Sew, Duh, Gah…

Fa, Mi, Do, Rai

Happy Dogs on Thursday, little friday, thankful Thursday and anything else we could celebrate!

September 2010 012

Mother! PLEASE!! (said in her most indignant voice...)

First things first.  Pop over to the girls’ blog and read our little doggy bloggy service announcement on a fall hazard we won’t be overlooking anymore.   You see, Gretchen and two of Sissy’s friends all have had quite a problem with … there’s no polite way to say it… vomitting.  The Knight cleared up the mystery for all the doggy parents when he found an acorn – a whole acorn! – in Gretchen’s mess the second night she was ill.  After checking with the other doggy parents, we confirmed that all three had almost certainly ingested acorn bits.

September 2010 011

I don't get the appeal. Why eat acorns when you can gnaw on a tiki torch post?

Shockingly, our DIVA who takes the world in through her mouth (as do all hounds), hasn’t had a problem.  Actually, since it is thankful Thursday, make that THANKFULLY… 

Now, a few of you probably need to sit down before you read on.  I really was serious yesterday when I said that G’s little terrier stitch pattern inspired me to finally make some effort to learn to sew.  Just SEW happened that we had to visit a local, kinda’ big boxish fabric store last night to secure miles and miles of black fabric for a funeral drape (preemptive, for the firehouse – no worries).  They happen to have a Husqvarna Viking dealer “space” within.  Unfortunately, the are staffed separately, and the sales person who could have sold me a new toy answered some questions for me had already gone for the day.

Even more unfortunately, they don’t offer sewing for dummies.  They’ll let me fiddle with a demo model until I’m ready to buy, even if that includes everything from “… after you plug it in…” onward, but no class for a silly goose who owns a machine that she can’t make work.  The VERY nice sales person waiting on the Chief (aka: the Knight) did invite me to her quilting group, where they are kind enough to teach my sisters of the wadded thread to do more than yank, rip and swear at their machines, but they meet fairly far away and then I’d feel obligated to quilt with them for awhile, which doesn’t suit my schedule.

However, I’ve come to realize that a nice starting place might be to go home and find my sewing machine.  Then, I need to figure out some very basic information like what brand and model it is.   I’ve also been told they’re like cars – makes sense, since they’re both machines – and that some (mine?!) just might not click with me.

Why no, this isn’t a good time to start a new adventure.   Your point?  Besides, if you’re not a brand-new reader, you know that it will take me MONTHS to shop and research and decide how to proceed…

So if you sew, talk to me.  Other than wanting to stitch little Gretchen profiles on the hem of my pants and skirts and anything else that I can shove through the sewing machine, I own miles of fabric I bought roughly 15 years ago to make curtains and pillows for my then-new home…  What do you sew?  Why?

19 comments on “Sew, Duh, Gah…

  1. Mary says:

    Oh boy. The enticement of a new machine…I know it well, but I would definitely wait and do the research and also discover if you really, really want to do it. I sew. Have made everything from coats to baby clothes, Halloween costumes (ugh…the movie matrix coat which was lined), humongous banners (church, wedding) and curtains. Having said that, I tend to sew it in spurts for a few days or weeks and then nothing for long periods of time. For years I used a plain ole Singer, but now I own a Bernina (not the top of the line, however). Frankly, I still haven’t justified the cost of that bad boy and I got it on sale years ago. So spend time thinking about how much you will REALLY sew and what features you REALLY need before investing the kind of money it takes to buy a high end machine.

  2. Dawn says:

    Happy DOT!

    Check Craigslist for some great deals. That’s where I found my Bernina and it does so much! Wish I had more time to play with it!:)

  3. anniebananie says:

    I can teach you to sew. As long as you don’t want to make a suit. I don’t do tailoring. Well, I guess I could, I’m just too lazy to do it.

    Both my mother and sister have Husquvarna’s and love them. Mother and sister have the machine (that embroiders) and a separate serger.

  4. gMarie says:

    Fun post – sorry about the acorns. Thankfully they aren’t a problem round here. Glad that the Diva thinks they aren’t worth tasting.

    I sew to have the ability to express my own personality. You know I love a fun skirt and they are hard to come by in the stores. I also so to have clothing that fits me – the way I want it to fit, not the way it fits from the store – which isn’t good.

    I also sew to make people happy. Giving a hand-made gift is a pleasure on both ends, I believe. Rather like knitting. However, sewing is even more solidary than sewing. And you might not click with your machine. When you find it and are ready to give it whirl – call me. There might be some remedial steps you want to do first – depending on type of machine and how long it’s been sitting. 🙂 Enjoy the idea of it – if nothing else.

    I can also send you (I think I still have one) my sewing for dummies workbook and walk you through it. Not nearly as fun as taking a class, but will certainly get you used to the machine and what it can and will do. g

  5. Blond Duck says:

    Good thing we don’t have acorns for the Babies to eat.

