Not for Gg…

Before I launch into my finished object report, please visit the fur-girls’ blog.  They’re stumping for a new friend who is currently second place in a contest…

My weekend was every bit as quiet as I’d planned, in no small part because I’d forgotten I had TWO obligations Sunday afternoon/evening.  Hem.  I did get the Christmas cards ordered, but no peeking! 

DSCN1737I also whipped out a quick sweater for Abby.   Remember her?  She used to be a neighbor, she took basic obedience with Sissy, her dad is the Knight’s assistant…

She’s a chihuahua, but she’s actually a smidge bigger than Gretchen Greer (Gg).  Abby is big for her breed standard, and Gg is rather small for hers.   They’re shaped very differently though, so Gretch was a very reluctant model.

November 2010 005

Abby’s 2010 Sweater

Borrowed from Amazon

Pattern:  Bulky Knit Turtleneck Sweater from Stylish Knits for Dogs.   The subtitle says 36 Projects to Knit in a Weekend and if this project is any reflection of the rest of the content, knit in an afternoon is more accurate.

For Abby’s measurements, I chose the medium size, but then knitted on slightly smaller needles.  It’s a VERY quick, easy knit. 

The only modifications I did was to eliminate half the length in the turtleneck –  Abby doesn’t have much of a neck, and just in case she needs to wear a leash with this, it’ll be easier to negotiate the “mock turtleneck” I used – and to knit one, SSK then knit to the last three stitches of the row, K2tog, knit one rather than the K2tog at the beginning and end of each knit row as the pattern stated on the chest piece.  It gave it that definition you see on Gg’s chest.

November 2010 003

Yarn:  Bernat Softee Chunky Twists, in Tawny Rose.  Thank you Bernat.  I love a pretty colorway name!

November 2010 004Needles:  My zebra wood #9 straights.  That’s a whole 3 sizes smaller than what the pattern suggested, but I went down one size because I knit loosely, and then I didn’t have any #10 straights, so…

Verdict:  It’s very bulky, but Abby has other sweaters, and this one will keep her warm!  Gretchen has asked that I not knit her one from this pattern, because it’s a little… spartan for her tastes.  However, if ever I need to crank out another dog sweater in no time at all, I’ll reach for this pattern again.  (Did I mention that I was supposed to have knitted Abby’s sweater in EARLY 2010?)

So, that’s about it from my low-keyed weekend.  What did you do?

15 comments on “Not for Gg…

  1. kn1tty cat says:

    We think GG looks lovely modeling the Spartan Mock Turtleneck sweater – it shows off the definition of her shoulder muscles…
    I knit and knit on sock number 2 as well as the multiple and aborted casting ons for Argante. My Sunday was super quiet (and I did not even miss anything – um ;^P

  2. Sue says:

    I love that book. I’ve made lots of sweaters from it and they’re all fast and fun. That yarn will look great with Abby’s coloring. Morgan thinks I should knit her a sweater next. I have some bright colored bulky yarn that would be pretty for her.

  3. Kristin says:

    We haven’t even taken the photos for our Christmas card, much less ordered them yet. How behind am I? EEEK!

  4. km says:

    What a lovely doggy sweater. My neighbor had a chi-wennei (sp) that she’s trying to get us to take. Anna is a sweet thing, but she’s big for her chihuahua half so I know what you mean about big for her breed. My kids are begging us to keep Anna, but we can’t afford another mouth to feed.

  5. gMarie says:

    I do remember Abby and I think it’s lovely you knit her sweater. I say crank out her 2011 sweater now while you are on a roll!

    MY weekend – Saturday was hectic, Sunday was lovely – but long. Dinner was perfect! Pumpkin bread pudding – lovely – even JB liked it and he doesn’t like bread pudding. Mrs. Doc asked for recipe.

    It’s really snowing now – my dogs are home with inside/outside access and prime rib bones. g

  6. Ruth says:

    Little dogs DO come in a variety of shapes and sizes, don’t they? Nice of Gretchen to condescend to model for you, even tho it isn’t quite her best fit.

  7. anniebananie says:

    I love the sweater. It is adorable! Unfortunately, I have been sick this weekend with a head cold, and even more unfortunately, I still have it. No knitting was done this weekend, very little laundry, and even less moving. In fact, I spent nearly all of yesterday in bed (which is where I will be after G’s LAX today).

  8. Blond Duck says:

    Woot for Chihuahua sweaters!

  9. AlisonH says:

    That’s so cute! Maybe I could knit a squirrel sweater–okay, you guys, hold still and model this for me…

  10. Barbara says:

    No, Gretchen does not look at all pleased. But it sure is a cute sweater and will keep Abby toasty.

  11. Anita says:

    That sweater is totally cute! And I think it looks adorable on Gretchie. 🙂

    I had the whole weekend off for a change & Kevin was hunting so I got a lot of crafting done. And laundry. I really enjoyed it. Then Brant closed the store today & took us all fishing, I caught a 62 lb. wahoo! Hope to get some of the photos tomorrow so everyone can see. I’m pooped, it was a long day but fun.

    Sounds like you had a nice, relaxing weekend too.

  12. Kathy says:

    Very cute sweater and poor Gg certainly does not look happy modeling today.

    *sigh* now you’ve done it. I own that book and Mr. B thinks he needs a sweater. He can keep on thinking because I’m not knitting a sweater for the big oaf. He’d probably tear a hole in it after his morning racing stint…;)

  13. Nichole says:

    Awww… cute sweater for Abby! 🙂

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    Love Abby’s new sweater! I have to admit, though…Gretchen does look a little unamused by it’s lack of flair. ; )

    My weekend was spent feeling like poo. I’ve got this upper respiratory crud that’s going around and it put me on my butt. I’m over the worst of it, but I still have zero energy and with all the hacking, I sound like a 60 year old smoker. LOL Finally catching up on blogs today. =)

Leave a Reply

