Spuds and Grass

Dear Knitting Mojo –

Once upon a time, there was nothing like socks.  Knitting socks made my heart sing.

This Little Pinky

Little Pinky socks 2007

Then, we fell out of sock love, but it was okay, because I was testing my knitting wings and taking on lace, cardigans and more.  But earlier this summer, you packed up and moved away.  There was no knitting joy in podunk.

Until Saturday.

August 2010 012

I couldn’t resist the Plymouth Grass in this green at Dog House Yarns & More.  So much so, I cast on.  More progress was made last night.  I meant to knit a couple of rows and go to bed, but Mojo, you are powerful, and I had trouble stopping.  (Pattern:  Buttercup, shown in this post.)

Mojo you are strong when you lock into a particular project type, so I actually had to be talked into just matching some stashed Blue Sky Cotton in a soft red and Lutea for another day…

And Mojo is taking the blame for a sweater’s worth of Spud and Chloe Sweater coming home with me from Pins & Needles’ going out of business sale.

August 2010 018

It’s going to grow up to become the Tea Party Cardi.  I bought that at Knitting Addiction last time we were at the beach.

DSC01998

So Mojo, I just have one favor to ask…  Please stick with me through these projects, and on into the stuff I want to finish for Christmas. 

Thanks!

***********************

Speaking of the beach…  I hope Earl will ease up, change course a bit or something.  I’d really rather that he not hit the Outer Banks at all.  Those dunes are so fragile…

DSC01964

Delicate dunes spring 2010

21 comments on “Spuds and Grass

  1. Walden says:

    Good luck on your knitting. May the mojo stay with you!

  2. AlisonH says:

    Didn’t Thelma and Louise already take care of him or something?

  3. Dianne says:

    Hope your mojo is back to stay for a while! I agree with you on Earl—he can just stay the heck off of the coast, thank-you-very-much!

  4. gMarie says:

    Love that pink! That will be a stunning cardi with your coloring and will make your face look bright and alive. The grass is wonderful also. Can’t wait to see how that one comes out.

    Thought of you and your beach as I watched the news last night. g

  5. anniebananie says:

    Now I know why there isn’t much S&C left at P&N. You bought it all! I do love that color. I’m actually looking for a charcoal color in the outer weight.

    I too hope that Earl goes north east and misses the coast. We can keep our fingers crossed.

  6. Nichole says:

    Could you write a note to MY knitting mojo and help me find it again? =)
    LOVE both of those yarns…

  7. Sue says:

    I’m really feeling the urge to knit, but only little projects with instant gratification. I’d like to do something bigger, but my attention span seems to have shrunk lately.

  8. Marjie says:

    Isn’t it nice when the desire to do something returns? I thought Earl was supposed to go more northward. I know: send him to Cape Cod! They’re too snooty there by half.

  9. Mojo shmojo….I just need more TIME for knitting! I cannot do a sweater in 8 weeks, much less anything else I want to do, unless I get more time, or learn to knit 4x as fast…help!

  10. Eeeeee I love Spud & Chloe! I pet it every time I go into the yarn store but resist because it has to be the perfect colour for the perfect pattern (and I love all the colours too much to choose!)

  11. Barbara S. says:

    Hmmm, that Spud stuff would be another one of those “unseen in my neck of the woods” yarns. I have heard nothing but nice things about it though.

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    Yay for knitting mojo! Mine’s going strong, especially with this gradient yarn. I love watching the colors change. 🙂

    Keeping my fingers crossed about Earl.

  13. grace says:

    I will tell my mojo to support your mojo through your projects okay?

    I read Sheri of the Loopy Ewe this morning, her Friday post and yesterdays She mentioned knitting Wendy’s Shetland Pi so I went to have a look.. That did it, I finished 2 clues already and will start # 3 in a bit, at this rate, if Mojo stays, I will be caught up by clue #5 on Sunday

    Love the Spud yarn, what a pretty pink!

  14. Amy says:

    Kudos on the Spud & Chloe score! That is a wonderful pattern and I can’t wait to see the sweater!

  15. Anita says:

    Love the yarns you chose, I hope the mojo stays with you! 🙂

    And I sure do hope that Earl decides to follow the last one & miss everyone!

  16. Mary says:

    May the Mojo force be with you! I am just trying to sustain mine long enough to cast off a scarf, so “You go, girl” As for Earl, let us hope he pulls away before he does too much damage. Fingers and toes crossed.

  17. Joan says:

    I love your blue/green sock! Beautiful colors. Socks are one thing I haven’t tried yet but I do love the sock yarns. They are always so brightly colored.

    Guess I need to take a sock class to get me going.

  18. km says:

    How have I ended up a day late? I guess late is better than never. I think it is because I finish my blog reading before school starts and the new posts aren’t all up. Red for the Lutea! Love it. Perfect for Valentine’s Day!

  19. We can compare notes on the Buttercup, as I am also attempting it. I am having trouble getting the lace part right, have no idea why. I will confront this issue over the long weekend 🙂

    SO GLAD your knitting mojo has returned.

  20. StarSpry says:

    I’m glad your knitting mojo came back! That’s a lovely green color for Buttercup. I’ve been wanting to try Spud & Chloe’s yarn. The pink will look so pretty in the Tea Party Cardi.

    What a beautiful shot of the ocean! I hope Earl doesn’t do any damage!!

  21. Kathy says:

    ohhh….so purdy. Love the pink and it’s perfect for the cardi.

    Keeping my dpns crossed the knitting mojo is a force that stays 😉

Leave a Reply

