Amity

–noun 1.

friendship; peaceful harmony.

2.

mutual understanding and a peaceful relationship, esp. between nations; peace; accord.

DSCN0638

Or, a happy yarn from Ella Rae.
See, yesterday sent me on a stash dive, into the stuff I don’t have logged on Ravelry because it’s most likely to be used for charitable or dog knitting.    I grabbed a variegated ball of Amity, a 75% acrylic, 25% wool blend, and cast on for the hat I promised Amy I’d hand over when we meet later this week.  I think I’ve donated 2 of the 3 years she’s been doing Warm Up Winchester.  
 
DSCN0633_edited-1Amity is a bit fuzzy, but it’s so soft to the hand and it wears like steel.  This I know, because my babyman – Mugsy – had a snuggle made from it, and it was washed and tossed in the dryer a couple of times a month for about a year.  He didn’t go anywhere without it.  It was his seat cover at home, work and especially in the car.   I think I’ve found the yarn to use for baby #3’s blanket.
Doesn’t hurt that I like the word either.
What’s your favorite winter hat pattern?  I confess, I don’t have one.  I love to knit hats, but I don’t believe I’ve done the same pattern twice.  I’ll have an FO report for you on  Friday.  I probably would have had one today for the hat, but I NEEDED Mexican for dinner last night!
16 comments on “Amity

  1. Dianne says:

    Amity – wasn’t that the name of the town in “Jaws”?

  2. gMarie says:

    Don’t know that I have a favorite hat pattern, althought I think the Cotty hat might make the list. That yarn is lovely and look at you knit! Charity knitting as well – mine has dropped off of late.

    And that yarn will be lovely for a wee baby blankie. g

  3. Nichole says:

    Aww, great shot of Mugsy! 🙂

    I love hats and love trying new styles when knitting them… but Gina’s(SleepyEyes) Amanda hat is always a good go-to knit, esp for gifts.

  4. Mr. Puffy says:

    It’s a hat I’ve never blogged because it’s pretty old. It’s knit in lopi wool – baby blue – totally simple design. Single ribbing for a couple of inches and stockinette top. Very warm and comfy hat and has worn extremely well. It’s probably 15 years old and I still get compliments when I wear it.

    If my baby wasn’t the size of an elephant I might be tempted to knit in a Mugsy blanket!

  5. Sue says:

    In the October 1971 issue of Woman’s Day Magazine there was an article called “The Quick Knit Cap”. It has the directions for thirty variations of the same fast to knit hat. I tore out the four page article and it’s my go to pattern for a fast and cute hat, especially for charity knitting. Lots of varieties in lace, rib, cable, etc.

  6. Robin in VA says:

    Being so close to Halloween, I immediately thought of The Amityville Horror!
    Sweet Mugsy…

  7. AlisonH says:

    A basic boring 2×2 ribbed watchcap is my standard hat. I need to branch out.

  8. sort of like I need CHinese tonight—luckily they deliver

    I use Myrna Stahman’s watchcap pattern as my go to hat pattern. Its a wee bit different, ribbed and then garter for the top. Its fast I usually get it done in the evening!!

    The yarn you picked looks bright and cheery—nice to visit with Mugsy again!!

  9. Barbara says:

    Have you ever knitted a simple lavender hat? I made one once years ago…you know I haven’t knitted it a million years…but I really liked that hat!

    Amity kind of got a bad name, didn’t it? After Jaws. They sure are fall colors.
    Supposed to hit the 60’s here tonight…not going to count on it though. I was really nice today with little humidity!

  10. Marjie says:

    Love the picture of Mugsy, and the yarn sounds perfect for your next baby blanket!

  11. kathy b says:

    The snuggly being a pooch favorite is the cutest thing.

    Favorite hat pattern now is for men: Bernat’s camouflage hat. Simple construction and easy fit. I am making a second one for my son right now. The first one I get to deliver to him at school tonight when we take him and his roommates out for pizza.

  12. Walden says:

    Love the color of that yarn.

    Honestly, favorite hat pattern has been Tychus from Knitty. Mostly because I have a big head and the sideways garter stitch is VERY forgiving! 🙂

  13. Louise says:

    Hi Channon! Just popped in to see what’s being knitted up. Marion crocheted me the most adorable hat. I’m just not ready for hat weather yet! I’m liking that Amity, however, Mexican sure sounds good too!!!

    Thanks for sharing, hug the girls for me:)

  14. Mary says:

    I like the Amanda hat. I have made at least three of them…and I don’t knit too many hats. Love the photo of Mugsy.

  15. Bubblesknits says:

    I’m knitting one right now called “Rachel Lacy Rib Hat”. Very pretty and a nice, easy-to-remember pattern. =)

  16. Kathy says:

    Amity- for a second I was concerned this would be a post about flies (you know? Amity-ville horror? lol)

    Very sweet pic :).

Leave a Reply

