Dog Detective Books

Might I distract you another day from the FO report I owe you – but lack photos – or the Christmas report … more lack of photos…  ??

Photo courtesy of Usborne, book #1

Way back at Mistletoe Market, I discovered Usborne’s Jack Russell Dog Detective Series.   I ordered the first four, and devoured them while we were at the beach.  That Jack Russell (first and last name of the dog detective) is a fun pup!  

Why yes, they ARE children’s books.  Usborne ranks them as 9+.   However, I’m pretty sure that almost any child capable of sitting through a very short chapter here and there would enjoy them, even if an adult or older child had to read aloud to them.

There are many other dog characters, doggie vocabulary at the end of every chapter, and a few humans and maybe a cat or two thrown in here and there.   While these books are EXCEPTIONALLY light reading, I adored them and have ordered the rest of the series, just because a good, happy read is still a good, happy read, regardless of what the intended audience’s age might have been.

So tell me the truth… what children’s books do you still enjoy?

17 comments on “Dog Detective Books

  1. Bubblesknits says:

    I enjoy reading most of the books that Karate Kid brings home from the school library. He likes the same type of books that I did as a kid. ; ) I’ll have to show him this series and have him look for it at the library when school resumes.

  2. Jessica says:

    The Luckiest Girl by beverly cleary, pretty much the best book ever written. :o)

  3. gMarie says:

    I love Nancy Drew and Trixie Beldon. I also love Harold and the Purple Crayon and Good Night Moon. These books sound fun – I keep meaning to go get a a library card, maybe this will be the push needed? g

  4. Sue says:

    Over the weekend Rob downloaded Alice in Wonderland and read much of it to me. Though I read it as a child, I sure missed a lot of the satire. It is a very fun read as an adult. I have a few children’s books in the library that I look thru every now and then.

  5. anniebananie says:

    Anything by Dr. Seuss, especially the Lorax.

  6. Marjie says:

    I love Nancy Drew, too, especially the really old ones, older than me, even, where the means of transport and communication are ancient beyond belief. I even have a series of boys’ books from about 1910 that are fun because everything is so familiar, yet foreign.

    Hands down, though, modern kids’ book award has to go to the Henry and Mudge books. Short and sweet, they’re about a little boy who wanted the biggest dog possible. I’ll bet you don’t wonder what kind of dog he is….Shannon found one when she was in 2nd grade (18 years ago), and we were all hooked!

  7. My sister bought me a children’s book for Christmas called Just Grace—she was doing a theme with things with my name, (I wish she knew about all the yarns out there named Grace)

  8. Kathy says:

    I have a very old book from my childhood called The Bird’s Christmas Carol. A beautiful story and one of my faves. Teddy Bear stories are also a big favorite here ;).

  9. Nichole says:

    Oh what fun!!! Did you get them for the Nook or actual books?

  10. Kristyn says:

    I never read the Little House books as a kid and have been thinking about reading them for a while now.

  11. I still love a good deal of “children’s” literature. Some favorite series include: Little House series, The Prydain Chronicles by Lloyd Alexander, The Chronicles of Narnai, and yes, Nancy Drew. Like someone above, I prefer the older Nancy Drew’s, most likely written in the 50’s and 60’s to the more modernized versions. That being said, the kids and I read The Quest For Queenie dozens of times. It might be the ‘newest’ book on my list of kids lit.

  12. Barbara says:

    I suppose Harry Potter doesn’t count? 🙂

  13. kathy b says:

    ITs easy to see WHy. Written by herman munster. A classic. YOU MUST READ IT

  14. Kathy says:

    That’s great! Children’s books I’ve bought as an adult are mostly old favorites of mine…several by Dr. Seuss, some Beverly Cleary, “Charlotte’s Web”. I have been thinking of getting Henry Reed, Inc. by Keith Robertson and others in the series. They were the books where I first learned about truffles and dowsing, among other topics.

    As mentioned above, technically Harry Potter is for kids.

    And I intend to read Alice in Wonderland this May. I signed up for some kits from Woolgirl’s Victorian Writers club. I want to read the book the month before the kit arrives.

    Good literature is good literature, not matter the intended age of the audience.

  15. Blond Duck says:

    I only read children’s books!

  16. AlisonH says:

    Narnia, and although I haven’t read them in a long time, Lloyd Alexander was a good one. The Anne of Green Gables books–after blogging about Prince Edward Island, and having seen Lucy Montgomery’s house, I need to go reread those again!

    Dog books: I highly recommend anything by the late James Herriott.

Leave a Reply

