Let’s go for a ride…

If you’re not familiar with The Dixie Chicks’ Goodbye Earl, click on the link

Actually Earl, I think you ARE dying and I’m glad you lost so much of your punch and swerved east a bit.   From everything I can see and have heard, the Outer Banks are just fine.  Flooded in a few spots, maybe even a road or two washed out, but that’s not really a huge, hairy deal down there.

DSCN1960

OBX September 2008

Sis wishes she could go inspect the damage for herself.  I really don’t look for it to be much worse than what you see here, with lots of debris and battered dunes.

Reading A Timely Vision while Earl was at his strongest probably helped me get swept away by this little mystery.  First in a series, set in Duck, North Carolina.  Duck just happens to be part of the Outer Banks I’ve been babbling about this week. 

DSCN1977

Currituck Lighthouse, mentioned in the book

There are some tepid reviews for this book, but I loved it.  I truly couldn’t put it down, not even to knit.  I tried to get Gretchen to read to me while I was doing my yoga, but she informed me that I should be concentrating on deep breaths, not a plot.  She’s right of course, but we all suffered for it, because the three of us stayed up past midnight to finish the book.

No steamy sex scenes, a main character I only wish was the real mayor of Duck so I could beg an introduction and  make a new friend…  My big gripe is petty; how do you write a book about Duck and not mention Duck Donuts by name?! 

Seriously though, if you like fluffy little mystery series – which it seems I do – this one is worth the read, whether you know Duck well or not at all.  Amazon says #2 in the series comes out in March.

DSCN1978

Sissy, taking in the sights near Duck

So, what’s ahead for your weekend?  There’s nothing exciting happening here.   Reading, knitting, hanging with the Knight and the fur-girls…

15 comments on “Let’s go for a ride…

  1. gMarie says:

    Well you know I love me a fluffly little mystery! Guess I’ll have to add this to my ‘next to read’ list.

    Love that lighthouse – I have a fondness for them. And seriously – what is it with you and donuts? 🙂 g

  2. Sue says:

    We’re all so glad to see that Earl is fading out. After living at Myrtle Beach I take hurricanes very seriously.

    We’ll be drying out this weekend. Wednesday we had 10 inches of rain and it started again last night and we got a couple more inches.

  3. km says:

    I might have to look for that book at my library. Duck Donuts sound great! You’re making me want to visit OBX for myself! I’m adding it to my bucket list.

    No big plans for this weekend. We were supposed to have a heat advisory for today, but so far it seems nice. When HOT is something a popsicle can fix than that’s the perfect amount of hot. Hotter than that and it’s hard for me to stay happy.

    M leaves in 1 week!

  4. Walden says:

    I’m going to have to switch to listening to music you don’t listen too. Both days you just have to get songs stuck in my head, huh? Yesterday it took my like 4 hours to get Toby Keith out of my head! 🙂

  5. Cat =^,^= says:

    We’re getting ready to MOVE! Cleaning, painting and packing!

  6. Love that picture of the lighthouse and yes, I’m familiar with that song — oh my.

    I picked up Knit On, Kill Two from the library today and I’ve already read 1 page (whoa, slow down).

  7. oops, I meant Knit ONE, Kill Two…oops

  8. Love thi pic of Sis’s nose in the air. My weekend plans? Boring, as hubby dearest is working, working, working….Monday, tho, looking forward to a little visit from Alison!!

  9. Mary says:

    The first time I went to Duck my third son was five weeks old. He is now 29. We stayed at a house right on the beach, one of comparable few that were in Duck at the time. Spent an anniversary at the Inn at Corolla in the early 90’s and was amazed at the growth. Glad to know Duck and most everything in OBX fared better than expected. Will have to read that book and see how my memory serves me.

    Another bridal fitting for DD and a MOB fitting for me tomorrow. Only one month to go till the big event for my only daughter.

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    Well, our weekend is getting off to a rocky start. Drama Llama is running a fever and has an icky looking throat. My parent’s dog, Marley, hurt her back pretty bad. We’re supposed to have company over for Labor Day and I don’t know that they want DL’s crud. ::sigh:: Crap, crap, crappity crap.

    I’m very glad that Earl spared the OBX. I know how special it is to you and a lot of others.

  11. Nichole says:

    Your weekend plans sound quite perfect to me! Mine started with taking Tut for his medicated bath and then giving in and ordering Bella while she’s 25% off!

    Tonight is Wicked…. then either the fair or zoo tomorrow…… hopefully with much cooler temps than what we’ve had all week!

  12. Darcy says:

    I would love to go to the beach but it is so hot here that we are hiding in the airconditioned haven that is our home.
    We have alot of shows to watch that hubby has DVR’d for us and I need to finish a wee knit.
    No real plans but to just relax:)Hugs Darcy

  13. StarSpry says:

    I love that lighthouse picture! Now I need to read this book, too 🙂

  14. Marjie says:

    Earl just petered out over the ocean, which is good for the entire east coast. Love the last picture of Sissy hanging out the car window!

  15. Kathy says:

    Well here I am, Monday…er…oops! it’s Tuesday already and I’m playing catch-up again after a busy weekend.
    Love love love Sissy’s ears in the breeze ;)>

Leave a Reply

