Slipping…

Remember that slippery (Apple) slope a friend warned against?  Well, we’re happily sliding on down it.  Yesterday, the Knight’s very belated iPad Christmas present made us a two-app family.  As predicted, he’s already shoved his formerly beloved notebook computer aside. 

Why yes, it is a bit ironic that Verizon also just announced its new ability to sell us iPhones.  I’m sure those will follow soon enough.  In the meantime, don’t hesitate to share your favorite iTouch apps for yours truly and iPad apps for the Knight.  I know he needs the pdf reader app, as do I.  Also, how do you multi-i- households manage your Apple account?  The Knight is quite willing to just add his new toy to my existing account, but is that the best option?

January 2011 006

Photo taken 1-3-11

For your daily Sissy update, the girl is fine.  What a difference 24 hours makes.  Yesterday at 7am, she was trembling and clearly miserable.  This morning, she trotted on down into the pen and even shouted out to the labrador next door.  I’m hoping to find her “hat” (e-collar) still in place when I get home, but otherwise, she’s well on her way to feeling like herself again.

The Knight took several photos of her face last night, but I still maintain it’s not good blog fodder.  If you REALLY want to see, let me know, and I’ll get photos off of his Blackberry and my iTouch.

We are truly humbled by the outpouring of good wishes and support.   At the risk of sounding presumptuous, please keep the prayers, white light, good thoughts, etc. coming.   While the healing is going very well, we have a lifetime of a battle for that right eye ahead of us.

January 2011 016

Likewise, the wee one is still a little unsure of how to treat this strange-smelling version of her Sissy.   She gets fussed at for darting and jumping in her Sissy’s face – as she always has! – so then she just steers clear of Sis altogether.  That was fine when Sis didn’t feel good and wanted to be left alone, but last night, Sis wanted to give Gg  – Gretchen Greer – a smooch, and Gg wouldn’t come close enough.

From the website of the same name

I’ve also been told to read A Dog’s Purpose.   Have you read it?  I already have it ready to download on my Nook when I get home…

And do you know about Kashi Go Lean hot cereal?!  I had a bowl this morning and YUM!  I have a new favorite breakfast.  I tried the honey & cinnamon variety this morning, and think it would be about perfect with some diced apples added in.

What do you eat for breakfast?

21 comments on “Slipping…

  1. Nichole says:

    Glad to hear things are going as well as they can… I’m sure GG will adjust just as Sis does. Hadn’t heard about the Kashi hot cereal… hhmm… might have to find some! Looking forward to your review of the book!

  2. I am so glad Sissy is feeling better; GG will get re-used to her soon! Hugs and sloppy licks from our kennel to yours!

  3. Miss Gretchen looks rather “scary” in that pic…what IS she thinking? Glad to hear the 24 hrs did help lots! Breakfast? Today, rye toast and yoghurt. I try to have oatmeal and/or eggs often. I need to start my day with protein to have a good day.

  4. gMarie says:

    goldfish! I do have a dish of oatmeal I should prolly make that, huh?

    have not heard of that book. will look into it.

    As for the i stuff – don’t have any of it. Can’t help. But I have heard there is an app for keeping track of your place in a knitting pattern and there was another one the stash girls were talking about ….. g

  5. Mary says:

    Yeah, Sissy! Good news to hear about her perking up. And Gretchen…it will be okay soon.

    Breakfast was a double fiber english muffin with 1 tbsp peanut butter, 1 tsp apricot spread..and a banana. Will have to check of the Kashi hot cereal. usually have oatmeal most work days.

  6. Sue says:

    Gretchen will soon adjust to the changes, but getting hit with an e-collar is pretty painful, so that may be keeping her away. Glad to hear Miss Siss is feeling more like her old self.

    Let me know how the book is. I hadn’t heard of it. I did download a book about raising a PWD. That should be amusing.

  7. kathy b says:

    I skip breakfast….nearly always. I know I know it is so bad for me. I just cant eat early in the day.

    Hooray for our little patient. Prayers continue out my snowy window. St. Francis has a cape of snow around him today!

    Poor thing wearing the collar of shame…I hope she left it on too

  8. AlisonH says:

    The Apple-osphere. Yeah, I got a Nano for Christmas, not quite the same immersion into the experience but a start.

    Go Dogs Go! Glad to hear she’s doing so much better so fast.

