Grass-ercup

Finally, the finished object report for my latest sweater. 

I apologize in advance for the pasty photos.  That’s what you get  late on a Sunday night.  Better photos will come this weekend when I have a photographer available at the same time I have on make-up and have decent hair!

September 2010 011Project:  Grass-ercup

Pattern:  Buttercup.  Great pattern, but if you’re going to make this, measure right up under your arm pits to determine your size.  I made a medium, increasing to a large through the chest, if that helps those of you who know me well enough to get an idea?

I also picked up fewer stitches around the non-lace portions of the neck when I finished, to draw it in a bit more.  I only did three rows – as written – because I intend to wear a cami underneath (or a long-sleeved shirt…), but some knitters did several more rows to fill in the sides a bit more there where my collar bones are showing.

August 2010 012Yarn:  Plymouth Grass, a lovely cotton-hemp blend.  I really, REALLY like this yarn, and if Dog House Yarns & More still has some in sweater quantities in other colors, I might snag it.  Compared to a fine merino, it’s a bit rough to the touch while knitting, but after a good bath, it softens up nicely.  I am assuming hemp responds like linen, and the more I wear/wash, the softer it will get.

Needles:  The bulk of the pattern was done with #6 bamboo circs – 24″ in length.  Where the patten calls for the smaller needles, I switched to the Bryspun #5 circs.

September 2010 013Verdict:  It was a perfect, mindless pattern.  I do think some knowledge of the feather & fan lace pattern helps; I knew I wanted to REALLY tighten my gauge on the row or two after the yarn-overs to assure the lace wouldn’t be too open.

(Faux double chin, squinty-eyes and all…  Really, better photos of ME will follow!)

Would I do it again?  Probably not, through no fault of the pattern.  There just are tons of similar top-down, no-seam raglans out there, so why knit one twice?

I’m looking for the next sweater in waiting for my queue.  I’m eager to start on the pink cardigan, and I might opt to finish (frog and re-start?) Whisper, a laceweight, almost unstructured cardigan after that.  Any suggestions?  For the non-knitters, you can always tell me about your favorite sweater.  Is it a cardi?  Is it bulky or lightweight?  What makes it your fave?

20 comments on “Grass-ercup

  1. gMarie says:

    That is a lovely sweater and will be nice with a pretty little top under or just as it is.

    My favorite sweater? I love me a good basic all purpose cardi – generally from fingering weight yarn, so I tend to buy them rather than knit them. g

  2. Darcy says:

    I love the neckline and the color is gorgeous you did an awesome job I have yet to try knitting a sweater.Hugs Darcy

  3. Mary says:

    Good job. Nice sweater…love all the photo “help” from Gretchen. I like hankerchief-fronted open cardigans and own several – all purchased, none knitted by me. Have scoped out several patterns, like CEY Classic Silk Open Cardi or Gathered Cuff Cardi, but not sure I can take all the stockinette.

  4. Well,,,yes…the pictures don’t do you or the sweater justice. I look forward to the “better” pics, which can still feature snippets of little dogs, btw. The good thing I can see from here? It fits you nicely!

  5. Marjie says:

    It’s a cute sweater and a great color! It fits well, and is well color coordinated with your faithful companions!

  6. Sue says:

    I like big bulky sweaters, especially cardigans. Doggy nails and sweaters don’t mix well. I think there’s nothing neater looking plus comfortable than an Aran pullover with trousers or jeans.

  7. AlisonH says:

    A quick note to the photographer: photos taken looking up like that always enlarge the belly. Meantime, congratulations on the new pretty sweater!

  8. Amy says:

    Ooo – that is lovely! I turned out great and looks fantastic on you!

    I’ve once again changed my mind for my first sweater of 2011. We’re doing the Raglan Redux, which is awesome, because you use some hand-spun yarn in the yoke and then knit the rest in regular yarn. I do plan on making the Beach House Pullover after that one though.

  9. Knittysue says:

    Love that color on you and the sweater is perfect..matter of fact I would make it with your mod suggestions for the top and necline.
    Can’t wait to see more.

  10. Walden says:

    The grass-ercup looks great! The puppies look like they were a great help during the photo shoot. 🙂

  11. Anita says:

    Your sweater turned out great!!My favorite I think is a cardigan, fairly lightweight, not much call for heavy sweaters here….

  12. Nichole says:

    Lovely! The color is wonderful for you!
    As for my favorite? I’ll tell you once I finally get to knitting one! =)

  13. love your sweater, its adorable and i might knit it for one of my nieces. I love knitting sweaters I love wearing sweaters but I have been unsuccessful knitting a sweater for this body I possess, but since the body is under re-construction maybe someday

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    Love it!!! And is Gretchen licking your arm in that last picture? lol

    I’m working on Shalom in a nice bulky weight. I’m loving it. =)

  15. Cat =^,^= says:

    It did turn out lovely and thanks for the tip on the sizing – having frogged mine, I may get inspired to restart, but with a different yarn – I like your choice much better than I did my own!

  16. StarSpry says:

    Your sweater looks lovely! Such a great color. My next project will be the Austin Hoodie. I’ve had the yarn forever; I just need to wind it up and get started 🙂

  17. Barbara says:

    I hate that you are continuing with internet problems! Boo hiss.

    Love the sweater, Chan. The color is exactly what I thought.
    You have a queue for sweaters? Love it.
    Guess that’s sort of like a to-do file for recipes!

  18. Kathy says:

    Well here I am again. Late to the party as usual ;).
    Love the sweater and it looks quite nice on you. I haven’t worked with hemp yarn yet.

    I have Whisper in my queue and I’m working on the designer’s Featherweight cardi right now. I like how they are so lightweight.

    My favorite sweater to knit and wear? Central Park Hoodie.

  19. Dianne says:

    Love that sweater! I just might have to knit one, too!

Leave a Reply

