Old School

October 2010 020

The fur-girls checking out Gretchen's new bag

We’ll just pretend today is Thankful Tuesday.  Gretchen’s already put up a thank you post to gMarie for her present, and now, I’m doing a thank you post for my prize package from Eternal Arts & Crafts’ giveaway

I was delighted to win Knitting It Old School.   Most of the patterns are of a vintage flavor, and even the names are awesome.  You can find links to all of the patterns here, on Ravelry.  Some are silly, some are classic styles likely to end up in my queue.  I mean, how can you NOT want to knit a Watusi Dress?!   (Who remembers the song that has “Watusi!  Now Twist,” in the lyrics?)

October 2010 019

Jodi also included some great, soft yarn so I can make a cube (Ravelry link) she made, once the pattern is released.   Here you can see my assitant inspecting the book.  (One international package, and suddenly, they’re both customs agents!)  Thanks so VERY much, Jodi!  I love it all!

So, do you like vintage?  If so, what?

15 comments on “Old School

  1. gMarie says:

    Oh I love Vintage! I’ve seen a few things from that book that would totally be worth knitting. Enjoy. g

  2. Nichole says:

    What a fun book – great prize!

  3. Marjie says:

    Hey, you never know. Those packages could have contraband in them. The fur-girls are on the job!

  4. km says:

    What a fun prize! I love your customs officials. They don’t look as mean as the ones I’ve met.

  5. Kristin says:

    Your assistant looks very helpful!

  6. Happy Anniversary again

    Watusi!!! There is Shake your Tail Feathers from Blues Brother (one of my all time favorite movies) and there
    is THe Watusi by the Vibrations and I am sure may other versions out there!!!

    Love your new book and your yarns!!

  7. AlisonH says:

    It is not our custom to ignore new things, Mom…

    Love the colors!

  8. I think it’s good to have inspectors on the job…but then, I’d better think so, since I have my own pair, right? Lovely gifties…I DO like old-school things, depending on the vintage. Off to check out all the links.

  9. Sue says:

    I do like some vintage. I inherited my Mom’s patterns from the 40s and 50s and I love looking thru them. A lot have come back into style.

  10. Kathy says:

    I luvres me some vintage :). Of course the pics from way back then show clothing on what? like a size 22″ waist?? LOL Not happening here, that’s for sure. But I always go back to the classics.

    Nice goodies. Enjoy!

    The girls are on duty. Don’t question it….lol

  11. Walden says:

    You are more than welcome! 🙂

  12. Terrie says:

    Congratulations on winning! That cube is really cute 🙂

  13. Amy says:

    My obsession with vintage clothing is only cornered by my lack of actual money to spend. I do have a couple really cute dresses … maybe I’ll wear one for fun the next time I come to visit!

  14. Anita says:

    I do like some vintage stuff… it just depends. 🙂
    Great prizes though!!

  15. Bubblesknits says:

    I agree…I much prefer your customs agents over the ones I’ve seen. 😉 Great prize, btw.

Leave a Reply

