My December Plan

Happy December!  It’s a very busy month in most of our lives, and it is extra hectic for me because several friends and relations have birthdays this month too. 

In fact, tomorrow is the Knight’s birthday.  Help!!!  (Seriously.)  I have a card, but I don’t even have a gag gift for him.  We’re both rotten about buying what we want when we want it, and there’s nothing, absolutely nothing he needs or wants.

DSCN2457

OBX December 2009

I know he wants beach time with his fur-girls, and that’s coming – finally – along with meals at all of our favorite spots down there, but I’d kinda’ like to have something for him to unwrap tomorrow.   We arrived at this last-minute mess because I was sure the right thing would pop into my head… but it hasn’t.

I will be knitting him another pair of house socks while we’re at the beach.  Should I just wrap the yarn up?

Mr & Mrs Larry Sprouse #7

Sister & brother inlaw on their wedding day

I won’t even try to mention all of my friends whose birthdays fall in December, but my sister’s birthday is also later this month, as is that of a favorite cousin of the Knight’s, the same cousin’s daughter, the inlaws’ anniversary and I think that’s it for FAMILY birthdays this month!   Luckily, my sister is awesome and offered to share her birthday dinner with the Knight, so I just have to get with my brother inlaw and make a plan…

So.  With all that in mind, it is my hope that once I have the next week or so under my belt, my Christmas spirit will make itself known.   In the meantime, I still have to get my Christmas cards in the mail, attend my first holiday party tomorrow night…

And make a baking list and schedule.  What’s on your “if I don’t have it, it won’t feel like Christmas!” list?  I know that my family pouts – audibly – when I don’t bake certain things.   Will you share that special holiday tradition recipe with me?  I’ll do a special post soon…  because THE cookie swap is one week from tomorrow!

Oh – and don’t miss Nichole’s latest review.  I want this book!!  I have all this sock yarn and no sock mojo…  Any books on your Christmas – or Hanukkah or Winter Solstice or whatever you might celebrate – list?

This entry was posted in Family.

17 comments on “My December Plan

  1. gMarie says:

    Lots of questions in that post – hmmm, if won’t feel like Christmas without…. ::advent calendar::ceramic reindeer::santa puzzle:: That’s about it for us – I’m campagning to get JB out to see more light displays and he’s agreed to a few. I’ll schlep my new camera downtown and go see the gingerbread houses.

    Books on my ‘gotta have it list’. The 2 most recent that you got! top down and something else …. g

  2. Sue says:

    Since I do my shopping online, I like to just stroll through the stores and see the lights and hear the music and watch the shoppers. Then stop for some hot chocolate. We’ll probably do a little of that this weekend. I want to start making cookies this week, too.

    I always have books on my list, hundreds of them.

  3. Robin in VA says:

    Happy Birthday Knight…sure, go ahead and wrap the yarn–I would!! Then again, I have a little of my Dad’s procrastination issues!

  4. gMarie says:

    Oh – I forgot about the windows. Detoured by Nordy’s this morning and their windows are good! I need to schlep my camera downtown – which is why I got it – so I could carry it with me. :\ g

  5. AlisonH says:

    Looking at my stash, I have all these gifts! Some assembly required. Umm. Meantime, happy birthday, Sir Knight!

  6. Kristyn says:

    My husband will pout if I don’t make cut out/frosted/decorated sugar cookies. I HATE them!! Well I like to EAT them I hate making them.

  7. Blond Duck says:

    Pecan Pie, apple pie, hello dollies and apple german pie for my in-laws and pumpkin bread.

  8. Nichole says:

    FB just reminded me of the Knight’s birthday tomorrow… 😉 Sure, you can wrap up the yarn! I had to run out b/c while I have the gifts for M’s bday this weekend, I had forgotten the card. Sophie’s cake has been purchased for Monday and when I get a couple cards in the mail tomorrow, I think that most everything will be taken care of for Dec bdays…. Christmas cards next week!

  9. km says:

    If we were buying just because…M would love the watch gear cuff links at Red Envelope. I love their unusual gifts. I think you could find nice stuff for the Knight at Duluth http://www.duluthtrading.com/ They have stockings made of fire hose material. :0)

    My Gram would bake 3 kinds of cookies/week up until Christmas. I love them all…but I’m not sure what I’ll make this year since they all have flour. I’m going to try macaroons (the french kind) because they are made with ground almonds and egg whites.

    Oh…and we usually make some peppermint bark. Yum!

  10. Marjie says:

    I don’t have anything I can get my dearly beloved, either. The kids all call him that day, and that’s all he needs. Our traditions include a gingerbread house and train that we bake (Pampered Chef molds) and the little boys assemble with older kids joining in as the spirit moves them on Christmas Eve. Good luck with your gift selection.

    I have 6 birthdays between Thanksgiving and Valentine’s day, most before Jan. 10. Any clue yet why I call this the Grand Celebratory Season? Can we all say “hectic” together? Seriously, as busy as it is, it’s nice that everything happens at once, when my brain is in gifting gear.

  11. lacey says:

    WOW, you are busy. Give the Knight a coupon for a hug a kiss and a little lovin on the side!!!

  12. Mr. Puffy says:

    I would have a nice cake (with candles) and a nice card and wrap up the yarn and he’ll feel very spoiled and lucky 🙂 Steve and I are much the same and birthdays tend to pass with barely a nod but we do have a nice birthday cake and dinner.

    I baked my English Christmas cake last weekend and I’ll probably bake up my Gingerbread men (blogged a couple years ago) soon and a whole host of other stuff!

    Looking forward to seeing what’s on the cookie exchange list 🙂

  13. Terrie says:

    Nathan’s birthday is next month, and I’m not sure what to get for him, either. I think wrapping up sock yarn for the Knight sounds like a great idea! You certainly sound like you have a busy month! Happy December 🙂

  14. I got myself the Itty Bitty Toys book, so excited about making the Lamb. I’ve mentioned that before though 🙂 Happy Birthday to the Knight and your sister and every other December birthday!

  15. Kathy says:

    Hope you enjoy your peaceful and relaxing little holiday at the beach :). Happy Birthday to the Knight and all your family.

    If I don’t have my breakfast casserole and homemade sweet rolls on Christmas morning along with the very lo-o-o-ong cookie list baked it won’t feel like Christmas (at least that’s what the little family says ;).

    THAT book is on my list…lol Seriously, I hope you win so you can get that sock stash under control..;)

  16. Mary says:

    Happy B-Day, Knight! Have a great time in OBX. Having Chan and and the fur-girls together at the beach will be present that truly counts.

    Now all the kids are grown and married, we change up Christmas dinner each year by basing it on the traditions of other countries: Germany, UK, Italy, etc. This year it will be Joyeux Noël…although we haven’t put together the menu yet. We also research the country’s cultural Christmas traditions (like the Italians putting a note of appreciation under parent’s dinner plate–that turned into a lovely gift) and share them on Christmas Day.

  17. Bubblesknits says:

    It’s not Christmas for me until the decorations are put up and the weather gets good and chilly. Considering we’re back up in the 60’s today, I’m half way there. lol

Leave a Reply

