This Little Light of Mine…

Yesterday was Gretchen’s birthday (see their blog for the fur girl account thereof), but on Saturday, I got a special delivery.

August 2010 021

The lighthouse was but one of several items in the care package from Coffeeyarn.   As you can see, there was a little confusion about whose lighthouse it is.

August 2010 010I had some trouble getting photos.   Sis was VERY taken with it at first.  There’s a reason that long before Sis’s mother was even born, the Knight and I joked that we wanted a female basset next and we would name her Nosy Rosie.  EVERYTHING is to be investigated by those big noses, and evidently, the lamp had far more smells in it than most things. 

I even left it wrapped in bubblewrap, out of reach, for a good 24 hours before I even tried to unwrap it and get photos, but as you can see, that only seemed to make it that much more interesting.

Beautiful and unique as the lighthouse lamp is, there was so much more in the package!  There were orange crisps, but they didn’t live to see the photo shoot.  I had to use the first bits to bribe the fur-girls to allow me to open the box in peace, and then I had to taste it too, and then the Knight got home…

August 2010 013

Aren’t the placemats and napkins cheery!?  I am itching to do a kitchen makeover, and these colors are very inspiring.

August 2010 014

There were more goodies in the box too, but the other item I know will interest you was my own hank of wine-yarn.  Despite having cast on for a new sweater, I’m itching to make a wrap with this lovely yarn.  Coffeeyarn needs to change her screen name to Coffee&wineyarn, doesn’t she?

August 2010 015

Another photo blooper, courtesy of the DIVA

Thanks so much, Barbara!  The lamp is going to find a safe, treasured spot in our home, and I can’t wait to go Rav-stalking and pick a pattern or two for the wine-yarn. 

Anyone else notice which doggy won’t let the yarn dyed in wine out of her sight?   Hmmm…  I don’t know what’s worse…  A terrier who clamors for cashmere, or the hound who seems to want the wine…

How was your weekend?  I’ll tell you about mine tomorrow…  It didn’t follow the plan so well, but it was nice just the same.

22 comments on “This Little Light of Mine…

  1. gMarie says:

    what a lovely lighthouse. I love the placements and simply adore cloth napinks. Does the Knight use them? Packages are good – can’t wait to hear about your weekend. g

  2. Kathy says:

    ooohhhh…..wine yarn ;). The placemat fabric is very cheery almost makes one want to cook….LOL

    The girls were just inspecting 😉

  3. Amy says:

    That light house is so cool! And what lovely yarn!

    My weekend was terrible, horrible, no good, and very bad. Work sucked.

  4. Marjie says:

    The place mats and napkins are just beautiful! Of course, so is the yarn, and that is a really nice lighthouse. Just the thing for ocean fans like you guys. Happy Birthday to wee Gretchen.

  5. Mary says:

    The lighthouse just made Sis sniff and dream about a visit to OBX.

  6. Blond Duck says:

    Happy birthday to her! And what great presents you got!

    My sister made a phemonenal cheesecake last night I adored. Otherwise, I stick to pie. I’m not a cake person.

  7. AlisonH says:

    Wrapped in bubble wrap? The un-bare-able lighthouse of being!

  8. Kristin says:

    Looks like the lighthouse has two owners!

  9. Sue says:

    Nice cheery placemats and napkins. Those will brighten up any table.

    Don’t you love how they stick their noses into bags and boxes, always assuming there’s something for them inside. Mine are really spoiled. They get more boxes delivered to the house than I do.

  10. Nichole says:

    What a lovely care package! The clock is beautiful… the wine yarn is stunning!!! And yes, I agree about her screen name!

    Where did the weekend fly away too so fast??

  11. Amazing box of goodies! If I lived closer, you’d probably want to hide that lamp if I was coming over…

  12. Mr. Puffy says:

    You always get THE best mail!!!! Love the lighthouse clock ~ very cool.

  13. Anita says:

    What wonderful goodies! 🙂 I love the yarn, & that lighthouse lamp is wonderful!!

    “she” is home & absolutely gorgeous!! 😉

  14. alison says:

    What is it about new yarn that has us desperate to cast on. Maybe there’s some spell attached. Great gifts though. Enjoy.

  15. km says:

    Wine and yarn…now that’s sounds great. Can we just find chocolate yarn?

  16. Darcy says:

    The Lighthouse Lamp is gorgeous and I love the wine yarn and understand wanting to cast on a project the girls look so cute in the photo’s:)
    We celebrated Alora’s Birthday this weekend and have been busy with school the last several weeks feels like we are getting use to the new routine.
    Took the girls to the park today then gave them a bubble bath now to do the dishes;)Hugs Darcy

  17. grace says:

    I thought I posted yesterday but I guess the post was in my head only. Lovely box of goodies, but she does send sweet things, with her personal touch!!! Can’t wait to see the yarn knit up!!

  18. Barbara says:

    The placemats and napkins are really nice, Chan! Such a lovely box of prizes.
    The wine yarn is beautiful!

  19. Dianne says:

    What a great package! It’s a good thing you have such wonderful helpers…what would you do without them???
    🙂

  20. Barbara S. says:

    I am thinking that the 3/4 Hap Shawl would look nice in Wine and Coffee yarns, and I am pretty sure you have both.
    Did I remember to tell you that my step-mother’s father made the lighthouse? I am thinking I did, but couldn’t remember for sure. I am sure it has all sorts of good smells infused into it. Sissy was probably confused by the normal smells from our house, plus all the ones it got over the years before it came here on its way to you.
    (Oh, and I think you have your placemat wrong side up, but maybe that was just due to all the help you were getting!)

  21. Bubblesknits says:

    As long as she’s not drinking the wine, I think we’ll be okay. 😉 Somehow I think her nosey habits would be a bit more disastrous if she were tipsy. lol

  22. StarSpry says:

    What a cool lighthouse lamp! That wine-yarn is lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

