Bejeweled!

Happy Dogs on Thursday and little friday!  Here in the States, we’re headed upon a holiday weekend.  I need it.  I ain’t as young as I  once was, as Toby says, and staying up late knitting and reading is harder than it used to be, especially when I do it several nights in a row.

July 2010 008

A friend of a friend has opened an Etsy shop, Pawsitively Bejeweled.  Because the fur-girls are spoiled rotten  have lots of doting aunties, they were given preview jewels a couple of months ago.

July 2010 011They think they’re quite lovely.  Sissy doesn’t do clothes but loves hats and neckwear, while Gretchie loves a pretty frock but would prefer no headwear at all.  They both agree that collar bling is a very good thing!

Because my girls are rough and tumble tomboys, they don’t wear their charms all the time.  They’re special dress-up items, but if you have calm critters who don’t think grabbing one another by the scruff of the neck means “Let’s play!”, I do believe these charms could hold up to daily wear.  I’ve also considered snapping them into their leashes…

Mugsy would have loved to sport a shell charm.   I might still buy one in his colors (red and green) and clip it into the trellis on his side of the garden.  The boy loved the beach…

Jim Cantori of The Weather Channel has joined me in my concern about Earl and the Outer Banks.  By this time tomorrow, we’ll know what kind of hit OBX took from the big ol’ Category 4 storm.  Even a brush by the edges of the storm will do serious damage to the fragile ecosystem there.

Thankful Thursday?  I’m so thankful to have so many truly dear friends, many of whom came from this blog.  I’m also very thankful for the Knight’s strong sense of community.  We realize it is very rare these days for both of us to have been born and raised right here in podunk.  Sure, I was gone for a few years, but that just allowed me to meet more fabulous friends, including the one who is Deputy Chief of a little fire department already waiting on Earl.

Oh – and I would be remiss if I didn’t link to the post on the girls’ blog.  Our never-ending food search continues…

17 comments on “Bejeweled!

  1. Natalie says:

    So cute!!! Thanks for sharing!! All dogs need some bling! 🙂

  2. gMarie says:

    Lovely post, but yuo sound meloncoly. OK? I was thinking those charms would be lovely on my key ring – might have to go check it out!

    Can’t wait to see finished knitting 😉 g

  3. anniebananie says:

    Remember – I have shell charms for the girls. I just have to get them to you!

    I am guessing that the Deputy Chief waiting on Earl is part of the group that took care of Amber. They are wonderful people, and I am wishing them all the best. I hope it stays off shore – way off shore.

  4. Mary says:

    Hard not to worry about OBX with the latest news, so I can understand you feeling blue right now.

    As for bling, my pups would be more likely to swallow it than model it.

    PS: Sis – love that ear blanket of yours!

  5. Marjie says:

    Thor says the girls can keep the charms and frills. He doesn’t even like a collar. It’s nice that you can dress up your girls.

    Has Earl affected your beloved OBX yet?

    Relax and enjoy your long weekend!

  6. Nichole says:

    The charms are lovely… esp that shell, beautiful! Our kids are all far too ruff to wear such jewels… sigh. Wrestlemania happens nightly at our house…

  7. AlisonH says:

    So Earl is threatening to go rob the banks now? Watch out for the safe boxes, hide the jewelry!

  8. Sue says:

    Lucy and Morgan have pretty beaded collars, but the others are too rough for jewels. Their Mama loved jewels and charms, so maybe I can wear them for the girls.

  9. Sigh…my ggrrls only wear their collars for going out anymore…so I’m with gMarie on ME getting the bling!

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    The charms are a cute idea! Not sure how they would look on a prong collar – LOL

    I sure hope you don’t have any storm damage. I used to like the rain but now because it causes so many problems I don’t enjoy it like I used to.

    Hope you have a fun and relaxing holiday!!!

  11. Kathy says:

    The girls here are in envy of the bling. Not so much with Mr. B of course although it could be something for him to grab on Gypsy for a good romp and drag…lol

  12. Sue says:

    Love Love Love the charms and I’m sure the girls do to. I’m hoping your not affected by Earl.
    Take Care

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    I love those little charms! If only I could get my cats to wear a collar so I could put a charm on. lol

  14. Dianne says:

    Earl is expected to hit us later today. I’m watching the news coverage of Earl right now, and the Dixie Chicks song “Goodbye Earl” keeps going through my head. It makes me smile in spite of the storm.

  15. Barbara says:

    I like the collar bling Chan!

    Watching Earl heading towards my daughter….it’s still pretty impressive even though it’s not quite the monster it was.

  16. Darcy says:

    I love the girls new bling very lovely and I so appreciate my blogging friends:)Hugs Darcy

  17. StarSpry says:

    I love the name Pawsitively Bejeweled and the charms look wonderful!!

    I’m glad that Earl didn’t seem to do any damage to OBX!

Leave a Reply

