To Brussels with Love

Seems Yahoo and Flickr are having serious issues, so today you get the recipe that made me love brussel sprouts, since everything else requires Flickr’s cooperation.

Gretchen did a nice Thank You note post about her new favorite toy.  I guess Sissy’s allergy eyes are still bothering her, because I know she was grateful enough to write her own note…  Hem. 

So, about those brussel sprouts.  I’ve always loved cabbage, cooked, raw, or otherwise, but my whole life, people have been trying to convince me that I like brussel sprouts.  I’ve tried them, but they were always bitter, slimy, mushy on the outside and firm on the inside and just generally unappealing.

Until I unknowingly met them Black Pelican style.   No, I wouldn’t have intentionally ordered them, not even there – our favorite restaurant in the Outer Banks – but they came disguised as vegetable du jour.  We never bothered to ask, because everything there is always fabulous.  The Knight had one dry heave when he saw them, and immediately began isolating them from his mashed potatoes.

Photo courtesy of Wikipedia

I remembered that Anita swore I’d just never had properly prepared “BS”, so after swallowing hard and mentally pinching my nose, I speared the smallest half of one sprout I saw and prepared for the worst.  Instead, there was a little happy dance in my mouth, and I barely minded my manners and swallowed before I said a little too loudly in an off-season dining room, “OH MY!”

The Knight looked concerned.  I’m allergic to scallops, so when we’re near seafood, there’s always a chance…  I immediately launched into an explanation, begging him to try…  Oh well.  More for me, right?!

I’ve never had much success asking for recipes when I fall in love at a restaurant, but OBX does Southern style hospitality, so I wasn’t shocked when the manager happily bobbed back to the kitchen and came back with detailed instructions, and then thanked ME for liking them enough to ask!  Since I’m not a big-time blogger and no one said anything about not sharing, you know I have to pass it along, just in case one of you actually likes brussel sprouts too.

Start with fresh, small brussel sprouts.  Boil the sprouts until just tender, then remove then to a cold “bath”.  Slice each in half.  In a metal saucepan, heat up a liberal quantity of olive oil.  Add some fresh, chopped garlic, and as soon as the garlic beings to brown, quickly toss the sprouts in, removing immediately from the heat.  Add sea salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste.  Serve immediately.

I think I need some tonight!  If you want a proper recipe, I think this one is pretty close.

13 comments on “To Brussels with Love

  1. Yum! I’m already a fan of ‘BS”, so this sounds great to me!

  2. Nichole says:

    They sound delish! I never thought I’d like them either until I had some wonderfully prepared ones with a pre-concert show meal that was preordered. I’ve found one brand of frozen ones that aren’t bad, but this sounds wonderful!

  3. gMarie says:

    Oh I’m a fan and I love them steamed or roasted. I’ll be trying this – this week as I have some in the fridge. I also want to try Emeril’s recipe with the bacon and onions. g

  4. Marjie says:

    What was not a proper recipe about your recitation? That’s exactly how I cook. You have no idea how hard it is for me to translate that methodology into cups and teaspoons! I think I will try this, because no one in this house has ever eaten brussels sprouts to my knowledge!

  5. Sue says:

    Rob has always liked them and I always felt the way you did. Then I found a recipe using mustard. I don’t remember what else, I’d have to look it up, but I love mustard and it took disguised the bitterness, so I could enjoy them, too.

  6. between your injury and me being ill I feel like I spent a bunch of time getting caught up with you. Did you ever see I posted the Orange Date Bar Recipe for you? Looking at what you plan to make reminded me, I will be thrilled if I make sugar cookies this year, just to feel like I did something and then give them away

    Hope your finger is all healed nicely!!!

  7. Mr. Puffy says:

    Delish!!! I love BS (the baby ones) and cook them similar to this method. I also toss in some pecans and that’s a nice touch. It’s a Martha Stewart recipe if memory serves.

  8. Blond Duck says:

    I’ve never had brussel sprouts.

  9. kathy b says:

    I fell inlove with them this very year too!!!! BRussels yum!

    Hows the finger?

  10. Kathy says:

    Not a fan of BS but would try them again if the recipe was good and this one sounds delish.
    The DH wouldn’t touch ’em.

  11. Barbara S. says:

    I love fresh Brussels, especially cut in half the long way, tossed in a wee bit of olive oil (infused with garlic is even better), sprinkled with a little bit of kosher salt and roasted at 400-450 until just tender and slightly browned on the edges. (As for frozen Brussels, those can stay in the freezer case at the store!)
    I am going to give your recipe a try very soon.

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    Mmm…the hubster and I have been wanting to try brussel sprouts for a while. This sounds like a recipe that we would both enjoy. I’ll pass it along to the “house chef”. LOL

  13. Anita says:

    Squeeee! See, I told you! 🙂 Now I want to go get some & cook ’em up. LOL I’ll have to try this one too.

Leave a Reply

