Dusted

How was your weekend?  Ours was a mix of relaxation and wide-open busy.  Sock class went well, and I’ll get photos of the mini socks up soon, but in the meantime, let’s talk books.

I finished up Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and started Garth Nix’s Sabriel.  Both stories talk a lot about a wall that separates the world as we know it from a more magical one.  Both books were gifts from Coffee Yarn.    She chooses well for me!

Stardust calls itself an adult fairytale, but short of one little not-so sex scene and a tiny bit of  profanity, it isn’t strictly adult.  It sucked me in quickly, but the last third or so of the book lagged along, despite the story’s timeline.  It was nowhere near as dark as my two Gaiman favorites, Anansi Boys and American Gods, nor did it offer as much insight into folklore as those two did.  It was basically a fairytale morphed into an adult novel, but since I like fairies and other magical creatures, I would have liked to have heard more about the magic and spells than I did. 

I’m still very early into Sabriel, but so far, it seems to be an older (in her last year of school already), girl-powered Harry Potter.  Lots of detail about her powers, and I’m hoping that in time, I’ll learn more about the Charter (a code? a group?) and its magic.  Seems appropriate to be reading about a good necromancer right about now

I’m also pleased that it’s first in a trilogy.  I think I know what I’ll be reading next and after that!

What are you reading?  Do you have any friends who choose books well for you?

16 comments on “Dusted

  1. anniebananie says:

    Weekend? One word. BUSY. I can’t even begin to explain it, because I am still stuck in the bowels of proposal hell. I’m going to try my hardest to get a post of the weekend up soon… how did the class go?

  2. Tee says:

    Weekend was busy. Didn’t get down to as much reading as I ought to. Is stardust the one they made into a movie?

  3. Marjie says:

    Lucky you, with friends who send you books! Ryan’s 9th grade reading list was really quite good, so I’ve been working my way through that: Fahrenheit 451, The Book Thief, Ella minnow Peas, A separate Peace. There’s one other whose title escapes me. Some categories he was given a choice, and he said No Way to Dickens (David Copperfield in 8th grade was enough Dickens for him for a lifetime). Weekend? Circus and birthday Friday, pumpkin carving Saturday, starting that baby blanket (which will merit a yarn gripe post), and Halloweening. Oh, and a sick and grumbling hubby. Like Annie said, what weekend?

  4. Barbara says:

    I’m still reading political books. Perhaps after tomorrow (depending on the outcome) I will move on to something more entertaining. I hope. 🙂

  5. Busy weekend up at camp with jr highers…home just in time to hide in a dark house with the dogs. 🙂 I have a couple of friends who seems to be able to find just the right books for me; Elizabeth and Margaret. Still reading Frankenstein (on Miss Kindle) and listening to Wolf Hall (only 2 cds left) and about 5 chapters into Partnership, by Anne Mc.

  6. gMarie says:

    Weekend – relaxed and good. Lucy is better already – worth the $400 (shoulda been a vet!). Tiny bit of housework done and lots o’ me time.

    I’m reading the 8th in the Tea Shop Mysteries and I can’t believe who they knocked off this time!

    Time to run! Can’t wait to see your mini socks. g

  7. Barbara S. says:

    I promise you will learn all about Charter and more. There is lots and lots of magic, but in some ways Sabriel isn’t magic herself.
    And yes, the Stardust is the one they made into a movie, which is awesome! Well worth seeing!

  8. Kathy says:

    I am reading the last Harry Potter book. The movie comes on in 19 days! I need to finish before then.

  9. AlisonH says:

    I have a whole list of books to get to, just as soon as the knitting crunch dies down.

  10. Sue says:

    I’m reading yet another Jodi Picoult book. This is probably number 8 or 9. Most people recommend mysteries to me and I don’t really like them. I do better choosing my own reading matter.

    The weekend was pretty quiet, just doggy activities. We don’t get any trick or treaters so last evening was quiet, too.

  11. Nichole says:

    I need to get my review up of the book I am reading… and I need to pick my first official NOOK book!
    Weekend started out as go-go-go and ended with an entire day in PJ’s……

  12. Blond Duck says:

    Did you see the Stardust movie? I liked it!

  13. Amy Darsie says:

    I read the entire series of those books when I lived in New York and they are some of my favorites!

  14. Barbara S. says:

    Did I tell you this series on recorded books is well worth doing some detective work in your local library for? Seriously, Tim Curry does a most excellent job reading them! I loved listening to them as much as I did reading them all because of him!

  15. Walden says:

    When I was in school I had a friend that had good taste in books, as far as I was concerned. She would always lend me the first book in the series when she was done. I read so much faster than her that I would have to go buy the rest of the series. Loved the books she picked out, they were often my favorites.

  16. Bubblesknits says:

    Why yes, I do have someone who choses well for me….You! lol I’m enjoying my cozies that I found through a website you linked to on your blog a while back. In fact, most of the books I’ve read lately have been found here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

