Gretchen has a little lamb…

…coat.

September 2010 027

Happy Dogs on Thursday, little friday, thankful Thursday and almost Montpelier time!

Today’s post is all about the most awesome Good Shepherd Lamb Coat I purchased for Gretchen last weekend.  I am tee-totally blown away by this coat.  Firstly, it’s so well made I’m at a loss for words. 

September 2010 030

Just look at those seams!  I don’t sew as you all know, but I do recognize quality when I see it.   These coats are machine wash/dry, and are made to last for years.  Their originated as little lamb jackets, to be work in barns, outdoors, etc., so you know they’ll hold up to Gretchen prancing around the yard.

September 2010 026

DSC01678

Sissy & the bulky coat

You can visit their website for all the details, but these coats are made from salvaged wool blankets and are hand stitched.  You can also arrange for a custom order, and after the last few days of rain with poor Sis wearing her all-weather coat, the Knight has agreed that Gretchen needs one more, and Sis needs one of her own too.  

September 2010 024They’re lightweight and yet, being thoroughly felted wool, you know they’re plenty warm too.  I think Sissy might not hate a coat that’s easier to move in.  (I’m also hoping the Knight will work his online shopping magic and find Sis a big, long girl rain slicker too.)

I can’t say enough about the woman working their booth last weekend, whom I assume is the owner of the company.  She knew right away that Gretchen needed a small, despite the quick weight/size chart posted suggesting otherwise.  It was clear from talking with her that when the website/brochure says they measured lots of dogs before settling on sizes, they really did.   She happily stripped the little stuffed lamb of the size small pink coat I wanted, but they also had quite a diverse offering of colors in every size, including extra small for most cats!

September 2010 019

Gretchen's serious about how well this coat moves with her...

And the prices…  I don’t often mention cost, but I paid $21, tax included on Saturday.   That’s a STEAL.  The online prices are higher, but even at $35 plus shipping, I honestly feel it’s a bargain.  I do anticipate paying more for Sissy’s big, custom order, but for a coat that will flex and move with her and will likely last her lifetime, it’s still an exceptional deal.  Heck, I’d honestly pay double or triple the price for the same product and not think twice about it.  Just in case they’re at Montpelier this weekend, I’m taking Sis’s measurements with me…

Thankful Thursday is a quick link.  For each of you who knitted for, prayed for, sent good vibes out to “Hope” and her family, I’m delighted to share a newslink.  If you watch CBS evening news, you saw her last night and might not have known it.   She and her young parents and younger sister have been through so much the last 18 months or so, but this chapter of her story has a VERY happy ending.

I’d also get in trouble if I failed to link to the girls’ blog.  It’s just a quick update on Gretchen’s food quest, but I do need some input from small dog owners…

15 comments on “Gretchen has a little lamb…

  1. Natalie says:

    They are both so cute! love the pink jacket! 🙂

  2. gMarie says:

    Oh I need time to check on Hope’s link. I’m so happy they have good news.

    Love the little pink coat, but my favorite part? The pink ginham bias binding (trust me, it is!) and it’s fabulous!

    Can’t wait to see what Sis ends up with. Oh how I wish my kids wore clothes! g

  3. Nichole says:

    WOW… seriously? $21? That is more than a STEAL… and it’s gorgeous! Fits her to a T… love it!
    Yay for Hope… 🙂 (if only I had speakers here at work to listen now)

  4. Sue says:

    That is a cute coat and should be nice and warm this winter. I’ll go check out her site and maybe pick one up for one of my gang.

  5. Marjie says:

    That’s a really nice coat.

    Thor thinks he’s a small dog, and his food recommendation is “Whatever the humans eat.” Sorry he’s no help.

  6. Marjie says:

    And I’m glad little Hope is doing better.

  7. Pam says:

    What do you think the weather & grounds will be like Sat? I was there the last muddy mess, a couple of years ago. Have been looking forward to this for months!

  8. AlisonH says:

    Wow. That’s a steal, and a very very cute one!

  9. Kristin says:

    I’ll have to tell my step dad about that. He and my mama take the dogs up to their mountain home a lot and they’re always on the look out for new coats!

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    Wow! $21 bucks is definitely a steal for that! And it looks darling on her. =)

  11. Walden says:

    I love Gretchen’s coat. You can tell it fits her well and she looks comfortable. When I get a puppy, I will have to keep them in mind.

  12. Terrie says:

    That is such a wonderful coat and fits Gretchen perfectly!! I hope Sis will enjoy her custom-made coat, too. I’ll have to check out their site for the cat coats 🙂

  13. Anita says:

    The coat looks perfect & adorable on Gretchie! 🙂 It truly was the find of the day.

  14. km says:

    Such a cute coat.

    SO excited for HOPE’s family! I’ll continue to pray, but it’s wonderful that so many have been answered already.

  15. Dianne says:

    That coat is just perfect for little Gretchen!!!

Leave a Reply

