Gingerbread Gifts

Happy dogs on Thursday, little friday and Thankful Thursday!  Gretchen does me proud…  she has a thank you post up on their blog for another package we got in the mail.

2477067_2477145_2477186

Photo borrowed from Pier 1

Huh.  I thought I had photos of a special little package a Ravelry friend sent me, but I don’t.  Just envision a gingerbread-colored handknit cloth with a gingerbread man motif…  and then this awesome gingerbread soap from Pier 1 Imports.   I love it!!  Puts me in the holiday spirit every time I take a shower, but it also makes me crave gingerbread!  There were a couple of other goodies too, but that’s the terribly exciting part. 

Because it’s Thursday, I’ll flash a couple of photos from the beach.  I’m so thankful that we have the beach house to retreat to when we need to recharge and decompress.  This trip was very low-keyed…  We didn’t catch up with any of our local friends, but “Aunt Sus” did come down for lunch one day (Gretchen blogged about it here), but that was all the visiting we did. 

It was BITTER cold; it snowed the night we drove down, but the Knight wouldn’t stop for photos.  I knew you’d love to see snow on the palm trees, but my driver wouldn’t cooperate.  Anyway, it was awfully windy the whole time, so we never walked on the beach.  It was all any of us wanted to do just walking the fur-girls long enough to do their business.

December 2010 003

They were doing some major renovations next door, and Sis had a great time just watching.  Funny girl!

December 2010 004

Don't mind the bird poo on the screen... hem...

Gretchen was frustrated because she couldn’t see.  Since the sea blows in on the furniture on the front porch, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to let her stand on the table out there.  Does anyone else see a queen surveying her kingdom?

I’m also really thankful that the Knight went to Wisconsin and back without incident, and that we have snow this morning.   Why yes, I am six years old and just watching it snow makes my day!

12 comments on “Gingerbread Gifts

  1. Nichole says:

    Sounds like a great gift! 🙂 And it sounds like you had the same SUPER-DUPER windy, frigid weather we had while in Newport, RI… although we did make it a point to walk down to the pier … once. And we walked the shops a little bit… once. Other than that it was driving to all spots. Great pics of the girls!

  2. Marjie says:

    I think you had the right idea, staying inside while it was cold. But at least the construction next door gave the girls some entertainment! Glad your Knight made it back before the snow blew in, and I’m also glad you’re enjoying it. I don’t want any until next Friday!

  3. Sue says:

    I love how nosy dogs are. It keeps them entertained anyway.

    We have snowflakes in the air, but they’re not landing. It does seem more
    holiday-ish than last year.

  4. gMarie says:

    What a fun cloth! And the gingerbread man soap is too cute. You are very blessed with special friends.

    The photos of the girls are adorable. I too love to just sit and watch the snow – nothing *6* about it! g

  5. I love both the idea of the little Queen looking out over her kingdome and you as a six yr old! Getting a giggle out of Sissy snooping on the neighbors, too. That ggrl needs a gosspic fence!

  6. anniebananie says:

    I simply adore the pictures of the fur girls. Tell them that Aunty Ann misses them and will bring them Sticks French Fries very soon!

    I’m liking the snow too. 🙂

  7. AlisonH says:

    Or is that the splat effect of a bird trying to escape a predator?

    Re the palm trees: come out here this time of year, when they have Christmas lights in them. Nonpsychodegradeable.

  8. no snow here and even the prediction for sunday is now not happening, another not white Christmas in Jersey

    after that I could care if it ever snows!!!

  9. Mr. Puffy says:

    Sissy really does look interested in the goings on next door – LOL Nice pictures of both of them 🙂

    Go ahead and be a kid forever ~ why stop? Enjoy your snow day ~ and gingerbread goodies!!! I’m snacking on German Spice Cookies – yum – which is sorta like gingerbread.

  10. Anita says:

    Love the photos of the girls, especially of the one of Sissy looking longingly out the window. Sweet. 🙂

    You got snow! I’m so jealous!

  11. Barbara says:

    Do the girls like visiting the beach house? They look like they do…new things to look at outside.

    I always loved the snow…at least when it was fresh and white and I was inside and warm. And then….slush and dirt. I remember it well.

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    Love seeing pictures of your girls. I’m hoping I can talk the hubster into adding to our little family. (In a canine capacity, that is.)

Leave a Reply

