Brave-Modern-French Books

Oooh, look!  A rare Saturday post!  My dear BIL and his family sent me an Amazon gift card, so I splurged on some knitting books.  (No, I don’t NEED more books, but what does that have to do with anything?!)

Don’t mind the title…  I’m going in a different order, okay?

I’ve been eyeing French Girl Knits since it came out.   While I can see my self wearing (thus, perhaps knitting) Bijou, Martine and Viola, it is Veronique that is tempting me.  gMarie knows…  I’m really drawn to the mohair laceweight sweaters right now, which is crazy, because hello?!  We’ve had frost for more mornings in a row than I can recall.  I need to be thinking WINTER sweaters, but since when is Mojo logical?!

There’s also a great section with advice and how-tos.  Even if this book does nothing but inspire me to keep knitting OTHER sweaters, I think it’s a fine addition to my ever-growing fiber library. 

Next up is Modern Top-Down Knitting.   I’m shocked to tell you how many dresses in this book I want to knit.   No, the cover Jill’s Dress isn’t one of them…  It definitely wouldn’t work on my body, but if you – like me – thought knitted dresses were a joke, you need to at glance at the dresses in this book.  Right now, Mojo isn’t capable of focusing on a super-large project like a dress, but maybe one of these days, it can happen. 

In the meantime, I’m eyeing the Daytona Belt, the Annie Hat, the Mulberry Hat and the Layered Ruffle Sweater, even though I’m not sure I should wear ruffles like that.  I don’t know that I’ve ever done a top-down knitted hat, so that intrigues me, and while a belt isn’t exactly top-down knitting in my world, it is pretty cool and I have been liking belts more this season. 

Oh – and there’s good technical advice in this one too!

Rounding out my gifts – I only had to chip in 25 cents for all three! – is Brave New Knits.  This book is rather unique…  It’s right up my alley.  The designers are bloggers, and there’s a short story with each pattern.  As with cookbooks, I sometimes READ knitting books, so this only encourages the rest of you to join me!

It would be easier for me to tell you which patterns aren’t calling out to me in this book, but instead, I’ll link to the ones I’m most seriously considering today.  Koukla tops the list, even though I’m not sure I look my best in a double-breasted jacket.  I might even have yarn that would work for the Seaweed Vest

The Silke Jacket is stunning, but I think it requires more focus than Mojo can muster right now.  I’ve admired the Woodsmoke Scarf since the first time it showed up in my Rav-stalking, and I really think I could get a lot of use out of it as it gets colder.  It seems to want TRUE solid colors though, and I’m really low on those, and don’t know that I have any in two different colors I see together for my regular use.

In other knitting news, Gretchen and I finished the last panel for the cardi in progress.  Both front panels and the back are now stored away, and I’ll cast on for the sleeves – two at a time – shortly.  Hopefully by weekend’s end, I’ll also see half-way on the scarf sample in  progress, also known as the project that should have been done months ago.

August 2010 019

Practicing her lazy basset look August 2010

Sissy had said she was going to help with this post, but her head is dead weight on my hip and there’s that sleeping basset slime on my pants.  Sigh.  Sweet girl… 

Hope you’re enjoying your weekend!

14 comments on “Brave-Modern-French Books

  1. Walden says:

    Congrats on the books! I have to admit, I have been looking at the Modern Top-down Knitting. Good to hear your positive thoughts.

  2. Sue says:

    The Woodsmoke Scarf is pretty but I adore both those hats. I guess I’ll have to look that book up. I’d love to do a sweater or some garment, but my attention span is too short right now to start something big. Guess I’ll stick with quickie projects for now.

  3. AlisonH says:

    Okay, now my fingers are getting restless and I have a large shawl project (laceweight!) to get done. Stop it, stop it! Heh. Thank you for the inspiration!

  4. Toni says:

    The books caught my attention… the picture of Sissy has caught and stolen my heart. I love love love love her.

    Congrats on the books.. I covet them all!

  5. Marjie says:

    Dead weight on your leg? Isn’t that helping with the post? After all, she’s keeping you in place and on task. Good girl.

  6. I’ve been eyeing “Top Down” too…must be going around? Already queued the Annie Hat. :-) And yes, I actually have knit a top down hat, the Thorpe, and hated it enough to convert to bottom-up on my second go-round with it. So far, weekend as predicted…quiet!

  7. gMarie says:

    OMGoodness – you post on the weekend and I almost miss it! I might have to go shopping! You’re killing me. You know I only suggested books I covet, right? Guess it’s time to stock the shop and get some spending money!

    Can’t wait to see what you and mojo churn out. g

  8. Kristin says:

    You should start an Etsy shop!

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    Oooh….good book selection. I seriously considered getting Brave New Knits, but went with a different one instead. Can’t wait to see what you cast on!

    (Give that sleeping basset a kiss for me.)

  10. Barbara says:

    Wow…you made out like a bandit with your gift card! Love the French Girl Knits and I can’t wait to see what you make!

  11. Kathy says:

    Enjoy your gift of new books. Can’t wait to see finished projects ;).

    Mr. Bettis is swooning over the new pic of Miss Sissy ;)

  12. Anita says:

    Great gifts! I love quite a few patterns in those books too. :) And what? Laying on your leg drooling isn’t helping? I thought it was. LOL

  13. Mary says:

    Ooh, I have Brave New Knits on my “think I might buy” list. As for Ms Sissy’s photo…(man, I just love your dogs), she reminded me of the 40′s actress Veronica Lake…except Sissy doesn’t have bangs over her sexy eyes, just the potential of a floppy ear!

  14. Nichole says:

    I knew you’d love Brave New Knits!

Leave a Reply

