Booking

August 2010 004The book fest continues.  I finished up Sissy’s choice for my reading pleasure yesterday afternoon.  Maggie Sefton‘s first knitting mystery was outstanding! 

I bet Sis was drawn to Carl.  He’s the main canine character, and what a character he is.  Sis and Carl are birds of a feather and would have the most marvelous time together.  Carl also reminds me of the Rottweiler love of my life, my brother inlaw’s dearly departed big boy Simon.  I wish I had a photo… what a big, lean-on-me love he was!  (Simon.  My BIL is a sweetie too, but he’s a hugger, not a leaner.)

Hem.  Sorry.  The book?  Oh yeah.  The characters really were people I felt I’ve known.  Change a few details, and Kelly could have been a banker friend who loved softball.  I’d go on and on making comparisons, but you get the point.  Made me wish I did have time for a knitting group, because this group is TIGHT.  All for one and one for all kinda’ friends, and they encircled Kelly whether she was looking for new friends or not.

Sis and I are both delighted to see that there are currently 7 more in the series.  #2 is already waiting its turn on the Nook, but it won’t be long!

I’ve already started A Timely Vision, which only makes me worry more about what Earl and his string of blow-hard pals are going to do to my beloved Outer Banks.   The main character happens to be the female mayor of Duck, a part of OBX we know well.  

I can’t find photos – I know I took them! – of the Knight on a training fire with the Duck Fire Department…   Anyway, take my word for it; we know Duck.  I try to allow writers their poetic license, but I’ve already been warned by another OBX regular that there is a detail or two out of place.  I’m not going to let that bother me though.

How ’bout you?  Does it disturb your reading pleasure if the setting is one you know well enough to know that a few things just aren’t right?  Any books I need to read, set in a spot near and dear to your heart?

16 comments on “Booking

  1. gMarie says:

    Ugh! I just finished #4 in the Tea series so look for a box containing a blankie and books 3&4. I think I’ve read that knitting book, but really can’t remember for sure. My brain these days . . . .

    g

  2. Blond Duck says:

    Did you ever read Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt?

  3. Nichole says:

    I wish I had the energy to keep my eyes open long enough to read or knit after work… but not this week… YAWN.

  4. Sue says:

    I love reading books set in places tat are familiar. I do get annoyed when there are obvious errors showing that the author hasn’t actually been there.

  5. grace says:

    Barbara Bretton and Jean Stone write a bunch of books that take place in New Jersey. It is always great to say I know where they mean, I have been there, and occasionally it definitely is—that is not quite right.

  6. Marjie says:

    Sissy’s just jealous because you didn’t sit there and hold the book and turn its pages, so she could read it.

    The Office is set in Scranton, and they actually use real places for it (I don’t watch it, but one son and his GF do). They even hold “Office Tours” and last fall had an “Office Conference” or something like that. My best laugh ever was when an old episode of Law and Order referred to my town as “The Greenwich of Scranton”. It’s not that far off. And probably most people thought Tony on the Sopranos paid Scranton a big compliment when he called it “Boston without the clams.” Not that I thought Boston had clams, but, hey, whatever! I figure that movies, TV and books have to take poetic license to make a place work right, and that’s OK, as long as it’s used gently.

  7. StarSpry says:

    I’m going to have to check out Maggie Sefton‘s knitting mystery series.

  8. I have enjoyed the Maggie Sefton Knitting mysteries, too. I think I have 4 of them, plus all of the Tea Shop mysteries, and a handful of Laura Child’s Scrapbooking mysteries…As to the question of location issues..if it ever happened, I think I could deal with it…but I may never know!

  9. Anita says:

    Told you that you’d love Carl! 🙂 I need to check & see how many of those I have & which ones that I need to get….

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    Most books I read have no relation whatsoever to my life. Wish I could settle into a good book these days as it might settle my mind. I have Knit One Kill Two and The Knitting Circle – but can’t seem to get past the first few pages in either one. I think I might try reading sci fi as that usually is good escapism.

  11. I love a good mystery, thanks for the review!

  12. Jessica says:

    YES!!!! I once read a book, and the character was standing on the Seattle waterfront, gazing out at the Cascade Mtns. Nope…if she was gazing at mtns from the waterfront, she was looking at the Olympics! Little details like that make me crazy when i am reading a book.

    I love the OBX, our favorite haunt is Ocracoke. I was in NC when Isabel blew through, not fun. I hate to think what a Cat 4 might do to the place.

    Have you read the Gray Whale Inn series? A lot like the Maggie Sefton books, but cozier.

  13. Mary says:

    Glad you have more in the series to read (just got the latest from the library)…I always get nervous when reaching the end of an well-liked author’s output. I tend to read a lot of books set in UK simply because I grew up there and like being reminded of the setting. But it is annoying when obvious errors are made in landmark descriptions.

  14. Dawn says:

    Love all of Sefton’s books! If it has knitting in the book, I read it, lol!:)

  15. Kathy says:

    I haven’t read any of them but you’ve inspire me to do so. ‘nabler! LOL

  16. Bubblesknits says:

    My mom just picked up one of her other books, “Needled to Death”. So far, she’s enjoying it. 🙂 Too bad I still can’t get her to knit or crochet. lol

Leave a Reply

