Paper-picky

Wednesday needs a nickname.  Oh, I know it has one, but casual as I am, I’m not predisposed to using the word hump unless I’m talking about a camel.   Today’s not quite another little monday, but friday is still far too far away too.  Being the middle anything stinks, doesn’t it?  Middle children have book after book written about them and their plight of being not the baby and not first either.  Monkey in the middle was a game I never could learn to like as a child either.

Anyhoo…

Let’s talk paper.  I’m speaking specifically of stationery.   Wiki casts a REALLY wide net there, but when I say stationery, I mean note cards, flat or folded, letterhead… correspondence supplies. 

From Letterseals.com

I have vague recollections of adorable tri-folds with coordinating sticker seals from my earliest childhood memories.  I think I was eight the year I discovered sealing wax and the plethora of seals.  I’m sure none of my fascination had to do with being able to strike a match as needed; after all, I was the daughter of a fire chief long before I became the wife of one.

From Invitation Jane - I think Chief Knight needs some!

It was a couple of years later when I got my first personalized flat correspondence card.   I still have a stock of them on hand, but I don’t favor them so much.   In college, they were the way to go, because I could use them for quick notes to family and slap a stamp and the address on the other side when I ran out of envelopes.  Hem.

Of course, the Knight and I also have monogrammed, folded note cards, which I used to excess when we were newlyweds.  I used them in lieu of thank you notes, back when seeing our intials entwined made me giddy. 

These days, I’ll grab any colorful, fun notecards.  I don’t even have a favorite brand anymore.  Do you?

16 comments on “Paper-picky

  1. gMarie says:

    I love stationary and notecards. I love writing one (even though I wish I had better penmenship – I still handwrite cards) and dropping it in the mail to surprise someone. Because don’t we all love to get mail that isn’t junk?

    I don’t have a specific brand, but I love anything with a dog on the front, or polka dots, or daisies, or paisley – well you get the idea, any of the things I favor. g

  2. Nichole says:

    No favorite brand, but I’m always a sucker for cute dog related note cards… though I’ve tried to remember that NOT everyone else loves dogs so I do try to have some other ones in my stash as well. I do love a nice note card and really miss getting handwritten notes in the mail.

  3. Blond Duck says:

    I love stationary. I’m addicted to it.

  4. Bubblesknits says:

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one that doesn’t like saying “Hump Day”. It never fails to make me think of a childhood friend’s family dog that had a preference for legs. ROTFL

    I used to love stationary, too. However, the world of email satisfies my impatient side and the ability to avoid the USPS losing my letter.

  5. Kathy says:

    I love, love, love stationery! I know of only one really good stationery store in town (and it also carries Vera Bradley), but Target usually has a good selection. I do send out a lot of handwritten notes or postcards. I often get digital photos printed and then attach them to postcard backs to make personalized postcards. Here’s my source for the backs: http://www.the2buds.com/suph2pc.htm

  6. AlisonH says:

    Ones with amaryllises or birds, here.

  7. Amy Darsie says:

    My favorite place to find neat and unsual stationary is Etsy. I always find something cute … and hand-made, which is even better!

  8. Ah, the good old days! I used to have it all, tri-folds, note cards, inititaled stationary (flat paper) matching envelopes, stickers, and seals with wax. Now, I have trouble mailing things by snail mail at all….sigh.

  9. Kathy says:

    Oh my gosh…I remember sealing wax and stamps. So much fun. One Christmas I received a special box of stationary and I enjoyed sending letters. *sigh* much like a previous poster, I have trouble getting anything sent by snail-mail these days.
    Letters are a dying art in our computerized society.

  10. Anita says:

    I don’t use notecards or stationary like I used to. I should, I miss writing them & I sure do love to get them in the mail. So much better than junk mail or bills!! LOL

  11. at one time, when I was dating hubby in the early 70’s we lived in 2 different states, phone bills were ridiculous and I wrote him everyday. I collected boxed hallmark stationary like it was my job. I kept one piece and an envelope from every box in a scrapbook which of course after 40 years is long missing. I still love paper. My friend Jennifer C designed a line of pixies and yarn I love, and I am always on the look out for anything sheep or knitting related.

  12. Mary says:

    Total collector of writing papers: I have boxes of notecards, stationery, journals and such that I usually pick up on my travels, so no favorite brand per se.

    As for a nickname for Wednesday, you could always use the Latin for middle, medius…or better yet, crucio – meaning “to torture.” 😉

  13. Knittysue says:

    I haven’t had a favorite since high school…but anything with puppies on it draws me in.

  14. StarSpry says:

    I love stationary! I’m not so good about mailing notes regularly, but I love all the paper, stickers, stamps, etc. I don’t have a favorite brand, but one of my favorite stores is Papyrus; they have lovely products. I’m also happy picking up cool note cards & paper sets at Target. I really need to send more letters 🙂

  15. both or nothing same. 😆 Oh, I must choose one of those? 😀 Umm… I like stationary! Favorite brand is’t needed here 😆

  16. Katiebell says:

    My oldest son calls Wednesday “PIZZA DAY!!” or “Mommy’s nin-ning day.” He and his brother stay home with Uncle (and a frozen pizza) while I go out and knit with my “nin-ning friends.” Wednesday may just be the best day of the week for everyone at our house.

Leave a Reply

