One Name

I knew today was going to have to be a double post day!

July 2010 002

The Grace gnome I got for my birthday

Before I get carried away though, I need to wish a very happy birthday to Grace.  She has such a giving heart that for HER birthday, she’s just asking that we all stop by and wish her a happy one on her blog, on Facebook, etc. and we’re entered in a contest to win one of her fabulous shawls.  Feel free to tell her I sent you!

Yesterday, Gmarie and I had a discussion on one name etiquette.  I’ll be honest…  I usually have to be prompted to give my last name in a conversation, because… well…  There just aren’t that many Chans, and even fewer Channons.

What do I mean?  Well, let’s visit a scene from You’ve Got Mail

Kathleen Kelly: I thought all that Fox stuff was so charming. F-O-X.
Joe Fox: Well, I didn’t lie about it.
Kathleen Kelly: “Joe”? “Just call me Joe”? As if you were one of those stupid 22-year old girls with no last name? “Hi, I’m Kimberly!” “Hi, I’m Janice!” Don’t they know you’re supposed to have a last name? It’s like they’re an entire generation of cocktail waitresses.

As you might guess, I’m no cocktail waitress.  In fact, I’m generally a stickler for protocol and good manners, so do weigh in and let me know how YOU feel about someone using just one name. 

I mean… I’m not Cher or Madonna, but I rarely hear anyone use my last name, so clearly, I’m not just being presumptuous… am I?

9 comments on “One Name

  1. gMarie says:

    Love it! Thank you. Some days I wish I was a cocktail waitress. Well as you know I use an abreviated version of my first and middle names – it was started by JB at our wedding and I love it! I’ve always hated my name and gMarie is perfect. It’s everything that I strive to be – delicate, feminine, and clearly you know it’s me.

    It probably is presumputious of me to only use that on a mailing label, however. 🙂 g

  2. Nichole says:

    You are indeed a one-name-woman! 🙂

  3. lacey says:

    LOL! That is one of my favorite movies. I love Meg Ryan. I to like protocol, but have noticed that lately I have gotten sucked up into the world of convenience. It is true everyone has a last name. Plus it is easier to remember someones first name if you know there last name.

  4. Sue says:

    I’ve always made it a habit when I meet someone to listen to what they call themselves. Then that’s what I use. My husband Robert is usually called Bob by new people who meet him, but I found that he referred to himself as Robert, so that’s what I use and have shortened it to Rob.

    My name is Sue Ann and I’ve always hated being called Susan and will usually correct anyone who does it. I think it’s just a simple act of respect to use the name the person prefers.

  5. when your last name is unpronounceable (both maiden and married and there are very few Grace’s in your generation you have no problem being called Grace and just Grace

  6. Chan you are, and in most circumstances it ought to be good enough! I totally agree that one should call people by their preferred name…with only a few exceptions. For example, I teach math and Sunday School. I call myself Ruth. It’s fine with me if the students call me Ruth, too. However….some parents insist on adults being “Mr” or “Mrs” and I won’t go against them, since it’s their child.

  7. Barbara says:

    The only other Chan I know is Charlie. 🙂

    I love Gretchen’s pink coat. I want one!!

  8. Kathy says:

    Well I’m just Kathy but do you have idea how many times I’m asked if I’m a Kathleen or Katherine? Let alone the question, do you spell it with a C or a K? *sigh*

  9. Lacey says:

    Congrats on winning! Cute sock monkey

Leave a Reply

