White Christmas?

I don’t want to jinx it by talking too much about it, but snowfall on Christmas Day?  Oh how that would delight me…

DSC01553

Winter 2009

Last year, we had snow on the ground for Christmas, but I can’t remember the last time snow fell on Christmas.   The fur-girls have made the adjustment to snow on the ground, as the bit we got last week hasn’t gone anywhere.  They still don’t seem to really LOVE the snow the way the boy-dogs did, but I’ll take a not hating it if that’s all I can get.

Photos with Santa went well.  I have a couple of cute shots to share, once IT Dude emails me.   We printed roughly 90 photos, with roughly 90 children seeing Santa.  There were some families that got more than one shot, and others who only took one photo of several kids, so it balanced out very closely. 

Photo stolen from Ann because I know she won't sue me

I still want a gingerbread house decorating party.  I think next year, I’m going to host one at the station.  The training room has these great, narrow, long tables that would allow each person plenty of room to work.  I know Grace and Ann both have gingerbread house decorating party experience, so any advice would be appreciated.  I’m thinking I’ll buy kits for the first one, and then maybe partner with a local bakery the following year.  My main goal is fun, but I do hate that podunk doesn’t seem to have a gingerbread festival for the public to see. 

How are your holiday preparations and celebrations going?

14 comments on “White Christmas?

  1. Sue says:

    I’ve always wanted to make a gingerbread house, but it seems like too big a project. Maybe a kit is the way to go. Anyway, I love to heat warm gingerbread with whipped cream. That sounds like a good Christmas day dessert.

    We’re ready for Santa. Morgan has her stitches out this morning and I hope to do some baking this week, but all else is ready. I hope you get your snow, we may get some on Thursday. Haven’t heard a forecast for the weekend yet.

  2. gMarie says:

    Hmmm – I would love snowfall on Christmas, however right now my christmas wish is to not be married to an ass. Why yes – I did just say that out loud and in public!

    I’ve never made a gingerbread house, not from a kit or anything. Hmmm – maybe I should work on that.

    Christmas prep – mostly done. One more embroidery project to do, one box to mail tomorrow (thank you USPS flat rate boxes!), wrapping. Decorated the house yesterday, still need to clean, menu plan and grocery shop. 🙂 g

  3. Nichole says:

    A gingerbread party would be FUN!

  4. anniebananie says:

    Oh we would definitely come for that!!!!

    As for buying, if you are doing it for next Christmas, buy them on the 26th – go to Michael’s, Target, etc and pick them up at 50% off. Trust me, it’s much easier.

    then, the day before, you and I get together and put the buggers together and let them sit overnight. I don’t use the frosting that comes with the kit, because it’s crap. I buy the big tubs of Wilton’s Royal Icing, and use that. We also can fill up bags with icing for the kids to use the next day (so it isn’t as messy.

    I’d love to help you with this – it would be so much fun!!!!

    Would this be a charity event for the station – perhaps $5 to decorate a house?

    Oh, and I heard the reports about possible snowfall on that day. I believe that last time it snowed on “that day” was in 1996, perhaps? I was living in Falls Church and there was a thunder-snow that night. It took T 3 hours to go about 3 miles, and he ended up walking the last two miles. He was soaked to the bone.

  5. AlisonH says:

    I looked around late Saturday night and went, um. Know what? We forgot the tree, still.

  6. Marjie says:

    Well, we got our tree on Saturday, and it’s standing nekkid in the family room. Thor blissfully ignores it. At least it smells nice.

    My girls and little boys usually bake and decorate gingerbread houses on Christmas Eve. We use confec sugar/milk frosting; never tried the Wilton’s tubs.

    Christmas is making me especially loony today, because I have no ideas for presents for several of my older kids, or for Ryan, and you know I hate just handing out money with no boxes to open!

  7. Bubblesknits says:

    We always buy a pre-baked kit to put together while the kids are out of school. We’ll probably do that one night this week. 🙂

  8. I hope you get your White wish for That Day. I hope we get a dry day, with no fog! I agree with Anne, kits bought on after Christmas sale sounds perfect. (it’s not like they’ll be stale, ’cause who actually eats the house>) Tons to do today in prep for a Tea here tomorrow. What WAS I thinking?!

  9. We haven’t done a Gingerbread in 2 years now, but they are fun. We never made ours not edible so that helps because you can use glue guns for construction—you need good glue guns though, the low temp cheapos don’t hold the pieces together well at all. And its a huge mess to clean up!!!!

    I have a couple more cards to address, a package or 2 to wrap, a few new ornaments to put on the tree and maybe break down and bake a cookie or two!!!

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I’d love to make a gingerbread house!

  11. Anita says:

    I love that photo of the girls. 🙂
    Closest I’ve come to gingerbread houses is I made some out of wood one time that looked like gingerbread. LOL

  12. Julie says:

    Husband is sick and it is very rainy here! Our home is decorated, but the shopping is not quite done. waiting til the end of the week. Ding dongy, I know! But Husband…he does not feel well and he is my ride.

  13. Barbara says:

    I should have taken photos of the gingerbread house event. Will email the girl who had the camera and see if she can email me photos.
    Will email meme…..

  14. Kathy says:

    We made gingerbread houses when the kids were younger. Started out with graham cracker houses…wouldn’t advise that mess. Next up was baking our own gingerbread. All well and good except and the kids were losing interest waiting on the construction hubby to make house blueprints.
    After a few years of this we purchased the kit. Bought some extra candy to decorate and it was a complete success!

Leave a Reply

