Knit Forward

This isn’t one of those reformative, resolved posts.  I gave up resolutions a few years ago.  At some point in the next few days, I’ll take a deep breath and look back at 2010, but right now, it’s a houseguest who has overstayed her welcome.  You know the kind… she gets up earlier than you, rattles dishes in the kitchen until you stumble in to join her, announces she thinks she’ll stay another day or three…

DSC01550

My Magi

Hem.  I am looking forward to our annual dinner celebration with dear friends, so at least I can say 2010 ended on an upturn.   In the meantime, I’m packing up Christmas early.  Usually, I’m a 12 Days of Christmas gal and Christmas is Christmas until we’ve celebrated Epiphany.  This year, the Magi are going to have to be their own party. 

I didn’t knit much in 2010.  I read a lot more than I have since the knitting bug bit, but I also spent a lot of time just BEING.  I miss knitting, so I’ve cast on for a baby blanket I need to get finished in the next couple of weeks, and I’ve decided I need a plan.  Sure, knitting should be fun and requires some room for spontaneity, but I felt this year I was just spinning my wheels.

Here’s the plan:

  • More project monogamy.  Sure, baby blankets are quickly too big to be good travel projects, so I’ll need a couple of things at the ready, but I’m going to aspire to starting something and seeing it through.  I seem to enjoy that more, even when there’s some tedium, than having 20 UFOs – unfinished objects.
  • Knit from stash.  I did okay with this in 2010.  Of the 24 projects I completed, 19 were either from stash or yarn I did not purchase myself.
  • Cloths.  I like giving cloths, so this means I must knit/crochet them.  If I do one or two each month, I’ll be way ahead of the game.
  • About those UFOs…  I want to finish them, three of them specifically – my pink cardi, the Mooson shawl, and Miss Dashwood – in that order.  My pink cardi will be the non-travel project of choice, just as soon as the baby blanket is done, then Mooson, etc.
  • A certain lace scarf needs to be finished.  I’ll do one repeat nightly when time allows, once said blankie is complete.
  • Christmas knitting.  I do have one scarf that was meant for a gift this year that is near completion.  That will be the first travel knit of the year, almost sure to be finished over the weekend.  I  have three to do, so it looks like I have great firehouse knitting for a while.
  • Sock yarn stash.  I do aspire to use 12 skeins this year.  I have a pair of Christmas socks I want to do, but I’m going to allow my mojo to have a little freedom here.  It seems at this moment, I’m liking the shawl-like scarves, similar in design to the one Kathy gave me for Christmas. 
December 2010 015

Trust me... it's a lean, pretty shape...

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a baby blanket to knit and a tree to take down… more fudge to make…

I do wish you a peaceful, happy 2011.

21 comments on “Knit Forward

  1. nancyr says:

    Happy New Year Chan, love the gift shawlette-Name of it? I’m liking smaller shawls.Hmm-fudge sounds good!!

  2. gMarie says:

    Happy New Year Darlin’! g

  3. Sue says:

    That shawl is very pretty, nice soft colors.

    I didn’t do as much knitting as I’d have liked in 2010, but I blame losing tome to eye surgery. 2011 should be better. I want some new yarn, but I’m going to work on reducing the sash first.

    Now, about that fudge!
    Happy New Year.

  4. AlisonH says:

    Happy New Year! (Can you believe I actually started a sock last night?)

  5. km says:

    Happy New Year Chan! Good for you with the knitting goals. I’m trying to be intentional about my knitting this year. I’m thinking about trying to have 100 hats for a friend by Christmas…that’s an ambitious goal…but there are kids in Mongolia that really need them. My friend spent her Christmas vacation with them this year…and she might be moving by next year.

    I’m trying to knit the Emily Ivey’s Smitten advent calendar too. I think if I knit one for my SIL too, then I’ve got to knit mitttens a month. They’re tiny.

  6. I’ve not really thought too much about my goals for 2011…why hurry? I know we’ve discussed some reading goals, but as for knitting…finish my sweater, take a good look at my other WIPS and make decisions about what to finish, what to frog, and knit from stash about covers it so far. I’m seriously considered a self-imposed sock club. Really. I did the dishcloth a month thing this year. That was good!

  7. kathy b says:

    I LOVE a shawl like scarf. Kathy’ s gift to you is amazing. Love the colors.

    I say as long as you are still making fudge, you are in good holiday spirits!

    HAPPY NEW YEARS EVE

  8. Mary says:

    Happy (almost) New Year! Let’s hope there is an improvement from 2010…shouldn’t be hard! Went to LYS — if you can call it local when it means a 35 mile drive each way– to use a gift cert. Blew that and then some. New sweater and a baby blanket (what is with the BBs). Have a great evening.

  9. Walden121 says:

    Have a wonderful New Years! Hope 2011 is the best one yet!

  10. Kristyn says:

    Happy New Year to all of you!

  11. Bridget says:

    Happy New Year to you and yours! I hope 2011 makes a better time for all of us, and that this time next year we’ll be saying “Wow!” more than anything else.

  12. Blond Duck says:

    Have a great new year!

  13. Louise says:

    Wishing you and the Knight and the girls a blessed New Year filled with lots of love, peace, health and happiness!

  14. Nichole says:

    Fudge? Did someone say fudge?? mmm…
    Love your list … and I feel much the same. I lost my knitting mojo in 2010 and have far too many UFO’s.. here’s to a better knitting year in 2011!

  15. Marjie says:

    I don’t make resolutions, but I am going to sew my stash down some…in my wildest dreams, at least! My tree stays up a couple more weeks, at the kids’ insistence. Ah, I don’t mind.

    Happy New Year, Chan!

  16. Kathy says:

    A very satisfying knit and so glad you like it 🙂

    I’m striving to get a lot more gift knitting finished this year. Wish me luck on that one ;).

    Now about that fudge??!!

  17. Bubblesknits says:

    Aren’t those little shawlettes beautiful!? I love mine.

    I was rather monogamous with my knitting this past year. I’ve found that when I have too many projects on the needles, I get bogged down and nothing gets finished. If I feel cluttered, I don’t function as well.

    Wishing you and yours a very Happy New Year!

  18. Love the little shawl from Kathy It is adorable, I think you have a great plan for your knitting for the year. Happy New Year to you and yours my friend!

  19. Terrie says:

    Happy New Year, Chan! We took down the Christmas decorations yesterday and I’m ready for 2011. Great list of knitting goals; I hope to finish more things this year as well. I love the shawl/scarf from Kathy!

  20. Blond Duck says:

    Have a magical Monday!

  21. Anita says:

    We have put up all the Christmas decorations too. Now to get the rest of the mess I’ve made cleaned up! 🙂

    I just want to figure out how to have less stress this year, & not feel as if I’m running in circles getting nothing done….sigh.

Leave a Reply

