Meet me at the Mistletoe?

DSCN2281

December 2008

This photo is almost two years old, but that’s still how Gretchen and I hang out at the office.  Funny, sweet gal.  Right now, she’s resting across the top edge of my lumbar support.  Why yes, it does shove me too far forward, but that’s a small price to have my sweet snuggler with me at work!   This will be their last visit of 2010, as it is the inlaws’ last trip of the year too.

(logo property of the JLC)

I can hardly wait for Sunday and the Mistletoe Market!    There are some new vendors on the list and I really need to make a dent in my Christmas shopping.  Honestly, it’s going to be a very modest year for gift-giving here.   I’ve felt for years that the gift scene was out of  control, and it seems now, many in my gifting circle finally agree.  

That makes finding the perfect gift all the more important.  I love finding something unique, and Mistletoe Market will fit the bill!

I’ll also be knitting.  I’m past the 35% mark on the lace scarf that has been on my needles too long, and I’m nearly finished the left front panel on my pink cardigan.  I’m not even sure my October cardigan will get finished in Novemeber.  Christmas knitting has to start soon.

What do you have planned for the weekend?

11 comments on “Meet me at the Mistletoe?

  1. Nichole says:

    The Mistletow Market sounds wonderful… and yes, finding the UNIQUE items is the best! I’m hoping to do so when I take a trip “home” on Tuesday… =)
    Weekend is a bit full, but I’m hoping to get some good knitting time in on Sunday.

  2. gMarie says:

    Hmmm – I so wish I lived close enough to hit your Mistletow Market – I bet I could find a few of the ‘perfect’ gifts on my list.

    Weekend? ASG tomorrow – wet felting rocks. Then sewing, sewing, sewing. Some for me, some for the shop and I think I’ll keep it mixed up like that! g

  3. Sue says:

    The last two birthday of the year are this weekend, Morgan and Tsar. I made something special for them. I have several projects to finish up and I’d like to start something new.

    I’m trying to think of a nice way to tell some people on our gift list that we don’t want to exchange gifts at Christmas without hurting feelings. I’m sure they’d probably feel relieved in the long run.

  4. Barbara says:

    Going back over your posts (you are a prolific blogger!)
    yes, I loved Harry Potter, books and movies, which I think they did a super job with.
    Lots of Veterans in my family too…I even have a cousin who was in the Bataan death march. He is still with us and he has written a short book about his experiences. His health has always been poor however.

    I love the photo of Gretchen (could this be the why of your upper back problem?) and wish we had a Mistletoe Market. We USED to have one at the Historical Society, but they stopped doing it a couple years ago…couldn’t get enough vendors.
    Have a lovely weekend, Chan!

  5. Kristyn says:

    Every year I try to convince my brother & sister that the siblings and our spouses don’t need to buy for each other but they never agree. I don’t want more crap in my house. My suggestion this year is going to be that we adopt a family instead.

  6. Marjie says:

    Hooray for company at the office! I just got fabric for my Thanksgiving dress, so it’s probably time to decide what it should look like, don’t you think? I hope we’ll see that On-the-needles-too-long project soon!

  7. AlisonH says:

    I love the look of grand anticipation in her in that picture!

  8. Krystle says:

    I love things like the Mistletoe Market, What a wonderful name! I heard Christmas music last weekend, and they are starting to set up that santa station! I love this time of year!!!

    Love the picture of Gretch snuggled up with you! Adorable 🙂

  9. Yeah for having sweet baby at work today! My weekend…shhh…I think it’s going to be quiet, but don’t tell or it won’t be! Good start though. Went to both Cost Plus and Trader Joes today!

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    Nary a thought given to the holidays. I’m just trying to get through each day – LOL

    I no longer do a lot of planned gift knitting. It generally just happens spontaneously like my sister saw my last post with the Fall gloves and said she could use some mitts like those and so I gave them to her.

    I love that pic of you and Gretchen. I remember when you cut it short like that.

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    I agree! Dr. Tooth and I had that very conversation tonight. I suggested filling a stocking for each other this year and that be it (a few movies, books, etc.). It’s more about being together and watching the kids open *their* presents. 🙂 It’s taken a couple of years, but I think I’ve got him on board this time. lol

Leave a Reply