  9. Blond Duck says:

    I’m so glad to hear Sissy is better! I swear, soon the world will be run by screens!

  10. good news on the Sissy front!!!

    I eat protein for breakfast, anything with carbs and I crash way to fast!!!

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    For a PDF app, I use GoodReader Lite (I believe is it’s name). Star Walk is a really neat one for the iPad. Games: Angry Birds, Meteor Blitz, and Asphalt 5 are some of hubby’s faves. Also, Skee-Ball, Battleship, and Plants vs. Zombies. For Photo editing, try PS Express (Photoshop) or PhotoStudio. For Weather, The Weather Channel app is my fave. Flickit for uploading pics to Flickr.

    As for the account, hubby and I are on the same account. Reason being, if he downloads an app that I’d like to have on my phone, I can log in to our account, find the app, and redownload it on mine for free. If we had separate accts., I’d have to buy it again. Did that make sense? 🙂

  12. StarSpry says:

    I’m so glad Sissy is doing better!! I’m sure Gretchen will start acting normal around her again soon. I love that face, by the way 🙂

    We have a Mac and Nathan & I each have an iPhone. It’s easiest for us to each have our own account when it comes to Apps, music, etc.

    I’ll have to check out A Dog’s Purpose; it sounds good!

  13. Amy says:

    Glad to hear that the pup is doing better. Poor little thing. As traumatic as it sounds, I know she’s better off.

  14. Marjie says:

    I didn’t think I’d see a post today, so this is the first time I’ve checked! I’m very happy Sis is doing well, and the Knight will probably have them playing together by the time you get home.

    You know I don’t have any gadgets. I’ve thought about getting a netbook so I can check for school cancellations without getting up, but then I had a genius idea: Ryan gets the benefit of the cancellation, so he can trot on downstairs and check the computer! Genius!

  15. Mr. Puffy says:

    Awww. So pleased to hear Sissy is feeling a bit better today.

    Sorry I can be of no help on the technical issues as I don’t even have a cell phone and the whole digital revolution is pretty much passing me by.

    Gretchen’s reaction is tame compared to our Mr. P who reacted to our old German Shepherd (who came home wearing an e-collar after a major abdominal surgery) by wetting his pants, so to speak. Poor little thing probably thought he was next.

  16. Barbara says:

    So pleased to hear Sissy is doing well! You must be so relieved.

    Yes, I was annoyed when I read about Verizon. Too late now…for me, anyway.

    My daughter is waiting for the newest iPad version…which is supposed to do something she wants that this one doesn’t. (what kind of English is that??)
    I figure I don’t need whatever it is and also figure they are going to be very cheap in the next few months. I may have to get one!

  17. Anniebananie says:

    You decided not to wait until version 2 comes out, eh? So, does the knight like it? More importantly, do you like it?

    I’m very glad to hear that sis is recovering so well. Please send my love to Gretchen too – I’m sure that this is hard on her as well.

    And when things settle down, I’ll bring the fries from sticks and we can have lunch with the fur girls!

  18. Barbara S. says:

    As to breakfast, coffee is my breakfast, though I am trying to get better about it including something else. Right now it is usually an orange, or grapefruit, or a couple of clementines or mandarin oranges, since we got a bunch in our CSA box last week. I am thinking I should make up several days worth of steel-cut oatmeal since I really like it, measure it out into separate containers so I can just grab one and heat it up. Oh, and I need get on with my experiment of making Greek yogurt, since I really do like yogurt for breakfast. When I go to the store I will be looking for that Kashi!
    As to i-stuff, I am with G, but I read about one for Knitting daily that someone loved.
    http://www.knittinglikecrazy.com/2011/01/knitting-daily-iphone-app.html

  19. Anita says:

    I hope that Sissy is still feeling better! Give her a hug from me. I miss those puppies! And I feel so bad for little Gretchie, she’s so confused & doesn’t want to do anything to upset anyone. Smooches to her too! I wish I were close enough to come see them & you this weekend!! GAH!

  20. Kathy says:

    So glad Sissy is on the road to recovery. Poor Gretchen not happy with a car ride makes it stressful for all. Hope you can get that issue resolved.

    Breakfast?? Coffee. I usually skip breakfast. Just not a favorite meal although I do like breakfast food for dinner 😉

  21. Louise says:

    Sending hugs all the way around!

Leave a Reply

