** blink **

DSC_0640

Photo from Friday night - Aimee, Anita, Me, Rosanne

I was right there, but somehow, I feel as though the weekend was just a big blur.  The fur-girls have a really brief glimpse of their gifties from the fiber festival on their blog, and I’m going to attempt to reconstruct a blog recap from Thursday night forward.

No, there’s no cute “back to school” outfit to share from Thursday night, even though I did learn that I’m hardly the only one who feels our first League meeting of the year is like the first day of school.  It was just too darned HOT for anything special, even for the outfit I’d planned to wear.  Nevertheless, after the meeting, Anita had arrived, so I met her and the Knight for a late dinner.

September 2010 005Friday, I had to work, so Anita and Ravelry friend Aimee met at Dog House Yarns and More.  I eventually caught up with them there.  I’ve resisted the Poems sock yarn since it arrived at the store, but Friday night, I threw up my hands and took some home.

September 2010 027Saturday, we ventured north to the Shenandoah Valley Fiber Festival.   We saw Kathy and her family and friends as soon as we walked in, and eventually caught up with many more.    Honestly, I wasn’t as impressed this year with the vendors.  There wasn’t as much roving/fiber to be had, but I did snag some from Creatively Dyed, whom I’ll see again this weekend at Montpelier.  Can’t wait!  I’ll blog in great detail on Thursday about what I consider the find of the day, a wool coat for Gretchen Greer.

September 2010 020

Kathy gave us a wonderfully thoughtful package.  Of course, Sis is rather focused on HER part of the parcel…  Again, I really do appreciate the effort my friends go to, finding treats my allergy queen can eat!  There’s also a special fall Peanuts Scok It bag there, and some sweet little hanks of her yarn as well.  (You can visit her Etsy shop HERE.)   The Knight claimed the sugar cookies in the front, in case anyone was wondering.  Thank you so VERY much, Kathy!

With my next post, we’ll look at more of my goodies from the weekend.  I know my eyes glaze over after a while, and I don’t want to send you into a fiber coma!

How was your weekend?

19 comments on “** blink **

  1. Nichole says:

    So glad you got to see so many friends… I know THAT more than makes up for the lack of good vendors! 😉 What a GREAT basket from Kathy! Can’t wait to hear more about the whole weekend….and see more pics!

  2. Nichole says:

    And did you say a fall Peanuts sock it bag?? Close up please (I don’t see any in her shop)??

  3. gMarie says:

    Hem – should I tell N that I have some peanuts bags? Love your goodies! Sounds like a great weekend. I actually got to relax some. I know, right? g

  4. Barbara says:

    Sounds like fun with friends, even if you were a tad disappointed with the vendors.

    What a lovely gift package from Kathy! She covered the Knight AND Sis very nicely.
    I want to hear and see more….

  5. Bubblesknits says:

    You’ll have to let me know how you like that Poems yarn. I’ve wondered about it.

    Love, love, love that package from Kathy! Those orange and green hanks are begging to be something pumpkin-ish for Halloween. =)

    Sorry to hear about the vendors, but at least Creatively Dyed was there and you got to see Kathy and Anita. ((hugs))

  6. Will wait “patiently” for all the details…is that your new sweater I see you in?

  7. Blond Duck says:

    That’s such a cute basket!

  8. AlisonH says:

    T R E A T S. Momma’s got TREATS!

  9. Robin in VA says:

    AWWWWW…don’t the good times fly by! Nice treats!!

  10. Sue says:

    I love the way Sis cuts thru all the extras and goes right for the important stuff.

  11. Amy says:

    Awww … look at that dog coat! She is so adorable in it!!

  12. Oooh such great swag and a fantastic meet up

    To answer your question, stick to it, that is all I can suggest, from My list on Saturday I finished the pillow cover and assembled it, did 2 gnomes, 1 rabbit, 11 inches of the cable vest (the second time) and got tom to block 2 shawls, now to get him to wind 2 skeins of yarn.

    Somedays life is just difficult and i am sure the moon and its drag isn’t helping!!!! Hugs

  13. Anita says:

    The weekend went by way too fast!! And Gretchie looks wonderful in her coat!! I take it that it fit fine?

  14. Marjie says:

    If you had this much fun and were disappointed with the vendors, wouldn’t you have been overloaded if all the vendors you wished for had been there?

    It was warm Friday and Saturday, cooler yesterday, and chilly and rainy today. I’m so glad the furnace man finished up Thursday night, because if he hadn’t, I’d be really mad now!

  15. This is the second time today I’ve heard about Poems Sock. Is it a new yarn or something? Or am I just totally out of it?

  16. Natalie says:

    Sounds like you had a great weekend!! Mine was good too! Love the package!

  17. Kathy says:

    I agree, Saturday was a whirlwind. I also agree that I didn’t think there was a much roving or spindle/spinning vendors. But the weather cooperated and I was able to meet up with friends :).

    You are very welcome for the goodies and I’m glad Mark and the girls loved the treats. Enjoy!

  18. lacey says:

    Look at those goodies. I am going to have to start working on Angus a sweater too. I might just break down and buy him a coat.

  19. Dianne says:

    Sounds like you had a fab time! That Poems sock yarn looks oh-so-pretty…can’t wait to hear your review after you knit with it!

Leave a Reply

