Jumbled

IMG_0120

Photo property of ... follow the link...

I just have a whole wad of disconnected stuff to share today.  Firstly, I love this cool wave we’re having.  Frankly, summer is my least favorite season and in my utopia, it would NEVER be above 80 degrees.   It makes me want to knit, if you can imagine!   What are you working on?  I have three projects I REALLY want to finally finish, but I have this urge to cast on….  THAT. 

Next, I’ve forgotten to remember several things.  A cocktail party Friday night.  (Nothing like apologizing your way into being told to come on anyway five days after the RSVP was due.)  A bridal shower Sunday.  Okay, some of you know I don’t care for “hen parties” but I do adore the bride and both her family and the groom’s family…  To RSVP for the same couple’s wedding.  Yeah, they know we’re coming because the Knight is in the wedding, but that’s not the point.  There’s more, but you get the picture.

I finally finished Survivor.  I feel like the survivor for finishing it, but again, Chuck made me curious enough about the characters that I had to see it through to the bitter end.  I really don’t know how to review this book without pushing a lot of buttons for a lot of people, so I’m going to leave it alone.  See Nannie, Nana, Ru-Ru, B’Leigh and all the other women in my life who tried to teach me to be a nice southern lady?  I CAN keep my mouth shut when I don’t have anything nice to say about… the subject in the book that I don’t want to have a discussion about.

Even though Sis had other ideas (scroll down to the previous post), I didn’t waste a second snatching up Death by Darjeeling.  I think Theo (the main character, a woman) and I would be great friends, and I know the fur-girls would love Earl Grey, her “Dalbrador” which is to say, her lab-dalmation rescue dog.  If I had the book, I’d look it up…  Gotta’ love the internet.  Page 12

This series reminds me of the tremendous gap in my US travels, in my lapse as a proper Southern lady.  I’ve never been to Charleston.  (But I have been to Charleston, not to be confused with its in-state rival, Charles Town.  The race track is NOT the capitol, in case anyone is confused.)

I *NEED* a sweetgrass basket from Charleston, SC

Whew.  I nearly confused myself there.  I wanna’ go to that historic, Southern port-town, Charleston, South Carolina.  I have been to and through Charleston, West Virginia, which has a most lovely capitol building, visible from the interstate.  Go it?

Well, I think that’s more than enough babble and geographical word play for one day.   Now, to figure out what to wear to the cocktail party on Friday…

18 comments on “Jumbled

  1. Abby says:

    Proper southern ladies can say just about anything they want, so long as they add, “Bless its heart,” can’t they?

  2. grace says:

    and I think they have to say Y’all know what I mean,doncha dahhhhhlin, but I could be wrong being a Jersey girl and all.

    No one does cocktail parties around here —I remember my mom and dad going to them a lot when i was a kid, I envied my mother’s wardrobe!!!

  3. gMarie says:

    Oh – I want to go to a cocktail party. Your weekend is shaping up to be quite full, isn’t it?

    Love that you learned lessons from Bambi. If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all. One of my favorite quotes, if only I could remember it.

    I love that sweater. I’m working on Howler Monkeys (bright red, toe up, monkey socks with owls at the top ala HP) and pink cashmere thigh high stockings. What was I thinking? And I’m itching to buy yarn and start the steel cut oats cabled sweater. Wonder how long before I lose interest in that project? I’ve ordered all the yarn. eh – g

  4. gMarie says:

    Darn it! I almost made the italics work for the quote – wonder how you turn them off? g

  5. Dianne says:

    Love that sweater! I saw it on Gracie’s mom’s blog (I think), and it just might tempt me to put down the socks long enough to knit a sweater!

  6. StarSpry says:

    I love that sweater, too! It’s gotten a little cooler here, and I want to start knitting the Austin Hoodie…just need to wind the yarn and get started!

    We don’t seem to have cocktail parties around here, either. It sounds fun to get dressed up, although I never seem to look as perfect as I imagined I would when planning the outfit 🙂

  7. Walden says:

    Love the basket!

    I love the summer, just hate the humidity!

  8. Nichole says:

    Well that looks like a mighty fine item to cast on… gorgeous! And that basket? LOVE!!!

  9. Mary says:

    I am with you on summer…max I want is 70’s with a breeze. Nice sweater…I can’t bring myself to start one at the moment. Only thing I am working on is a red scarf for the foster kids. Had finished another earlier this year. Hope to do three before mailing them in.

    Unlike you sweet southern women (okay, I was technically born in the south but left at 2), I subscribe more to Alice Roosevelt’s thought, “If you don’t have anything nice to say about anybody, come sit next to me.” But then I’m a crabby old woman ;).

  10. Sue says:

    I remember cocktail parties. In fact, I met my husband at one.

    You’ll love Charleston, do go.

    I liked the other Charleston, too. The one in W Va.

    I would like summer if the temperature never went over 75. Here I’m learning how to hibernate for an entire season.

  11. Marjie says:

    I’ve been to Charleston, SC, about 30 years ago. It’s very pretty and historic, but, like so many old seaside places, it looked rather shopworn and moldy to me. My photos of it don’t show that, however, so I remember via photos! That was back in the day of real film, so I only took about 50 pictures, instead of the 5 million everyone takes with the digital cameras. I sorta miss those days, when your imagination and memory had to fill in the blanks between the pictures. that’s a long way to digress, isn’t it?

    My grandmother used to have cocktail parties, and she’d dress me up, and trot me out as her little party attraction sometimes. I met her boss at one, when I was about 6, and when he asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I said, “Rich.” When he asked me how I’d know I was rich, I told him I’d have a crystal chandelier and sterling flatware. Even then I knew it wasn’t silverware. Odd, right?

  12. AlisonH says:

    Hello? Yes? Oh, sorry, I was still stuck at that basket. Beautiful!

  13. Blond Duck says:

    I’m with you on the cool wave. 95 instead of 105 feels fabulous!

  14. Amy says:

    I’m glad that you finished it. And yes, there are lots of ‘hot’ issues in that book. But that’s what I love about Chuck … he never hesitates.

    That sweater is lovely. I would love to see it in a green.

  15. km says:

    What link for the sweater?

  16. Heh…you know I love the Tea Mysteries…and Theo and Earl Grey (the dog, not the tea). Glad you got some relief from the heat….but did you have to send it here?

  17. lacey says:

    Love that sweater up top. I didnt see the link to the pattern. What is it?

  18. Bubblesknits says:

    No cocktail parties here. Just PTO and football games. 😉 I really enjoyed our chat yesterday. I needed that.

    Love that top. I’m on a vest kick, myself.

Leave a Reply

