First ’11 FO

photo

Being virtual show dogs is STILL exhausting!

Before I share the first finished object of the year, I have been remiss in telling you that the fur-girls’ Mango Minster entries are up.   As seasoned bloggers and readers, you know that Sissy’s was done first – that’s important to her, so I’m just sayin’…  I’ll announce voting here, but it is time-sensitive and has a rather narrow window, so if you’d like a personal email notification at the appropriate time, let me know.

January 2011 016Also, DIVA aka: Queen, Sissy, etc. reports that her recovery is complete.   Her staff is holding off on such a proclamation until the esteemed surgeon says so, but at any rate, she’s galloping, leaping and stealing things off counters again, so all is right in the Woods. 

She has also requested that we only call her DIVA or Queen, but the staff isn’t cooperating.  We have ceased with “Queenie” after learning that despite its use as by an esteemed matriarch related to me by marriage, it does have rather mean connotations in literature.  Since Sis, while rambunctious and curious, is no troublemaker, we wanted no parts of that!

So… ’bout that FO…

It took me a week to knit Dae’s birthday hat

January 2011 001

Pattern:  Rib-a-roni is a great pattern.  This is actually my second time using it, so that should tell you something.  It’s rare that I go back to a pattern, but this makes the perfect man’s hat.  Don’t let my week confuse you; it’s a quick knit when the yarn is truly worsted weight (more on that in a bit) and when life isn’t unravelling at the seams. 

I knitted the largest size.

January 2011 010Yarn:  Cascade 220 Superwash, not quite a whole ball.  While I love the “touch” of this yarn, meaning that it’s soft and very easy to care for, I am not at all convinced it really is even a light worsted.  A little poking around Ravelry finds that plenty of people agree with me about 220 in general being VERY lean for a worsted.

Needles:  I used my favorite #6 bamboo circ, and then switched to the cramp-making 9″ #6 Hiya Hiya bamboo circ.   There’s just no way.   I know some people are switching to 9″ circs for socks, and the only way it would work for me is if I used two of ’em in the “two circs” style.  I already know that’s not my favorite method just because I tend to have stitches sliding off needles when I careless set a project down to let the dogs in and out or whatever, so if someone else wants to try this arthritis-maker, speak up and I’ll drop it in the mail to you.

Little sidenote here for the non-knitters.  THAT is the beauty of knitting.  If one method or type of needle doesn’t work for you, you have options, and lots of them. 

DSC01024

The first RaR hat, shown on a flower pot

Verdict:  I doubt this will be my last Rib-a-Roni, and 220 Superwash is too soft to hold the gauge problem against it forever.  Dae likes his hat, so all is well.

Be sure to check in on Thursday.  DIVA has granted permission for me to share some photos of her in her mostly healed state.  I’ll also share a special Vera Bradley purchase on this blog, and yes, it does relate to Dogs on Thursday!

10 comments on “First ’11 FO

  1. Sue says:

    It sure is good to hear that Sissy is back to her normal routine. I didn’t think she’d let this setback get the best of her.

    I have a favorite hat pattern that I tend to go back to, especially if I need one in a hurry. I like that ‘flower pot cover’.

    I haven’t done any knitting yet in 2011, so nothing to report on.

  2. gMarie says:

    Sis got a new bag? I told you about Queenie – although I was thinking of a completely different book. Glad to hear that she is healing. Lovely hat. g

  3. Nichole says:

    Glad the Diva is back to her ‘ole self!
    Great man hat!

  4. Marjie says:

    Your tone is much happier today! I’m so glad Sis is bouncing around again. Nice hat; it’s good to see you reporting another FO.

  5. Bubblesknits says:

    Yes, I’ll also throw in my “agree” on that observation. It’s definitely a light worsted, in my opinion. I lurvs it anyway, though. ; )

    Already checked out the pics on your Flickr. Seems she’s doing very well, but I still wish I could reach through the computer and give that side a get well kiss.

  6. Mary says:

    Happy you to get an FO so early in the year. Thought I had finished the lower back section of that green cable sweater last night, when with my final cast off, I saw I had missed one cable pattern in one section in the middle of the back. Just shoot me. Have to rip back at least 30 rows.

  7. kathy b says:

    I just voted for her twice. That’s how we do it in Chicago anyhow…..

  8. Terrie says:

    That is a great man hat; glad Dae is enjoying his 🙂 It’s wonderful to hear that Sissy has decided her recovery is complete! I’d love to get an email when I can vote for Sissy and Gretchen.

  9. Anita says:

    I like the hats! 🙂 And I loved the girls posts. he he

  10. Kathy says:

    Nice knit you finished. YAY!!

    Love the pic of the girls. Very endearing 🙂

Leave a Reply

