Stitch Mate?

Well, I finally got inspired and dug out my sewing machine.

September 2010 002

Seems it is a Singer SM14, but the words on the front says Stitch Mate.   Of course, my faithful assistants were on hand to inspect it for me.

None of that means squat to me, but at least I know what I have now.  It’s going to go hang out with Ann for a while.  Once she fiddles with it and assures it is in working order, we’ll have a little one-on-one sewing tutorial.

DSC01067

Chief Knight, 9/11/09

What’s on tap for your weekend?  We have the annual September 11th remembrance service tomorrow.  At least it will be pleasantly cool for the Knight and his fellow chiefs, all decked out in their dress uniforms.

Other than that, I hope to make some serious strides on my sweater in progress, do a little housework and just relax.

Don’t forget that here in the US, what we called Patriot Day last year is now a National Day of Service and Remembrance.  You can get some ideas of where and how to volunteer HERE.

19 comments on “Stitch Mate?

  1. gMarie says:

    Cute little machine. I’ll come up with a workbook full of ideas for you. Can you send me a close up of the stitches?

    Can they not just give the day one name and let it be? JB watched a show on the history channel (?) last night showing the planes flying into the Twin Towers – hard to watch.

    hope you have a relaxing weekend. g

  2. Sue says:

    We’ll be remembering that awful day and sticking around the house. We had rain all day yesterday and today is very hot and humid. We’re hoping to drop out of the 90s over the weekend.

  3. Walden says:

    Hope your little machine is still functional! 🙂 Hope you and your sweater get to spend some quality time together.

  4. km says:

    I can’t wait to see what you sew. My machine is a Kenmore that my Great Uncle bought me for Christmas the year I turned 12. Just before 8 was born it had a repair at the shop, but it’s still running great! It’s not super fancy, but it does what I need it to. M flys out of here tonight…so I’ll spend tomorrow hoping he lands safely in Africa and waiting for an email.

  5. grace says:

    I once had a machine small like that, it was a Kenmore, but it was stolen from my car last summer along with our airbed, and many other sundry items. I still swear I locked the car but it wasn’t jimmmied or anything.

    We have the anniversary party from hell tomorrow so I will be sitting in a corner biting my finger nails—it would be rude to bring knitting. Son and his wife will be there and I am afraid already of the repercussions that is going to cause. So many worries about this, too many to post here.

    I am planting 9-11 gardens on all my Farmville Farms though to commemorate that god awful day which still feels like yesterday!

  6. Marjie says:

    I’ll bet it will still work. If it’s balky, take it to a sewing machine repair shop, and for $50, it’ll work like new. Glad you got it out; have fun figuring out what to do with it!

  7. Nichole says:

    Kudos to the Knight and his crew… don’t forget to take photos! 🙂

  8. AlisonH says:

    Sew that’s where it went!

  9. anniebananie says:

    The drop off of the machine won’t interfere with the ceremonies, will it? It looks like a simple, straight-forward machine, and as long as I can get it working, we’ll be good to go. Otherwise, we’ll take it to the singer repair people.

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    I always feel really sad around 9 11. It breaks my heart to think anyone could do that and wish such ill for our country. But the firefighters – they rock – I have such admiration for their courage and bed rock values and their sacrifices can never be repaid.

  11. Good to see you’ve dug out your machine…hope you get friendly with it soon, or find a new one to play with. As to the weekend, which begins any minute now…all out busy! (which really hurts my sweater’s progress)

  12. Mary says:

    Glad you found your machine…at least you have a start (nice of Ann to check it out for you). As it happens, I will be sewing most of the weekend…if I can keep the mojo going. I love picking out patterns and fabric and imagining them, but energy to actually do it is harder to sustain.

    And remembering 9 years ago…

  13. Barbara says:

    Mine is in storage. 🙂 Has been for years. Lord knows, it must be ancient as it was my mother’s. One of those wonderful old Singers. Black and it doesn’t do tricks.

    9/11 is a day of remembrance for all of us. Tracy was there and saw it all happen. She lives/loved 4 blocks from ground zero. Could not go back to her apt. for 3 months.

  14. Knittysue says:

    9/11 will always break my heart…Hope you and Chief Knight are blessed with sunshine today at your service. My day of service will be spent knitting for others, with prayers for the families of the lost.
    On a more cheerful note…glad you found your machine and hope it works..maybe alittle oil will help.

  15. Anita says:

    Good luck with the sewing machine! And I hope the service went well this morning. I worked & went to visit dad…

  16. Louise says:

    Hi Channon!
    Just popped in to say Hello:) The girls look as Gor-ge-ous! as always. Hugs to them:)

    Sewing? Now there’s something I’m so very bad at. Sewing machines and I just don’t seem to hit it off. Sigh, perhaps, someday…

    Have an enjoyable weekend and thank the Knight and his pals for us:)

  17. Ooh, so exciting. I hope it works and you enjoy a little project or two 🙂

  18. Joan says:

    Have you decided what you’ll sew yet, Chan? I took a home ec class in high school once (yup, I’m THAT old) and the only D I ever got in my high school career was in sewing. I guess that scared me away from trying it again.

    My mom and grandmother were terrific seemstresses but somehow I just don’t get along with machines. I can do pretty much anything by hand but somehow always manage to get my thread tangled up in a sewing machine.

  19. Kathy says:

    Well here I am again…playing another round of catch-up.
    Sissy looks excited :D. Probably thinking she’s going to get a handsewn outfit from her mama ;).

Leave a Reply

