When Technology Fails…

…  Let’s pretend we’re in 5th grade again.  You’re going to get a book report! 

See, I had all kinds of fun photos from the Shop Hop Monday night, but now you’ll just have to wonder what a Shop Hop is and what I might share, because I downloaded the photos onto my laptop, but when I went to upload them to Flickr, we had no internet at home!

It’s all good.  Sabriel, the first book in the Abhorsen Trilogy, deserves a stand-alone post.  Actually, I like the UK trilogy name best – Old Kingdom book series.  Anyway…

By any name, this is a great girl-power book that ranks right up there with the Disney movie Mulan as a new favorite of mine, in no small part because the heroine is a GIRL.  However, unlike Mulan, where Fa Mulan lets those around her believe she’s a man, Sabriel can’t – and doesn’t even try to – deny she’s a young woman. 

Luckily, in the her worlds (yes, plural), strong young women are respected.  Even as she learns about the Abhorsen legacy (I’m trying not to spoil anything!), there’s never a hint that her gender is anything other than a characteristic, not a weakness or hinderance.  In fact, the only time it is an issue at all is when it is pointed out that she and Touchstone (you’ll have to read it to find out who he is!) can’t really travel together without implied impropriety unbefitting of her status unless he is introduced as her sworn swordsman.

I can’t deny that part of the appeal for me is that Sabriel and her father have a special bond that time and space can’t hamper.  A book is that much better when you can relate strongly to a character in some fashion or another, isn’t it? 

It does deal with magic, death and things that go bump in the night, but as a real scaredy-cat, I can assure you it isn’t likely to cause bad dreams, no matter where you are in the story when you put the book down.  It is by no means as whimsical as Stardust, but both are classified as fantasy, and there is that common Wall that characters must navigate to move from “our” world into the magical world they all know about on the other side.

I’ve already started Lirael, the second book in the trilogy.  I’m reading it on my Nook.   One review states this series is suitable for 12 and up, and I think that’s accurate enough. 

Do you have any great “girl-power” books on your list of favorites?

12 comments on “When Technology Fails…

  1. Nichole says:

    Does “At Knit’s End: Meditations for Women Who Knit Too Much” count? 😉 LOL

  2. gMarie says:

    Unfortunately no – I have no great girl power books unless you count Nancy Drew or Trixie Beldon and they both screamed for boys when necessary.

    This sounds like a good series however, so I’ll have to look into it. Thanks for a good review. g

    • emmy says:

      I love Trixie Belden- she was my girlhood favorite! I now enjoy Stephanie Plum. Can you tell I am all about the light read the book for the simple enjoyment kind of a girl?

      Thanks for the Trixie reminder- brought back great memories.

  3. while definitely adult material Beloved by bertrice small is one of my favorite books about Zenobia a powerful queen in the time of Julius Cesear and marc Anthony, and any of her books that include Queen E the first. Or Phillipa Gregory’s about royalty too!

    As a kid it was Cherry Ames, who was every kind of nurse you could possibly be!

  4. Barbara S. says:

    Why am I beginning to feel like I recommend some really awful book and you would read it just because I said so?
    I am so glad I have such a great batting average with picking books for you! (I promise not to send anything I think is trash.) In this case you are lucky you get book three right away, instead of having to stop in the middle of a book and wait two years for it; or did I mention that already? You’ll see what I mean in oh, about two or three days I’m guessing.
    Have I ever mentioned “The Power of One” by Bryce Courtenay?

  5. Sounds like another three books for my TBR stack…as to the strong female characters….I was going to say Nancy Drew…but I already see someone disagrees! LOL, I’m sure there are others, but they escape me just now.

  6. Blond Duck says:

    Princess Academy, Shannon Hale.

  7. Marjie says:

    Mark is reading Anne of Green Gables in 6th grade right now. He hated the beginning 5 chapters or so, but then the book got to be good in spite of the fact that it stars a girl. Just goes to show that you can never guess what book will strike someone!

  8. Anniebananie says:

    So, what is a shop hop?

  9. Sue says:

    Fraid not unless you count Scarlett O’Hara.

    What is a shop hop?

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    I loved Stardust ~ such a fun book! This sounds like a very enjoyable read 🙂

  11. Kristin says:

    Gotta love a girl that can kick arse!

Leave a Reply

