Step 1

Happy Dogs on Thursday, little friday and Thankful Thursday!  Gretchen blogged a bit about coats over on their blog, but I have a kinda’ dog related post of my own. 

McCall's pattern M5902

See that top left, back seat cover?  The Knight found that pattern while we were in the fabric/craft section of a big box store over the weekend.  (No, I most surely did not lead him over there.  The wife part of the couple we were with sews, and the men came to find us.  I was looking at buttons.)

I now own a sewing pattern and a sewing machine that isn’t living with me right now, so I think that means I’m gonna’ hafta’ learn to sew.   The Knight seems quite certain I can cobble together some fleece, hems, and the ties to secure said cover to the seats.  He even thinks I can add flapps on the sides, but I’m sure he’s pushing his luck.  I might have even grumbled that if he thinks it looks so easy, HE could have at it…

No fabric has been purchased.  Don’t rush the process.

So, those of you who sew… what say you?  Is that a realistic first project?  I like it, because the ironing part of sewing turns me off, and I’m pretty sure I’m not supposed to iron that thick, furry fabric I envision making the cover out of…

The Knight even offered to buy me a new sewing machine, but I don’t think that’s necessary.  Might increase expectations, if nothing else.

Can you believe Thanksgiving is next week?!  I’m thankful to still have a job…  With all the talk of the economy improving, the lay-offs seem to be hitting closer to home for me right now, and even more of my friends are truly unhappy with their jobs…

On a happier note, I’m so thankful for friends who give me that nudge when I need it.   Sometimes, I need to be challenged!

What are you thankful for today?

17 comments on “Step 1

  1. kn1tty cat says:

    looks like a must have pattern for me… 🙂

  2. gMarie says:

    Without sounding like I know it all – you could certainly do this. Seams don’t have to be straight and fleece is very forgiving. I will just say that I also hate ironing with a white hot passion – but, pressing while sewing is a completely different matter than ‘ironing your clothes’. Trust me on this one.

    As for thankfuls – I am full of them today! Will be posting some soon. g

  3. anniebananie says:

    We can make this. It’s straight line sewing, and if I can’t get your machine to work, we can use mine. I would suggest, when purchasing the fabric to not buy the thick polar fleece, but instead use a flannel. It’s thinner, and we can make it double sided.

  4. Nichole says:

    It does look like a nifty seat cover!
    Why do men always say ‘this looks easy…. here, you do it” ???? sigh.

  5. Sue says:

    You can do it. No fitting, just straight seams and if you have a wobble or a goof, Sissy and Gretchen aren’t going to mind. Fleece is nice to work with, too.

  6. Blond Duck says:

    Personalized doggie seats! Love it!

  7. Barbara says:

    If I can sew, YOU definitely can sew!! Anyone who plies needles like you do will be a natural. I actually used to make pillows, quilts and Halloween costumes. It’s the one thing they taught us in home ec.

    I am thankful this week is almost over! 🙂

  8. Kathy says:

    And like G I don’t mean to sound like a know-it-all either. Don’t iron the fleece, you may end up with a melted mess. And seams don’t need to be perfect. The girls will like it just because their ‘mama’ made it ;).
    As for the Knight? Well his counterpart lives here :(with more advice than I need on any given craft. I’d like to see those two ‘whip up’ a project….LOL

    Thankful? I am so thankful for so many things there’s not enough room but I’ll start with a good husband (after many years of training ;)), beautiful daughters and FANTASTIC friends and my faith.

  9. Marjie says:

    Fleece doesn’t need hemming. This should be an easy thing to make. I know you can do it. For the ties, buy a package of seam binding. It’s strong, pre folded, and you just cut whatever length you need. I support your supporters!

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    I’d say that would be a suitable project. It doesn’t have to be perfect and it would serve well to get you associated with your machine again.

  11. Yes, you can do that! As to the thankfuls…you’ve already been out to see them on the blog. 🙂

  12. km says:

    Do it! It will be so fun!

    Even when it seems we have so little, I’m learning there’s so much to be thankful for. I’ve been reading about the first Thanksgiving…and the Pilgrims are inspiring me so much.

  13. Darcy says:

    So cute betcha can make it:)
    Thankful for good friends:)
    I have been having tests and ultrasound very fatigued know results next week been resting alot.Hugs Darcy

  14. Mary says:

    I have a store-bought version of the dog/car hammock in heavy canvas (needed asap or I might have made it myself). I know you can do it, but not sure fleece is strong enough, unless, as it is doubled or one side is fleece and the other something a bit stronger. My two big dogs would have stomped right through a piece of fleece. And one of them is Houdini reincarnated as a dog…he escaped a full harness linked to the seatbelt and the hammock! But give it a try. I made my granddog (Great Dane)his humongous dog bed with fleece on one side and heavy sailcloth on the other and it has weathered his stomping and circling for a year now.

  15. Amy says:

    Bubbleknits is right – no hemming with fleece. I think it looks easy! You will do fine – much better than I did with my first sewing project, which was my first Civil War day dress!

  16. Anita says:

    I have a sewing machine & know about as much as you do yours. LOL Good luck! I’m sure you can do it if you put your mind to it. And you know that if the Knight decided that he was gonna make the dang thing himself that he would do a really good job of it. SNOL Then he would just gloat. 🙂

  17. Dianne says:

    I love that pattern! I think it is a great first project for you!!!

Leave a Reply

