Oscar the Slouch

Don’t look now, but I actually have knitting to report on what was once a knitting blog!

October 2010 014Meet Oscar the Slouch.

Pattern:  The very prettily named Felicity hat is a very simple, quick knit.  I didn’t change a thing!

Yarn: Now, you’ll understand how I went from a nice, feminine pattern name to a rather out of character Sesame Street name for my project.  The yarn is Creatively Dyed‘s Pan Yard in Oscar.  Pan Yard doesn’t seem to be in Ravelry’s database yet, but it’s a nice wool-silk blend that I couldn’t resist.  (It also isn’t on the shop’s website right now either.  Guess everyone else snatched it all up at the fall fiber festivals!)

October 2010 018Needles:  Cast on with a #5 circ as instructed, but if I did it again, I’d go with a #6.  Bulk of the knitting was done with a #7, which is just fine.

Verdict:  Loved the project.  Delighted with the results.  I’m not at all sure it is the hat I intended to make for my weekend and play wear, but I love the colors, so I’ll be keeping it!

I do want a hat for DAILY wear, but given my rather untamed locks, I’m thinking I’ll try A Better Bucket next. 

Do you wear hats in the winter?  If so, what style?  When?  I could wear this to play with the dogs or to work in the yard, but my hair wouldn’t be fit to be seen without the hat afterwards.  The individual strands are fine, but there are LOTS of them, and each has a wavy, frizzy mind of  its own, so I need something with a looser fit if I’m going to have to take my hat off in public…

19 comments on “Oscar the Slouch

  1. Nichole says:

    Cute hat! But I LOVE the A Better Bucket and want to make one of those for myself.

    I started wearing hats more in the winter last year and try to go with ones that are bucket or “cab driver” style because of the same hair issues. Winter hats like the one you just made are for play/warmth when you can pull your hair into a ponytail afterward.

  2. gMarie says:

    That hat is adorable! and no – I don’t wear hats, ever. Well only when it’s bitterly cold and I’m walking dogs. I might drape a scarf over my head between bus and office, but that’s it.

    I do love that bucket hat – would be fabulous for walking dogs – wouldn’t it? g

  3. kn1tty cat says:

    I love the colors! I hope Dianne makes more of this blend – I can see why it got snatched up and bought out. Re: hat question – I like scarf / hood combos … I am not a hat person – look kinda dumb in them (in my personal opinion) and they do mess up one’s ‘do!

  4. Marjie says:

    I never wear hats. My hair is carefully glued in place, because it’s stick straight, and I can’t afford the mess! That one is really pretty and feminine looking!

  5. AlisonH says:

    And here I just took off my handknit hat as the morning warmed up, where, along with a clip holding the main strands back, it had been taming my frizzes from my shower.

    I love your new hat! Enjoy!

  6. Blond Duck says:

    Hats make my head itch…except cowboy hats of course!

  7. Sue says:

    I love hats in all seasons. My favorites for summer and warm weather are newsboy style caps. In winter it’s more of the knit variety for warmth. I keep my hair very short, so it doesn’t get too messed by hats. I love that bucket and will have to make one of those soon.

  8. Ahem…as I said before I think you’d rock a cloche! So, here are some suggestions…
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/olive-6/people
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/caroline-5
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/classic-cloche-2
    And many more. No, I rarely wear hats myself…my pitiful little bit of hair doesn’t recover at all…

  9. StarSpry says:

    Very cute hat! I love the Better Bucket Hat; I even bought yarn for it, just haven’t made it yet. I do wear knit hats in the winter. My hair style is pretty simple so it doesn’t get messed up when I wear a hat to work.

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    It’s soooo cute and looks terrific on you!!! I wear a hat EVERYDAY and I wear multiple hats per day as every time I go outside I pull one on. I find that the natural fibers tend not to weird out my hair.

  11. AllyB says:

    I love the cheerful colors in your hat. Quick knits are so fun and satisfying. Hope you’re having a great week.

  12. Walden says:

    Love the colors! Very cute!

  13. Anita says:

    Cute hat! My favorite hat pattern is obvious, the Afternoon Pink Hat on Ravelry. 🙂
    I love the yarn you used!!

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    When I saw those pictures, I thought for sure you’d finished the Sockhead hat before me. lol I love the colors in the yarn you used. I’ve knit the Better Bucket Hat before and it’s a really cute pattern. =)

  15. oooo so many comments, I love to knit hats I love to give hats I NEVER wear hats

    Yours is very pretty!!!

  16. Knitting It Out says:

    A.dor.a.ble! I love to wear hats in winter. I already have two in mind that I’ve added to my collection. I like to make and wear cloche style, but I’m really wanting to make the Springtime in Philadelphia beret. Just need to get some #2 needles…darn another visit to a yarn shop. 🙂

  17. Natalie says:

    Very cute hat! 🙂

  18. Kathy says:

    Well I said it before and I’ll say it again, LOVE this hat and it looks nice on you.
    Do I wear hats? When the wind is howling and snow is blowing, you better bet ;).
    Now I’m off to check out the Bucket Hat.

  19. Darcy says:

    I love the colorway and the pattern it looks awesome on you and I knit the sockhead hat for my birthday and it is so comfy and great for cold days and covering up my hair when I have just woken up and need to take the girls to school;)
    I plan to knit the Felicity off to look at the other pattern you suggested.((((Hugs)))) Darcy

Leave a Reply

