Time Marches On

Warning – might be heart-warming or a tear-jerker, depending on your frame of mind.

Today is the anniversary of the last day of Mugsy’s life.

DSCN1306

Baby-man and his ball, Spring 2008 OBX

I don’t know that I’ll live long enough to stop missing him.  All the dogs in my life have been special, but Mugsy had so much personality and vitality!

Not a day goes by that I don’t talk to him.  I think of him when I see Wishbone, his female Jack Russell contemporary on our road.  I think of him when I see or talk about Roscoe, a friend’s JRT also about the same age.  I see him in Gretchen’s desire to play fetch and her funny little attempts to “guard” me.

DSCN1981

Just a little reminder... Fall 2008 OBX

I love that he leaves us little calling cards, so we know he’s still around, keeping an eye on all of us.   Some of you are very familiar with the fact that I don’t believe in coincidences, so finding this ball under the beach house the first time we went down without him was bittersweet.  I left it there, because even a ghost dog needs his ball, especially at the beach.

Farmer Mugsy 3

August 2007 - Happy farmer dog & Dadaw

This isn’t meant to be a sad post.  I’m blessed to have had this darling creature in my life.   Oh, how it hurts to say good-bye, but I can’t imagine life without a dear pet or ten.  They give far, FAR more than we can possibly return.  

maggie4

Girl behind the open door...

Luckily, when one door closes another opens.  In a few days, we’ll celebrate the birth of the other insanely special terror terrier in my life…  

(Why yes, that is a regulation sized tennis ball, but more about her another day!)

How was your weekend?   My only excitement was yesterday’s trip, but I’ll fill you in on that when I have time for some photos!

22 comments on “Time Marches On

  1. gMarie says:

    What a lovely special post. Thank you for sharing. I know I’ve brought a ton of memories to the forefront for you and you will never truly know how grateful I am for the handholding. Tears – with smiles. g

  2. Dianne says:

    Sitting here with tears running down my cheeks. Wish I could give you a big hug!

  3. Special pets and special people live on in our lives…glad you had the chance to be owned by dog as wonderful as Mugsy. Accept kisses from Baby girl today in remembrance.

  4. Sue says:

    It’s pretty amazing the grip they get on your heart. And when they leave they take part of it with them. It’s so hard to lose one, but I wouldn’t want to spend my life never knowing the special joy they bring.

  5. AlisonH says:

    Grieving them means you love them, and who would want to miss out on that?

  6. jen says:

    we had to put nat’s kitty of 10 years to sleep on Saturday. This post made me cry but it just made me miss Simon all the same. I cried all day staurday thinking is was the crappiest person on the planet for telling nathaniel it was time and then i spent all day crying yesterday cause i missed him. I know it was right and all, but really.
    You are the worst person ever when you tell the person you love their pet can’t take it anymore it is time they go. I stills ort of carry the guilt. But i think it will lessen with time. He is buired in our garden with all our family pets and nat’s turtle. I find so much comfort in knowing my gang met him at his passing and took good care of him.

    Sweet little mugsy. i am glad i am not the only one who knows the past pets energy lives on keeping an eye out on us.

  7. Mary says:

    You were lucky to have each other. Memories keep our special ones alive in our hearts which is why your post is so fitting. Thinking of you.

  8. Marjie says:

    If there’s no sorrow from memories, then there was no joy involved. And without joy, what good is life? Hugs from 400 miles up I-81.

  9. Pooch says:

    Tear jerker, definitely, even as it is a celebration of life. Its how I think of my Max. How fortunate we are to have had them.
    🙂

  10. Kathy says:

    A tear and a smile here :).
    Mr. Bettis and the gang sends lots of kisses and they know Sissy and Gretchen will give extra attention today in their own sweet way.
    Love and hugs.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

  12. Natalie says:

    Awe…will be thinking of you.

  13. Amy says:

    Oy – I’m all misty now. What a beautiful post to a wonderful pup!

  14. Bridget says:

    I think that I discovered your blog either right before, or right after Mugsy died. Either way, I feel like he brought me to you, and it was sweet of him to do so.

    I know how you feel, trust me. But I do believe that it is better to have loved and lost. Unavoidable, but worth it overall.

  15. Anita says:

    Awwww, Mugsy…. I soooo wish I could have met you.
    I still miss Theo, Harley, Maggie, Littleman & all the rest too…. but I’m so glad that I had every one of them in my life. snif, snif

  16. Darcy says:

    Awww love the pictures and thankyou for sharing your memories our pets are our family and the grieving is the same you love with your whole heart and Mugsy was special no doubt about that.(((((Hugging You)))))Darcy

  17. Susan says:

    Each one leaves their special pawprints on our lives and our hearts, but the love and joy they give us while they are with us is beyond measurable!!!

  18. Nichole says:

    Hugs to all! They sure do leave an impact on us… and rightfully so. Great pics.. ♥

  19. Bubblesknits says:

    Okay…can you pass the tissues please? ::sniffle::

  20. Mr. Puffy says:

    Has it been a year already? My heart goes out to you. I love that you left his ball for him.

  21. Toni says:

    Hugs… wow… what a tribute. Three cheers for Mugs! Misty eyed as can be at the moment. I feel like I miss him for you… and I feel happy to know him through you.

  22. StarSpry says:

    This was a very sweet post, and a tear-jerker for me! I really like all the pictures and I’m glad you have such wonderful memories of Mugsy.

Leave a Reply

