Circle ’round…

I know a lot of you love to whip out a cotton cloth for a quick knit or a travel project.  We use handknit cloths in the kitchen, and the Knight uses them in the bath as well.  In the past, I’ve knitted a cloth here and there without too much trouble, but this one was a pain in the fingers.

Circle Cloth #1

November 2010 074Pattern:  Circle Cloth.  It’s redundant to say #1, because I’m pretty sure I’ll never knit this one again.  Oh, the pattern’s fine, and I bet it will scrub nicely, but my dry, winter hands and the utility cotton didn’t get along well at all.  

It is a fun pattern, and after the first repeat, you have the hang of it and don’t need to look at the pattern again.  I’m trying to be “greener” about patterns, and when it’s something I can memorize or get the gist of, I don’t print the pattern.  However, I set this aside often enough that I did have to open the pdf file again to figure out how to finish it off.

November 2010 076

Yarn:  Both colors are Lion Brand Cotton.  I remember thinking kindly of this brand before, saying it was more pliable than the – and cream brands of utility cotton, but I just don’t know.

Needles:  Brittany #7 straights.  Maybe that was part of the problem, but I don’t like metal straights.

Verdict:  Nice pattern, and if you don’t mind knitting with cotton, do give it a go.  Me?  I’ll be crocheting the rest of the cloths I need to crank out for Christmas.  It’s faster and the cotton doesn’t bother me with a hook.

Ironically, I’ve been knitting on my sweater in progress again, and if you add merino to a nice cotton fiber, it’s one of the sweetest things in the world to knit with.  Go figure.

Do you have a favorite fiber? 

Do you knit cloths with “better” grades of cotton yarn?  If so, how do they hold up, and are they easier on the hands?

Have you used a crocheted cloth?   Do they work as well as a knitted one?

(Beau dear, I don’t care how the different cottons taste, or whether crocheted cloths are chewier, but thanks for reading anyway…)

16 comments on “Circle ’round…

  1. gMarie says:

    hurmph! I really like the ones that Miss VeeDog made for momma – those were really tasty. But you’d have to ask VDK what the yarn was.

    Going to pout now. (by the way – my Dad says if Mom didn’t use them to wash my face, then I wouldn’t get back at her by eating them!) Beauregard James — dishrag thief.

  2. Nichole says:

    Well, it is a pretty cloth at least! 🙂

  3. gMarie says:

    Very interesting dishcloth indeed. I knit a pair of circle socks – but they only used one yarn, acheiving the same results. Might have to try this because it’s so pretty.

    I knit cotton on my lovely brittany rosewood straights and man the yarn just zips along. I have used sticky needles and that made my hands hurt. maybe try a slipperier wood needle? g

  4. Kristyn says:

    I love that pattern – I have made 3 or 4 of those cloths. I guess I am lucky because I have knit tons of cloths with regular Sugar ‘n Cream and never have has an issue with my hands hurting.

  5. Bubblesknits says:

    I agree with what G said. Sometimes it all depends on what type of needles you’re using. Also, I had someone tell me once (when knitting dishcloths) to always knit looser than you normally do, since the cotton doesn’t give. Between using my slick Clover bamboo needles and easing up on my gauge, the cotton doesn’t seem to bother me anymore. 🙂

  6. AlisonH says:

    I’ve knit that pattern in wool and loved it, but wool has give to it. Those strands get stretched pretty tight.

  7. Barbara says:

    That IS a cute pattern, Chan. And I like the colors too. My grandmother used to crochet dishcloths….but I was too young to remember anything she may have said about them.

  8. Kathy says:

    Sorry it hurt your hands to knit. It’s so pretty. And it looks like it will scrub very well.

  9. Marjie says:

    It’s pretty, but I’m sorry it hurt your hands. I did enjoy Beau’s comment, too.

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    I knit a cloth in the sugar and cream and really like it a lot ~ but haven’t used it yet. Not sure why? Maybe I just hate the thought of using something I made which is guaranteed to get grubby and thrown away 🙂

    I am trying to be “greener” too but am pretty dependent on print. I don’t read on a kindle or anything – I’m just really more comfortable with hard copies.

  11. Margaret says:

    Can’t knit dishcloth cotton at all except on my addis, and even then a little cotton goes a long way for my wrists. If you really don’t care for metal, maybe some of the Harmony wood needles would be easier, they have a nice smooth finish.

  12. Sue says:

    I’ve only knit with cotton once. It didn’t hurt, but I didn’t like the way it looked. I guess I need to give it another try.

  13. Kathy says:

    Oh but it is so purdy. I’ve never knit with cotton yarn other than Lion Brand or Peaches and cream so can’t give a review one way or the other.

    I haven’t been printing patterns either for obvious reasons but the “green” excuse will work for me 😉

  14. I’ve knit some with cotton blends, like cotton/linen and cotton/modal. I think they make fine facecloths, but I’m not sure I’d want to spend that much on dish rags! As to ease of knitting, the cotton/modal blend was much “softer” and easier to knit with. Love ya Beau!

  15. Knittysue says:

    I’ve knit many, many dishcloths and they always leave my hands sore. I use Peaches & Cream / Lion whatever is on sale..and the needles do make a big difference. I like the pattern but I knew it would be painful when I first saw it so I’ve avoided it. I love 4 corners by Abigail 1870 pearl..good practice for short rows and very durable.

  16. Anita says:

    For a bath cloth you should try knitpicks shine. It is super soft & makes a lovely cloth. Kitchen cloths, I’d stick with the Peaches.

    That one sure is pretty. 🙂 And I don’t like crochet cloths, when they get wet they stretch way more than knitted ones. And I don’t care for super lacy cloths either for the same reason.

Leave a Reply