  6. Sue says:

    My dogs all eat acorns this time of year. I hate seeing and hearing them do it, but with two huge oak trees in the yard, there’s not much I can do about it.

    I learned to sew by watching my Grandmother when I was a little girl. When I left home for the work force I made all my own clothes. hat’s how I spent every weekend. Now I have a top of the line embroidery machine that I’ve barely touched, but the urge has been growing and soon I’ll be back at it. It’s fun to be creative and sewing is usually quicker results than knitting.

    Try it and figure out what you want to do with it before investing in an expensive machine and G and I can both advise you what to stay away from.

  7. Marjie says:

    I have only cheap and basic sewing machines, 2 Singers and a Janome, and they suit me fine. Of course, I can’t do fancy stuff like G. I also have a serger, but that’s something you don’t want to get anywhere near! If you want to take a looong ride up here, I can help you fiddle around and learn basic basics like sewing a straight line on a machine, but listen to Sue and G for better machine advice.

    Tell Gretchen that Thor says acorns are no good. She needs to hold out for cookies! Sissy knows!

  8. AlisonH says:

    I used to sew everything, and once bought a top-of-the-line Bernina for its infinite-variability zigzag. My husband is the one who had fun playing with it when we brought it home, to my surprise, all those fancy stitch patterns he could make.

    It’s a great machine–but it coincided with the onset of my lupus with severe arthritis at the start; I couldn’t do all this stuff I’d been doing, and the longterm result is, I rediscovered the knitting bug and the expensive sewing machine has been mostly idle ever since.

  9. Nichole says:

    Gretchie, no more acorns!
    I’ve got Mom’s old machine here… no idea what it is, have never actually opened it (its in one of those table cabinets)…

  10. Kathy says:

    Mr. Bettis says Stay away from the acorns and anything else that is a tummy upsetter.

    I’ve sewn since the age of 7 yrs and I refuse to say how long that’s been ;). From dolls and doll clothes to suits, gowns, baby and adult clothing, teddy bears etc. I have a tendency to sew in spurts now and no longer sew for myself.

    Research: now you’re sounding like my youngest DD…..LOL

  11. Kathy says:

    Love the photo of Sissy. It’s so funny what dogs can do with their lips.

    Sewing is good, but it’s not as social or portable as knitting. You (or me at least) tend to need a larger chunk of uninterrupted time to do it. My machine is a plain old Singer I bought at least 15 years ago.

    Happy crafting!

  12. You know I like to sew…I have a pretty low level, 20+ yr old Singer. No embroidery (which is the little Gretchens) Like the others, I like to make gifts to please others, and occaisionally garments for me, which cannot be found to be purchased. Monica (of Monnibo) is taking an online sewing class…

  13. Carol says:

    I keep thinking that I would like to buy a new machine and try to learn how to sew again. I do have a very old one. I think I might drag that out and try to use it for a couple of week to see if I can stick with a sewing project again. The pictures of the pooches are so cute! I didn’t know about acorns being a problem. Thank goodness Charli is a picky eater. Thanks for the info.

  14. Terrie says:

    What a bummer about the acorns!

    I don’t have a sewing machine (or the room for one), but I’m taking a free sewing class in October. I’ll be making a potholder, and hopefully I will decide ifi like sewing or not. My friend made the cool Birdie Sking Bag (Amy Butler) and I’d like to make one of those and some fun skirts for myself 🙂

  15. Anita says:

    Hard to believe that it was Gretchie eating the acorns & not Sissymonster. LOL How the heck are you gonna get all the acorns out of the pen?!

    Well, you know I have a sewing machine… you also know that I cuss at it more than sew with it. LOL
    I’ve always loved the idea if sewing, I’ve just found that I don’t enjoy it. 🙂

  16. Dianne says:

    I used to sew…ALOT. I have a basic “New Home” machine, and it’s great. A real workhorse. I only used it for piecing quilt tops, then would do the quilting by hand. It’s been sitting, sadly neglected since I discovered knitting… Mom has a top-of-the-line New Home. It has all the fancy stitches, alphabets, etc. It’s around 15 years old now and she loves it–uses it almost every day. Hope this helps.

    Love, love, LOVE that picture of sweet Gretchen!!! I’m a sucker for that flipped-back-ear look. So sweet. Or sew sweet. (I crack myself up!)

  17. Bubblesknits says:

    We’ve got a sewing shop close by that does classes. ::sigh:: I really want to take a class. I’m just afraid that all the classes in the world won’t help, though. LOL

  18. Amy says:

    I love my Husky … what a great brand of machine. Now, I’m not the best seamstress in the world, but if you need any help, let me know!

  19. Knitting It Out says:

    You KNOW I love me some sewing. My mom gave me a doll pattern, this comes replete with dress and pinafore patterns!! I’m a little scared since most of the sewing I’ve done before is straight lines (patchwork)…

Leave a Reply

