More to Crow About

November 2010 010As if TWO cowls, designed and knitted with me in mind weren’t enough, gMarie‘s package also included two more books in the Tea Shop cozy series we’re both enjoying, and another of her fine dumplin bags.

Don’t you love the chicken wire on the flip side?!   (See it in the long handle?)  I’m crazy about these bags.   You can find yours in her Etsy shop.  Her stock’s a little low right now, but she’s working on the next round!  It’s hard to launch a new shop and your designing career all at the same time, especially when there’s an annoying pay-the-mortgage job that sucks away her valuable, creative, crafting time!

November 2010 007I’m not the only one who likes these bags.  Granted, my inspectors are always on the job, but they’re especially fond of the scents they know from their fans  spoilers  friends who send goodies regularly.   I’m sure they DO smell the west coast hounds, but that just adds to the charm, right?

Now, don’t bother reading ahead if you haven’t read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, or if you don’t give a hoot about things Potterish.   Spoilers abound, so reader beware!

Courtesy of Amazon

This was my second reading, and I’ve never been happier to have re-read a book.  I’d promised a few folks I’d re-read it someday, because as I’ve mentioned more than once, I HATED it the first time.  I believe the words I used back then were something like “It ruined the whole series for me.” 

This time, I was prepared for all the deaths, including those of some of my favorite characters.  I still think JKR didn’t need to kill off both Lupin and Tonks, but I’ve read her defense, and war is awful like that.  It also sets little Teddy up to have his own series one day, with similarities drawn between him and his godfather, the great Harry Potter.   (I’m no longer participating in Harry Potter discussion forums, but I doubt that’s an original notion… it’s just too obvious, especially since Harry himself draws the comparison between himself as Teddy’s godfather and Sirius as his.)

Maybe it was time and distance, or maybe it was simply a matter of knowing what to expect, but this time, I enjoyed every single page of this massive book.  I’m glad she made Dumbledore “human” so to speak.  I loved seeing Molly Weasley, the warrior queen in the final battle.   I’m still no fan of Snape, but we all understand him a lot better at then end of this book.  Like most of the characters, his entire being is a sum of the choices he made, and that’s a theme I really appreciate.  We all have choices, and what we do with them defines us and our lives.

Despite adoring that Harry and Ginny named their second son Albus Severus Potter, I could have done without that epilogue, “19 Years Later.”  I would rather have seen what Narcissa Black Malfoy and Draco did after the battle.  I wanted to see them make GOOD choices.  I would have rather seen “Cissy” leave Lucius and Malfoy Manor to move in with Draco and whomever he married, or maybe she could have bought a place on the same street as her OTHER sister, Andromeda and helped raise her orphaned great-nephew.  (Why yes, I do realize I just basically said I wanted Cissy to pull up stake and buy an unassuming house in a Muggle community!)

Did Bellatrix kill her own niece (Tonks) and that niece’s husband (Lupin)?  I’d like to know, and I wouldn’t doubt it for a minute.  I don’t think Narcissa or Draco had that blood lust in them.  I wanted to see one or both of them redeemed.  Sure, sure, you can argue that without Narcissa’s Harry-faced lie, Voldemort might have won and the book would have had a rotten, no-good, awful ending, but I wanted more.  That was still a whispered secret, and while I’m sure any surviving Death Eaters suspect Narcissa betrayed their cause, I wanted MORE. 

How ’bout you?  Share your thoughts on the series and the end with me.  Are you going to the movie this weekend?  I probably won’t.  I stand a chance of dragging the Knight along if I don’t ask him to go on an opening weekend.

13 comments on “More to Crow About

  1. Sue says:

    G’s bags are so cute. I, too, love the chicken wire lining.

    I’m not a HP fan, didn’t read any of the books, saw the first movie, but my best friend, Sue, is. She just got two new kittens last week, a white one that she named Lupin and a black one named Sirius. I’m waiting for pictures.

  2. kathy says:

    It took a lot of willpower, but I didn’t read beyond the bag info. It’s been too busy here to have much reading time so I’m still in the midst of Harry Potter. But the good news is this busyness means I won’t be able to see the movie this weekend, thus giving me more time to finish the book.

  3. gMarie says:

    ::blushing:: thank you.

    I’m heading to re-read HP from the beginning once I finish the tea shop books. I’ll come back and read the spoilers afterwards. g

  4. Nichole says:

    What a great bag – love the chicken wire touch!

  5. Marjie says:

    G makes such great stuff. Glad she’s gotten her Etsy shop going. Darn the job, getting in the way of real life!

  6. Julie says:

    Ya go away for a few blog entries, and miss SO much!!! Those cowls are wonderful. And for MJ, Happy belated. As for this entry, the bag’s the thing!!! GREAT! I will send my best to G. Don’t read or watch HP. Thanks Chan.

  7. I don’t know why, but I thought you were all caught up on the Tea Shop mysteries….haven’t read HP since I finished the last book for the first time. No time to do so now, before the movie comes out, either, so I shall reserve the right to do so after that fact! Which means, btw, that I cannot answer you questions at this time. 🙂

  8. AlisonH says:

    Love how your photo matched the handle of that cute bag to the background! Well done!

    And now I need to go back and reread the whole entire series, right now. Or at least I want to.

  9. Amy says:

    I totally understand what you mean about the last book, but I have to disagree. I really liked the ending, and all the drama that led up to that point from page one. I love that J.K. didn’t hold back and killed some major characters. Now, I could have done without Hedwig biting the bullet, but still.

    I want to try to re-read it, but I just picked up the first two books in the Cirque de Freak series.

  10. Anita says:

    Awww, I love the rooster bag!

    Meh, I never got into the whole HP thing. I read the first book cause Levi had it, wasn’t grabbed by that bug. And I tried to watch a couple of the movies, wasn’t into those either. Go figure….

  11. Mary says:

    Love the rooster bag! As for HP…well, I work with enough scarry folks that I find no need to read about them. Ha! Actually, I have to be careful what I read/watch or I suffer nightmares.

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    I can’t wait till G gets more of her bags made. 🙂 I think they’re adorable.

  13. Walden says:

    Tried to read the Potter books before and just can’t get through the way she writes. I am thinking about getting the audio book though as I do love the stories and I know I am missing tons by only watching the movies.

Leave a Reply

