes…

… and birthday kisses to Anita!   The fur girls got their wishes up earlier, because Gretchen is still miffed that I didn’t even tell them today was Auntie ‘Nita’s birthday until this morning.

DSC_1020

Anita isn’t crazy about this photo, but I am.  I have it as her profile photo in my Blackberry, so every time she calls, that’s what I see. 

Have a great day girlfriend, and I’ll get your package in the mail soon, because I can’t stand it when Gretchen is worried. 

In other news, I finished Pillars of the Earth.  896 e-pages, and I loved at least 700 of those pages.  I did skim the sex and rape scenes, and frankly, while I happen to love cathedrals too, my eyes glazed over a few times…  Still, Follet is no Michener,  so the descriptions only dragged on SO long.

DSC_0954

There's spinning in Pillars... wonder if the wheel looked like this? Anita Fall 2009

If you’re a fan of historical novels, the Middle Ages, Catholic Church history, witchcraft or just good vs. evil and like me, you missed the book the first 20 years it was out there, you really should read this epic saga.  It’s not light reading, but it’s right up there with the Gaiman and Russell books I’ve LOVED this year. 

I can also now answer the villain (#39) questionWilliam Hamleigh is beyond a shadow of a doubt the most despicable character in the history of EVER.  I think I can explain without spoilers, but if you haven’t read the book or don’t care, maybe you can skip the next paragraph.

What made him so vile for me is that he was a MEAN, violent bully (so was Alfred, but I just disliked him) with a conscience.  Little Willy’s awful mom and a priest or ten did strike the fear of Hell in him, but he just couldn’t stop the high that came from overpowering others – physically of course, because he wasn’t the sharpest knife in the drawer either.  I kept waiting for the redemption that a few of the bad guys did have, but William just didn’t have it in him.

I’ve already purchased the kinda’ sequel, World Without End, and will start it as soon as I finish Fight Club and the other “Chuck” novel Amy loaned me yesterday.  I have to tell you…  I’m already hooked on e-reading.  I found myself rolling my eyes and groaning when I had to find a bookmark and then move it while I was brushing my teeth…

15 comments on “Best Wishes…

  1. Sue says:

    I really like that first picture of Anita and the girls.

    It sounds like you’re reading faster on the Nook than with actual books. Do you carry it everywhere with you?

  2. gMarie says:

    oh you poor girl – had to find a bookmark? Happy Birthday to Miss ‘Nita – I have it on my calendar – but it’s covered with files 😦 g

  3. Barbara S. says:

    “Not light reading” ’tis true; my paperback copy weighs almost three pounds!
    Don’t think the booklist lady has read Fight Club, will have to ask since she really likes the movie.
    I bet your Nook has its very own spot in your purse and has to climb in every morning before you go out. Have I ever told you about Tootie, the African Gray Parrot that went to school (most) every day with the high school biology teacher? She had a lunch box to ride in and would go climb in it whenever she saw that it was time to go. Pity the poor teacher on days the bird had to stay home!
    Have a wonderful day!

  4. laceylee says:

    Chan I don’t know how you do it. Work, knit, read and everything else all at once. You have been busy. I am sorry I did not reply to your last comment on my blog. To answer your question, I do not have a way of displaying my handkerchiefs. Glad to see your keeping busy.
    L

  5. Marjie says:

    I like the picture of anita with your girls. The picture of her at the spinning wheel is pretty, too.

    Happy Birthday to the friend of my friend!

  6. Kathy says:

    Anita’s birthday! YAY!!! I sent her wishes all over the place 🙂

    Nook: Enabler! LOL

  7. AlisonH says:

    Loved the photos! I think I’ll skip that book, though.

  8. LOL…700 pages of “good” reading is, well, pretty darn good! When/if I get an e-reader…Merry Christmas to me? I’ll consider the weighty novels you mention.

  9. Nichole says:

    Happy Birthday Anita! ♥

  10. Cat says:

    Pillars of the Earth – it has been on my reading list for a good long time … so I should move it up? I like historical novels, Catholic history stuff, cathedrals, the middle ages, witchcraft and all that (what did I leave out?) too – up it goes. I am a fan of books on tape (I’m aging myself again, I should have said CD or probably ipod, but you know what I mean) – I like to knit and read simultaneously.

    Birthday wishes to Auntie ‘nita too, what the heck?!? Have good ones, folks; later!

  11. Amy Darsie says:

    I’m glad that you are enjoying the book. I love Chuck’s writing style so much. The only book of his that I’ve read that I didn’t like was Pygmy. I think that Choke and Snuff are my two favorites!

    I was totally cranky yesterday when we got home (thanks to Aunt Flo), so I’ll post pictures of the roving I bought tomorrow.

  12. Anita says:

    Awww, thanks for the sweet post. 🙂 I like that photo of me & the girls… it’s the other one with both of us in there where I’m smiling too big & showing all the dang creases in my face that I don’t like! ha ha

    I’m so glad that you are enjoying that Nook! 🙂

  13. Mary says:

    Michener and descriptions!!!! Arrrrrrggggghhhhhh. Loved the tales, but hated the everlasting, “how many pages can you cover” descriptions.

    On a better note, Happy Birthday, Anita!

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    Happy Birthday to ‘Nita! 🙂

    Believe it or not, I’ve gotten sucked back into my paperback books. We finally got the office finished this past weekend and unpacked all our books. It was like being reunited with old friends.

  15. Happy Birthday Anita! glad you found your villain 🙂

Leave a Reply

