What a ball!

Hold on a minute…  before I launch into my finished object report, I want to wrap up the Abhorsen trilogy.  I have to admit, I cried at the end of Abhorsen.  Sissy and Gretchen were at my side, and I held them close.  Still, I adore the series and it might indeed be my new favorite series.  The ending of the trilogy wasn’t as happily ever after as I’d thought it would be, but it was good and fitting.  I’m afraid to say too much because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who is going to read it!  I have heard there’s a prequel in the works…

Does the end of a good book or series make you sad?  I’ve started re-reading Deathly Hallows, and I’m amazed at how much I glossed over and/or have forgotten.

Now, back to the FO report that isn’t already in progress.

I was itching to cast on for the Out of Yarn ball.  After I finished reading, I knitted on a cloth that I’d been grinding on for ages until my hands hurt.  Saturday, my fingers were sore enough that I gave up and cast on with the soft acrylic…

November 2010 068

Bigger than a tennis ball with Chunky yarn

Pattern:  This is the first of many, I’m sure.  (Pattern link above.)  The pattern is well-written, and it was great to revisit Judy’s Magic Cast-on.   (You Tube video link here.)  I kitchenered the last seam closed, and wove in my ends as I went along.

Yarn:  Patons Beehive Baby Chunky.  I’d forgotten how splitty and “furry” acrylic is, but it was still soft and a happy change from the rugged, utility cotton.  Thanks, Jodi

Needles:  I used my very first dpns I bought, some metal #7s… Susan Bates I think.  You’ll need two sets or some stitch holders.  I thought about Magic Looping this project, but you’d have a royal mess.  There’s much picking up of stitches and knitting this and that together (clearly explained in the instructions), and I just don’t think anything other than dpns will work for this one.

Verdict:  Quick, fun and happy.  There will definitely be more of these in my future.

How was your weekend?

16 comments on “What a ball!

  1. Sue says:

    Yes, I’m often sad when I finish a book I like. I finished ‘A Suitable Boy’ about 15 years ago and didn’t want it to end. I loved the characters and wanted to know what happened to them. I wrote to the author hoping he was planning a sequel, but he never goes back.

    The ball is very cute and would be fun to make, but what are you going to do with it? I can’t think of a use for it.

  2. gMarie says:

    My weekend was lovely. And yes, I often ‘mourn’ a little when I finish a book. The first Maeve Binchey I ever read I think I truly did mourn – felt like I had lost a friend when I closed that book the last time. It was a great book, but ….

    My weekend was good! I finishd 2 skirts, picked out my birthday present and learned something!! g

  3. Julie says:

    Nice project! My eldest daughter’s cat died on Saturday. It was, of course a sad occasion, but Emily cried and then rose above herself to come over and pack boxes for Operation Christmas Child. You know your kid has grown up when they can do something truly unselfish. And she is nearly thirty. So it was a good weekend after all.

  4. Mr. Puffy says:

    You sure zoomed through those books quickly! It sounds like you really enjoyed them and I’ll have to keep that in mind after I finish the pile of books currently surrounding me!

    Love that ball ~ such a cute idea and looks really well constructed. I don’t anticipate any appearing around here though, as it’s my goal to diminish you know who’s fascination with all things yarnie.

  5. Marjie says:

    Now you need to make a tiny one for wee Gretchen! It’s really cute.

  6. AlisonH says:

    I had a ball, but not like you did!

  7. Anniebananie says:

    I saw that pattern on Rav and have thought about doing it. With your recommendation, I think I might just have to – they would make great kitty toys for Christmas!

  8. Blond Duck says:

    Good books are like a good piece of pie–all you want to do is lick the plate when you’re done.

  9. i hate to see series end, I always figure they have become a part of my family and then they leave me, so sad.

    What are your plans for the ball–baby gifts? animal toys? Just curious, its really cute!

  10. I agree, mostly, with the Blond Duck…however, I think I also enjoy coming to the end of a good series and knowing it ended well! Some series that I’ve read should have ended much sooner than they did…As to the weekend, incredibly busy. I am soooo tired, and it’s Monday!

  11. Nichole says:

    Oh, I love it! So which furgirl has claimed it as HERS?
    Weekend? Good… but went by far too fast, as always…….

  12. Walden says:

    I am glad you liked it!

  13. Kristin says:

    It’s been so long since I’ve gotten into a book like that. I need more time!

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    What a cute ball! Did you stuff it with fiber fill or is there a tennis ball in there?

    I’m always sad when a good series ends. I want the stories to just keep going.

  15. Kathy says:

    I’m sad when a good story ends. Reading all these reviews make me feel the need to get to the library.

    My weekend? Spent with the family and it was good :).

  16. Dianne says:

    That ball looks like fun to make!

Leave a Reply

