Stepping In

DSC01253

Worried gal fall 2009

Gretchen here.   Mama will be out of commission for a few days.  Please forgive her if she doesn’t leave a comment on your blog, and overlook the typos if she does…

She “shaved” off her nail and part of her left middle finger last night while making THESE.  They were quite tasty, and if you use a proper cheese knife instead of something too sharp for the job, I’m sure you’ll whip them up in no time, without incident.

Photo courtesy of Pampered Chef

Mama had planned a whole post on the Honey-Apple Brie Bites, but I don’t see that happening.   Have a great weekend, and Mama’ll be back soon enough.  She really is fine…  I promise. 

Oh – and Sissy might have a silly nurse’s hat, but she’s not much on tending to the injured.  I had to press up against Mama’s legs while she tried to stop the bleeding and put away the brie so Sissy wouldn’t eat it while she took care of herself.  I’m a worrier, you know…

Have a great weekend, and a great week next week.  Dadaw and I will take great care of Mama!

27 comments on “Stepping In

  1. gMarie says:

    Good girl GG! You really are a special little helper – protecting momma like that. Now to follow the recipe link – might be good to take to knitting – you know, now that I’m ‘dieting’ again. g

  2. Sue says:

    Sorry, but I had to laugh at the image of “Nurse Sissy” stealing the cheese while everyone is taking care of Mom. That girl thinks like a Portie.
    Sue

  3. Mary says:

    Oh, no!!! Take good care of Mama, Gretchen, and tell her not to use that (injured) middle finger to express herself anytime soon!

    Oh, yeah, now you can tell HER to HEAL!

  4. Marjie says:

    I had an infected finger last week that swelled up as big as a spoon, so I sympathize with your Mama. Take good care of her; she will need doggie hugs galore.

    And don’t let Sissy have any more cheese. Mama will need something to eat while she heals!

  5. StarSpry says:

    Yikes! I hope she gets better very soon!! You’re a very sweet girl for taking care of her, Gretchen. I love the picture of you with that PANK sweater 🙂

  6. Tell Mama I wish her well!!!

  7. Dianne says:

    OUCH!!! We hope your momma heals quickly!

    Emma, Tara and Cooper

  8. AlisonH says:

    Oh, CHAN! I’m sorry! Yowch.

    You made me look. Okay, if it’s that hard to find the scar, it’s as good as not there. Anyway, I did something like that years ago and had to have a doctor sew my fingertip back from being most of the way gone. No nerves in it, but it’s there, at least.

  9. Walden121 says:

    Ow! So sorry, hope it heals quickly!! Good thing you had such a good helper.

  10. Thank goodness for Nurse Greer! I’m sure she won’t let you over-do it for a few days. Glad your hand is in good paws.

  11. Kathy says:

    Mr. Bettis here:

    Dear Gretchen,
    The wee ones are much better at ‘tending’ caretakers. Ya’ll are a fussy bunch. Miss Sissy has more important things to do (not that she doesn’t care, she’s just a busy pup). She must protect everyone from those squirrely squirrels and other things that go bump in the night.
    We’ll miss ‘talking’ to your mama while she’s recuperating ;). We hope she’s feeling better soon.
    Shake a paw,
    Mr. Bettis & Co.

  12. Bridget says:

    Gretchen, it’s good that your mama has you to be her caretaker. ‘Cause when I read what happened, I thought OUCH! Tell her to take it easy and I hope your whole family has a nice weekend.

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    I’ll say it again. OUCH OUCH OUCH!!! That makes me cringe just thinking about it. The hubster keeps his knives super duper sharp, too, and I’m terrified to use them.

  14. lacey says:

    Ooooooooo! I hope your finger is ok. I am wincing at the thought of it. I hope your girls and the knight take good care of you!

  15. Robin in VA says:

    GG…tell Momma to get better and you make sure Nurse Sissy isn’t laying down on the job!! Great recipe!!

  16. Anita says:

    ACK! I know that hurt like he!!
    I hope you are feeling better now. Stay away from the sharp objects! 😛

  17. Knittysue says:

    OHHHH OUCH! I really hope the pain is subsiding…take care.

  18. Anniebananie says:

    Oh Chan! I am so sorry!!! Please take care and have Gretchen let me know if you need anything at all.

    Gretchen – be nice to Sissy. Although you ARE the better nurse, she does look adorable in her nurse’s cap. Also, make sure that Dadaw takes good care of chan. Oh, and Gretch – stay out of mama’s roving while she is out of commission, okay???

    xoxoxo

  19. km says:

    Kitchen injuries are the worst. It will be hard not to type…but I hope you can still knit!

  20. Blond Duck says:

    I’m cringing just hearing about it! Feel better!

  21. kathy b says:

    Gretchen honey you are such a good girl. Lick her wound, I believe it helps! My thumb is still trying to heal

  22. Mr. Puffy says:

    OMG!!! I’m so sorry to hear about your injury. They say and I believe it that your kitchen is the most dangerous place you can be. I think about that when I teeter on a chair changing light bulbs.

    My dad cut off part of his finger once and we girls (including my mother) were all traumatized by the incident. A neighbor had to step in and call for an ambulance, etc. I completely relate to Gretchen and give her a hug for me. Hope it’s just a minor scrape and nothing too serious…..

  23. Nichole says:

    OUCH! So sorry to hear… hugs… and did I already say, OUCH!?!?! Glad the girls are there to look after you… and clean up any cheese you might’ve dropped in the process. Heal soon!

  24. Holy smokes, good thing we have the dogs to do our bidding when we are out of commission! Hope you get better soon, Chan. That injury just sounds icky!

  25. Kristin says:

    OUCH. Hope you feel better soon! At least they look delicious. HA!

  26. Julie says:

    Wowza! Not worth it! Here’s healing coming your way, prayers and all.

  27. Gretchen, give Mama big hugs 🙂 I hope she is feeling better soon!!

    Take care Chan!!

Leave a Reply

