Book Scoot Boogie

I’ve been on such book bend lately.  I’m currently on book #4 in the tea shop mysteries.  They’re very “cozy” little novels; I finished #3 almost in one sitting Sunday evening.  I won’t keep reviewing each and every book in the series, but I really do enjoy all the tea lore and Charleston society/history tossed in there!

August 2010 004I also finished up Died in the Wool by Mary Kruger, the first in her Knitting Mystery series.  It does qualify as a cozy mystery per Wiki’s definition: Cozy mysteries are a subgenre of crime fiction in which sex and violence are downplayed or treated humourously.  (There are several sites devoted to this genre; here’s one.)  While I get that a cozy mystery is void of sex and gore – which suits me just fine – this book isn’t as “fluffy” as the other cozies I’ve read.

It’s longer, and while the plot in all cozies is about the same, this one had a little more meat to it.  There are more than a few sentences of insight into ulterior motives (read: potential motive to kill), and the characters have more depth to them.  Heck, I was beginning to suspect dear Aunt Laura, just because anyone who uses “dear” as much as she does has to annoy people enough to have enemies!

That completes my tear through the first of series I had on hand.  Several of you have kindly suggested other knitting fiction and/or other cozies you think I might enjoy, and I’ve added them to my e-list.  I’ve already read over 25 books this year, which is way low for the pre-knitting days, but probably is about a two-year total for any of my knitting years.

September 2010 011

I can’t quite seem to finish my sweater in progress.  I should have finished the body last night, but I’m about three rows short.  Then come the sleeves.  I’ll have a ball left for each one, so I’m on the fence about how long to make them.  At any rate, I hope to have it finished this week, finally!

What’s new with you?

21 comments on “Book Scoot Boogie

  1. Amy says:

    I love the sage color in the sweater you are working one … it will look great on you!

    In the book department, I finished ‘The Gargoyle’. Wow … just wow. It was moving and amazing. I think you would really like it. I’m mailing it up to Tina today so she can have a go at it as well. Now, I’ve moved on to a true Victorian mystery! This year marks the 150th year that “The Woman In White” by Wilkie Collins has been in print, so I’m working on that right now.

  2. Mr. Puffy says:

    I love the cover on that book ~ very “Nancy Drew” feel. Might try that one. I also like the tea shop mysteries and read the 1st in that series.

    If you are looking for cozy mysteries then I recommend the Jane Austen series by Stephanie Barron. I found it an enjoyable read and it developed depth as the series progressed. Wish she would come out with another one.

    Love your sweater – beautiful color and yarn. But I share your concern about your yardage if you only have 1 ball left per sleeve….

  3. Marjie says:

    That’s a very pretty sweater! The color will be great with pinks, blues, browns, even greens! Can;t wait to see the finished product!

  4. Anniebananie says:

    The sweater looks fab – now go and finish it!!!

  5. Dianne says:

    I love that sweater – can’t wait to see it finished! I’m currently re-reading a couple of Maeve Binchy novels. I agree with Mr. Puffy on the Stephanie Barron series of Jane Austen mysteries, but then again I like everything Jane Austen…

    🙂

  6. AlisonH says:

    That’s a beautiful sweater! Finish it, finish it! (Just providing the peer pressure I needed to finish one of mine in time for the SpinOff Magazine’s 1999 Rare Breeds contest. It’s exactly where it was in 1998, and it’s a nice, if mostly forgotten, project. Don’t do that to yours, it’s too pretty!)

  7. gMarie says:

    I love the tea books. There is a funny quote about fashion at the end of the 4th book that I wanted to use, but I mailed it too soon. You’ll be mad at T in the next book, just saying I bet the author got/gets an earful!!

    I need to spend more time reading. I spent last night on the couch knitting – no sewing. g

  8. gMarie says:

    Carp! I forgot to mention your sweater. I love it – the color everything. If you like 3/4 length sleeves, work them both at the same time – 2 circs, like socks on 2 circs, it works. And stop before you run out of yarn. Then they will be identical. g

  9. Nichole says:

    Can’t seem to finish? Looks to me like you’ve been booging on that baby!!! Yay!

  10. Sweater is farther along than mine! Oh, and re books…guess what came in today’s mail? EEEEEke!

  11. Walden says:

    The top is looking lovely! No particular suggestions to help with length, just don’t try to sacrifice wear-ability. Is it possible for you to get another ball if you need to?

  12. Kristin says:

    I’m about to fold piles and piles of laundry. I’d rather be knitting…I knew how. HA!

  13. Knittysue says:

    Can’t wait to see it..I love the color.
    I’m working on my first top down raglan…slowly with the Spud and Chloe group. I’ll work on it more after the hats I’m doing are done and then some socks. I’m almost finished with my central park hoodie and I’m getting the sweater itch too…but for cardigans. Next up will be a shorter cardigan.

  14. Anita says:

    “Heck, I was beginning to suspect dear Aunt Laura, just because anyone who uses “dear” as much as she does has to annoy people enough to have enemies!” SNOL, too funny!! 🙂

    The sweater is looking great!! I love that yarn!

  15. Terrie says:

    A few more books to add to my list 🙂 Your sweater is looking good! I’m sure you can finish it this week…you’re so close 🙂

  16. Mary says:

    Good job on the sweater…can totally understand why you are dragging your feet a bit, easy to get worn out with all that stockinette. I like Gmarie’s suggestion about finishing the sleeves in tandem. Hopefully one ball each will give you at least elbow length sleeves.

    Not reading (shocking, I know) at the moment…trying to finish that blankety-blank brocade jacket. Voted after work, then went home and began attaching the jacket facings when I RAN OUT of the special thread I was using for the project. Since I was about to literally explode, DH asked if he could go pick some up for me (very sweet, I know), but since it would involve a 70 mile roundtrip to the nearest fabric store that carries it and it was 7:30 pm…that wasn’t happening. Let’s just say I could care less what thread I use at this point. Just shoot me.

  17. Barbara says:

    I am mad for the sweater color, Chan. Do you call it moss?
    I am constantly amazed at your knitting talents!

  18. Kathy says:

    I love the color of your sweater. I am looking forward to seeing it finished.

    I’ve been reading a mystery of sorts, The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton. It’s not a cozy or crime story, but a mystery nonetheless and all the main characters are women. I highly recommend it.

  19. Kathy says:

    Ohhh…I can’t wait to see the finished sweater. Very pretty.

  20. Bubblesknits says:

    I enjoy cozies. I figure real life has enough bad stuff. I want my books to give me a safe haven. Most of the time, anyhow. Then, of course, there’s the Wheel of Time series that has more drama than a roomful of teenagers. ::sigh::

    Would you by chance send me your book list? I’d like to add them to my list. 🙂

  21. Cat =^,^= says:

    I love your Heather-cup – but have you tried her on? When I got through the lacey bodice I found that my Pinkycup was too flippen large and had to frog the entire thing… I hope you picked a better size than I did!

Leave a Reply

