Disreputable Dog

Big girl fairytales don’t necessarily begin with “Once upon a time…” or “In a land far away…”  The second book in the Abhorsen trilogy is much darker, but still a quick, compelling read.  I read it in less than 24 hours.  I just couldn’t put it down. 

Y’all know I don’t usually review each book in a series, but this group is special.  Lirael is just as fascinating as Sabriel, although at the start of the book, the title character hardly seems to fit the strong heroine part.  Bear with her; she’s in her early teens when we first meet her, and fond as I’ve become of her (keep in mind I’m already deep into #3 as I write), she’s still not my favorite character.

Spoiler Alert!!!!!!!!!  The character links below might contain spoilers, so if you want to read the books and TRULY be surprised, don’t click over.

Look closely at the cover art.  See the dark, furry character in the bottom left corner?  That’s Lirael’s companion, The Disreptuable Dog.  Just as I knew Gretchen – and Mugsy before her – was just the sort of Jack Russell that made J.K. Rowling invent crups, you only have to see/hear the dog’s name to know that Sissy could indeed be heir to the Disreputable Dog line.

Neither Sissy nor DD is TRULY disreputable, but they’re both full of themselves, affectionate, loyal and capable of pulling off stunts you wouldn’t think a normal dog could do. 

For the cat lovers out there, I’ve been remiss in not mentioning Mogget, a beautiful, RUDE, white cat whose magical side is revealed fairly early in Sabriel.  He’s not entirely trustworthy, he demands a lot from the human-ish characters…  he really is very much like a cat.  I happen to adore the character, but then, I like terriers and hounds because they aren’t exactly compliant, obedient canines.

I think I have a new, favorite series.  I loved Harry Potter dearly until the last book broke that spell, and while I’ve enjoyed a few series since then, nothing else has captured me like this trilogy about the Old Kingdom.  It is a little predictable in the grand scheme of the plot, but the fine details that make the tale so much fun to read are filled with twists, turns and real drama.   Did I mention STRONG female characters?  I’m still waiting to see if Princess Ellimere turns out to be as strong as she thinks she is…

Word of warning…  If you do read this series, make sure you have book #3  –Abhorsen – on hand before you finish #2 – Lirael.  To say there’s a cliff hanger is a serious understatement.  Good thing my Nook store is open 24/7, and I’d already been warned.  I had #3 downloaded, read to open as soon as I finished #2, which allowed me enough time to finish two chapters before my meeting last night.

November 2010 012

Dis - what?! Read on! I like the idea of being an heiress...

My weekend plans?  Well, as soon as I get home, I’m going to do what I’ve done the last two afternoons.  The fur-girls and I are going to pile up and finish the book.  This time, we’ll finish the series, and that will be bittersweet.   I hate to see a good series end, but at least this time, I’m pretty sure the ending won’t find me throwing the book across the room. 

(I keep saying I’m going to re-read Deathly Hallows before the first segment of the movie comes out on the 19th, so I guess I’d better go find that flying book and re-read, huh?)

I also REALLY want to knit the Out of Yarn ball (see a post here), so that’s what I’ll be doing after I finish reading.  

If you’re even remotely local, don’t forget the Lawre’s Laine trunk show at Dog House Yarns & More tomorrow, 11-6.

What are you up to this weekend?

17 comments on “Disreputable Dog

  1. Nichole says:

    Oh that’s a cute little ball……. I wonder if I can stuff one with a rock and throw it at someone today? 🙂

  2. gMarie says:

    So you think this might be a series I’d enjoy? If so, I’ll look for it. I never did finish Harry Potter.

    Love that little yarn ball – what will you do with it? Baby shower pressies? Don’t give it to the fur girls – you know how I feel on that subject.

    And I don’t think Sissy is disreputable at all! If anyone is – it’s Beauregard James!! g

  3. Sue says:

    That’s a nice photo of Sissy. I guess Sis, Beau and Fudge could start a disreputable dog pack.

  4. kn1tty cat says:

    You did not finish Deathly Hallows? Go find that flying book; now! I finished it and I sighed. We’ll talk later.

    If you go to Culpeper, please tell Mme./M. Shopkeepers hello and Honored Guest Lawre as well!

  5. Barbara S. says:

    Oh, there is one of short stories, “Across the Wall” and there is reported to be a fourth book coming out sometime in 2011 (delayed from 2010) that takes place before the ones you are working one. Bet that doesn’t help much does it?

  6. Amy Darsie says:

    I’m really glad that you are enjoying the books. The Library was one of my favorite scenes in the whole series. So mystical and mysterious!

    I’d love to re-read The Deathly Hallows as well, but I just started The Lost Symbol, and it is really good!

  7. anniebananie says:

    Love the photo of sis!

    Plans??? Uugh. We are headed to Manassas tonight. G has a swim meet tomorrow. Back tomorrow night. Church and CCD Sunday morning, then to my parents in the afternoon for the annual family birthday celebrations. I still have laundry to do, bills to pay, clothes to put away, and a house to clean.

  8. Marjie says:

    That’s a cute picture of Sis. How could anyone think that smiling face might be disreputable? Enjoy your book.

  9. AlisonH says:

    And now I finally know the details on crups; thank you!

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I just read Emily and the Incredible Shrinking Rat and loved it.

  11. knitting sewing stuffing, and visiting are on the agenda for the weekend!!!

  12. I do NOT this Miss Sissy is disreputable! Ahem….glad you’re enjoying your reads.

  13. Kathy says:

    Sissy? Disreputable? Not hardly ;).

    Sounds as if you’re really enjoying the Nook and I enjoy hearing the book reviews. Thanks 🙂

    Weekend plans include a long-awaited visit with the youngest DD. We’re having a family game night with both girls and plan to enjoy the time together. Hope you have a good weekend :).

  14. Barbara says:

    I’m always sad when I finish a book I’ve loved. And I’m not always too quick to start another, either.

    Workouts this weekend!

  15. Knittysue says:

    No plans..just trying to tackle some of the items on my to do list…knitting and quilt repairs.

  16. Anita says:

    Love that photo of Sissy! And she’s an angel, not Dis-whatever at all! SNOL

  17. Bubblesknits says:

    I’m seriously considering sending my Mom with Thad to see the Deathly Hallows movie. I couldn’t bear to do more than skim those last two books because things had gotten so depressing.

Leave a Reply

