Winter Hunterland

Happy Dogs on Thursday, little friday and Thankful Thursday!   We haven’t gotten blasted as thoroughly as we did last year   as some of you have this winter, but I got my wish; I wanted “one more snow” now that Sis is feeling her oats again.

January 2011 009

Sis and I have done an update on their blog, including a very nice photo of her face that shows how beautifully that left side is healing.   So here, we’ll feature the wee one, being a bold huntress – with no coat!!  Since we got back from the beach in December, Gretchen has decided she’s a tough chick and she don’t need no stinkin’ coat – unless it’s below about 20 degress or it’s raining or sleeting.  Hem.  Diva much?

January 2011 002As you can see here, she doesn’t like sleet, not one bit.  She also doesn’t care for her very utilitarian – but PANK! – Weatherbeater coat.  She’s more about style than function, it seems.

Thankful?  Well, for the snow that made Sis happy, the great report at her post-op check-up, but especially for the Knight, who is one awesome doggy Dadaw.  It warms my heart to see him smothered under some rougly 60 lbs. of fur-girls, all in the name of snuggling.  It delights me to no end when I step out of the shower to find that he’s holding “hands” with Sissy, or giving her a belly rub, or letting Gretchen lick him about the face. 

What routine sight makes you melt?

17 comments on “Winter Hunterland

  1. Louise says:

    Good morning, Channon! We didn’t get hit with snow as bad as I thought we would but still, it’s snow and I’m pretty darn tired of it. But if it makes the girls happy it’s just fine with me:)

    I think Gretchen looks adorable. Perhaps she needs to take another look in the mirror:)

    Thankful? Marion has been a blessing this winter. Whenever I get the winter blues, she reminds me of just how many winters she has seen and I can’t help but to smile:)

  2. Mary says:

    Okay, I am stumped…or just too tired. Can’t come up with a melting sight…

  3. gMarie says:

    Good question. Lovely photos.
    *having the dogs waiting at the gate for me in the morning
    *chatting with the Princess on my walk to the office
    *Hubby sitting on the couch when I get home from knitting. 🙂 Happy Thankful Thursday. g

  4. Sweet! I knew that under that ladylike exterior lurked a REAL terrier! Commonly seen sight that makes me go all wobbley? Sasha’s tiny face laid sweetly on on her tiny paws. Who could say no to that?

  5. Sue says:

    It’s supposed to hit 50 here with lots of mud.

    Every morning after we’re up and dressed, Tsar comes in and climbs on the bed for Rob to give him a massage.

    After everyone comes in from their morning outing, Morgan usually remembers that she forgot to poop and Rob takes her into the front yard to take care of it and chase the squirrels while she’s there.

  6. Marjie says:

    That’s a cute picture of Gretchen looking irked! It’s wonderful that Sissy is doing so well, and enjoyed her snow. There was 6″ of snow just 50 miles south of us, and we got nothing. Not that I’m complaining, since we have about a foot on the ground for romping and playing.

  7. Tina S. says:

    Awwwwwwwww! Very sweet post! Glad your girls are enjoying the snow…HoneyDew and Sampson say they can have ours!

  8. Blond Duck says:

    Bear’s wuffles. 🙂

  9. Kristyn says:

    Watching my DH and son playing together always makes me melt.

  10. Robin in VA says:

    Funny…Rudy had the very same look on his face yesterday with the sleet!! What makes me melt? That pair of brown eyes looking into mine–and if he could talk he’d be saying Mommy I Love You!

  11. Nichole says:

    I think The Knight & Matt rank right up there as top doggy dads….. 🙂 Makes my heart melt too. 🙂

  12. kathy b says:

    Fireman in his turnout gear….

  13. Anita says:

    Pretty snow…. doesn’t look like we will be getting any this year. 😦

    Gretchen looks cute in her coat even if she isn’t crazy about it. LOL

    Right now, nothing makes me melt, I’m grouchy. 😉

  14. Kathy says:

    We ended up with a foot of snow and now a lovely layer of ice on top. Of course Mr. B slipped on the ice, did something to his foot and has required a LOT of attention.

    Love Miss Gretchen’s coat even if she doesn’t, maybe that will perk her 😉

    mmm…good question…can’t think of a good answer.

  15. Bubblesknits says:

    Awww…I think we need pictures of the hand holding. : )

  16. Katie says:

    one more snow??? good gracious! we get at least one more snow per week around here…

    anyways – enough of the weather. a routine sight that always makes me happy is watching mr. me and the sons all laughing together over something silly. boys laugh at the strangest things…

Leave a Reply

