Remembering…

 

My apologies for not getting this post up sooner.  We had a full weekend…

 Saturday morning, we were up early for the local 9/11 remembrance ceremony.

September 2010 001

Some local Boy Scouts were up even earlier to set out 343 flags on the front lawn of the County Office building, representing the 343 fire fighters killed on 9/11/01.

September 2010 004

My favorite photo of the day was of Crozet Fire’s Honor Guard, after the ceremony, standing amid the flags.  The flags were intended to be keepsakes for those in attendance.

September 2010 003

This one shows the Honor Guard retreating after the close of the ceremony.  On the right is the bugler and the piper.  The bugler is the son of a Board member from our station, and the piper is a retired police officer AND volunteer fire fighter.  After this coming Saturday, he’ll be tied to our station too; his daughter is marrying one of our captains.  The Knight asked if he’d be wearing that dashing uniform, and I noted that it would almost match the wedding party’s colors… but it seems the bride desires a more traditional tux for her dad!

September 2010 005

There’s Chief Knight, looking mean serious.  He doesn’t care to have his photo taken, but that doesn’t slow me down!  He’s also no morning person, so being up so early on a Saturday was a real personal sacrifice…

The plans have already started for next year’s ceremony.  The keynote speaker had to back out at the last minute (a FDNY firefighter who was promoted last week, so it’s a good thing!), so the two local career chiefs spoke instead.  The city Chief, my old boss, shared quite a few numbers relating to the day.  I also received an email with even more information.  It’s quite a lot, so if you’re interested, say so in the comments and I’ll send it on, but it’s sad to hear that nearly a half million New Yorkers are still suffering.

It was a quiet, somber weekend for us.  Friday night, we watched Stand Up 2 Cancer, which is a very personal, raw issue for me.  I did a lot of reading and knitting.  I’ll do another post later today or tomorrow on the books and my sweater in progress.  Yesterday, we had a birthday dinner for the Knight’s maternal uncle and my brother inlaw.  There were 17 of us, and in case you don’t know, Topeka’s has yummy mac ‘n cheese.  It’s not quite Panera’s, and most certainly pales to the X Lounge’s truffle version that will likely forever be the standard by which all mac ‘n cheeses are judged for me…

The Knight saved some of his mac ‘n cheese for me, so tonight, I’ll be having that and onion straws…

How was your weekend?

8 comments on “Remembering…

  1. gMarie says:

    Busy weekend for you. On Friday night we watched The Lovely Bones as JB wasn’t into the telethon. Then I spent Saturday running from one end of the county to the other and back again.

    Sunday was more of the same. I felt like I was never home this weekend and got nothing done. Somber, busy weekends are never fun. g

  2. Sue says:

    I’d like to read the email, if you’ll forward it. There is a blog post by a couple who lived a block and a half from the towers and their efforts to save their two dogs. It’s well written and gives a real first hand feel of the confusion, fear and emotion that day. I’m going to post about it.

    I’ve been hungry for mac and cheese and don’t want to make it, though I probably will. Is Panera’s good?

  3. Nichole says:

    What a beautiful tribute/ceremony….. and your Knight looks dashing in his uniform!

  4. Bubblesknits says:

    He doesn’t look mean. Although, maybe that’s because I see that “it’s too early” look in the mirror every morning. LOL Seriously, whenever we get up there to visit, it’s going to work out swimmingly. You and Dr. Tooth can get up early and have your tea and read the paper and The Knight and I will join y’all at a decent hour. 😉

  5. AlisonH says:

    Your Chief looks perfect. Well done, everybody.

  6. Anita says:

    Sounds like a nice service anyway, I love pipes, they’re haunting. Nice photo of the knight! 🙂

  7. Terrie says:

    Wonderful photos! It sounds like it was a really nice ceremony. The Knight looks great in his uniform 🙂

  8. Kathy says:

    Wish I could’ve been there.

    For some reason it was more somber for me this year so we spent a quiet weekend here.

    p.s. The Knight doesn’t look mean.

Leave a Reply

