My Dogs Walk All Over Me to Infinity

You might remember that the very talented gMarie designed and knitted a very special cowl for both Sissy and me.   Well, that same pattern has an infinity version, and I originally cast on for Wondervet, for Christmas.  I’d failed to realize she’d still be on maternity leave, and now, I don’t know which of the fabulous vet care professionals deserves it most!

January 2011 014

At any rate, here’s 2010’s last FO report.

Project:  Walks All Over Infinity

Pattern: My Dogs Walk All Over Me, by gMarie.   I did make one glaring change.  In part because I was loving the pattern and not paying attention, I charged on past the infinity chart instructions and knitted the entire chart.  I decided to carry on when I realized what I’d done, for two reasons.  Firstly, because I have two dogs, and the full repeat does two pairs of paw prints, and secondly, because Wondervet is long and lean and might need more depth to keep her thin neck warm!

December 2010 018

Yarn:  Cascade 220 Superwash.  I like this yarn a lot, but I seriously doubt it’s a true worsted weight.  It’s at best a very light worsted, but it is nice and soft, and won’t felt when machine washed.  I used just over one ball, and I’m pretty sure that if I’d followed the instructions, I could have squeaked by with just the one ball.

Needles:  Addi Clicks, #6 tips.  I guess I’m lucky, but I find my Addi Clicks very smooth at the joins, and I adore them. 

December 2010 017

Verdict:  I’ll definitely knit this one – in either version – again and again.

Do tell me about your weekend plans, or anything else beautiful and sweet in your world.  We’ll be prepping for surgery and a potential significant snowfall…

20 comments on “My Dogs Walk All Over Me to Infinity

  1. AlisonH says:

    Best wishes on that surgery and congratulations and best wishes to the vet with her new baby.

  2. Mr. Puffy says:

    Gretchen (in previous post)looks much more sober as if she realizes that she will have to be strong and take care of Sissy now. I asked Steve about Sissy’s eye (he is a retired eye surgeon) and he was only able to confirm that this is a very serious problem. Hugs and sending prayers for you all at this very stressful and upsetting time.

  3. Marjie says:

    I liked this pattern when G dreamed it up, and I’ll bet Wondervet will love it, too! That is a nice color, too; it will go with whatever color families she prefers. And you know that I’m all over washable wools for ladies with new babies! Best of luck to Sissy and her family!

  4. It’s beautiful! Do you think G will be selling her pattern, maybe? Somehow it would be appropriate if Dog House Yarns picked it up, maybe?
    Re: weekend – this weekend I have plans to knit with some girls (yes, I can say girls because I am one) for a couple of hours on Saturday AND THEN I have the Lake Retreat (which R of DHY will be visiting) next weekend! How’s that for sweet and fun?
    On a different sweet note, my sweetie H2B picked up me at work yesterday bearing a bouquet of flowers and a mushy card … just cause….
    So, get warm in the house, bake something even they may eat and enjoy the snow from inside!

  5. Sue says:

    Snow is forecast for this weekend so if it happens we’ll be playing in it. If not, we’ll be playing in mud.

    I want to do some baking and get a knitting project started. First I have to drag myself away from my Kindle.

  6. Jessica says:

    LOVE that scarf, and REALLY REALLY love the houndie that is wearing it! :o)
    This weekend, i would LOVE to see a movie (The Tourist), but i am pretty sure the Lake Effect Snow Machine is going to keep us home. boo. For the first time since i got my snow tires, i could NOT make it up my driveway today. and it is still falling.
    Tonite is soup for dinner…hot italian sausage and lentil soup. Saw the recipe on rachael ray the other day, and DH got very excited when i said i was making it.
    It is soup weather for sure.
    Hugs to you!!!

  7. Mary says:

    Wonderful job on the scarf…two paw prints are so appropriate. Suppose to get long delayed haircut in a.m., so of course it is supposed to snow. Charming. Otherwise, it is back home tomorrow after a week of Great Dane sitting…though he sat on me a tad more than I would like.

  8. Amy says:

    That looks wonderful and oh-so warm! I love the doggie pic!

  9. kathy b says:

    I love love love the pawprint cowl. You have done a wonderful knit job.

    Plans for the weekend: friday night: Blackhawks hockey knitting while with a fire in the fireplace. Knitting a mitten, a first for me. A felted mitten.

    Sat/Sun working the weekend noc shift. : ) My choice. Im bringing pulled pork sandwiches for my dinner at 0300 both nights!

  10. Ruth says:

    Lovely giftie for the vet! Weekend plans: spend time with my Airman! (Oh, and the dh)

  11. Terrie says:

    I love the cowl! Beautiful color and it looks great on Sissy 🙂

    Last night we spent with Nathan’s family for his birthday party. This afternoon I’m going to a jewelry party. The rest of the weekend I’ll be organizing our office/craft room, knitting and watching it snow.

    I hope you, the Knight, and the fur-girls have a wonderful weekend!

  12. Lucy says:

    I think the cowl looks fab on Sissy. Maybe you should let her keep that one and do another for the vet :). I’m just getting caught up on blog reading and had no idea poor Sissy was having eye troubles. We’ll keep her in our puppy prayers. Hugs to all of you.

  13. Barbara says:

    Love the paw print in the pattern, Chan!
    Will be thinking about you tomorrow…

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    Gorgeous. Someone will love wrapping that around their neck. 🙂

  15. monnibo says:

    Beautiful cowl! Could you just leave it at the office for Wondervet?

  16. Kathy says:

    Awesome Pawsome Cowl:). Love the infinity version.

    Sending good thoughts for the surgery.

    grumble, growl, we may be missing the snow….again 😦

  17. Nichole says:

    LOVE it! 🙂
    When is surgery scheduled for?

  18. Anita says:

    Love the cowl! Great job! And I love the photo of Sissy wearing it, looks like it was made for her. 🙂

    Thinking of all of you tonight!! Hugs

  19. […] big fun handing out Valentines at the vet’s yesterday, and I especially enjoyed gifting the infinity scarf to […]

Leave a Reply

