29 squared

… and then some.  29 x 29 = 841.  I’m positive Drew has already touched more lives than that with his very personal project to replace the negative associations about cancer with positive, motivating ones.

Please pop over and read at least one entry on his blog.  He’s a friend of the Knight’s, and a fellow local volunteer fire fighter, although not from our station.  Cancer is something that touches all of our lives, and Drew’s adventures really are changing the way those of us who are following him see cancer.

BLeigh_090908_02

My dear aunt, taken by colon cancer two years ago, almost to the day

Some of you know cancer has taken a couple of dear women from me in the last couple of years.   I desperately needed someone to make me step back and gain perspective.  I try to always seek out the positive, but with cancer, that’s VERY hard to do.  Luckily, Drew is out there doing it for me, and I just have to read along, and watch his video clips on the local news (or on their website…)

September 2010 010

Sissy, inspecting my not-quite finished sweater

Obviously, that’s my thankful Thursday bit.  Gretchen covered dogs on thursday on their blog, and we’re all happy it’s little friday already!  What are you thankful for today?

15 comments on “29 squared

  1. Nichole says:

    Sissy, you’re not supposed to *step* on the sweater! =)

    Cancer Sucks….. I can’t sum it up any better than that. =(

  2. Kristyn says:

    Totally agree with Nichole – cancer sucks. Lost my mom to intestinal cancer in 2002.

  3. gMarie says:

    yoga::fresh air::oatmeal with blueberries::knitting group::JB::Beauregard James::snotnosed Abigail::sweet gentle Lucy Lou::healthy kids::work::knitting::the ability to create::fruit::blogging::friends real and velveteen

    g

  4. Blond Duck says:

    I love these thankful posts.

  5. AlisonH says:

    Cancer steals your time, and it’s terrible–but it concentrates it, too, making it paramount to tell the people you love that you love them.

  6. AlisonH says:

    That said, I so wish you could have your loved ones back!

  7. I left my thankfuls on my blog…which you haven’t made it to yet…so..hah! Now you’ll HAVE to go if you want to know. 🙂

  8. That Tom is working today and that I always have entertainment via, my knitting, my blogs and my books!

  9. Amy says:

    Cancer is evil. We just lost John’s Grammie … that is how I lost my Grandparents (Mom’s side.) Just terrible.

    On a good note – the sweater looks great so far!

  10. Barbara says:

    I’m thankful I have my arm back and thankful my foot problem is nothing to worry about. How lucky I am!

  11. StarSpry says:

    I will have to check out Drew’s site.

    Your sweater is looking great!

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    Like G said. I’m thankful for all my friends, real and velveteen. Thankful I married my best friend. Thankful I’m raising two healthy, happy children. 🙂

  13. Tee says:

    Sissy! Hope the sweater passes your inspection. We think it’s lovely – even if its not finished.

    We’re thankful to being alive. Just being breathe and enjoy the sunshine. My grandmother passed recently of lung cancer. Having said that, she lived a great life.

    Wishing you some cooling rain would come your way.

    Tee and the Dog WOods Pack

  14. Darcy says:

    Will check out Drew’s sight and I know all to well the pain of losing loved ones to Cancer it is heartbreaking.
    Iam Thankful for my Husband and Children
    A Roof Over My Head and food to eat
    Knitting which soothes me
    My blogging friends:)Hugs Darcy

  15. Julie says:

    I am thankful for my beautiful and faithful Husband. He worked full time while his first wife was dying of cancer. He came home and took care of her as best he could. The rest of the family helped, of course, and our church family. My (step) daughters were 10 and 13 when their mother died at the age of 38. We all know we will see her in heaven, where she is at peace now. I am also thankful for all three of our daughters and our grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

