Details, details!

So… I had a request for DETAILS about my food experiences in New Orleans.  Sigh.  Where to start?!

I had my one and only beignet at the hotel.  There just wasn’t an opportunity to get to Cafe Du Monde for the REAL thing, but I did bring a box of their mix home for the Knight.  If mine happen to look at all like that, I’ll take photos and let you know what the fried dough and powdered sugar fan at our house thought.  If he loves ’em, I’ll also try the flight attendant’s recommendation of refrigerated biscuit dough, quartered, fried and powdered with cinnamon.

Friday night at G W Fins, I had biscuits.  Evidently, based on that article, I’m not the only one with a biscuit problem at Fins.  I also had a pecan crusted sole served with pesto gnocchi and – be still my heart – pea butter.  There was another word in there – shoo?  shue?  – but alas, it’s not on the Fins’ website.  It’s worlds better than it sounds, and the waitress did tell us it is FINELY pureed peas and, well… butter.  There were veggies in there too, but honestly, I’ve told you about the things that really mattered.

Their tiramisu was also stellar, but my friend also had something very chocolate and decadent, and she thought her dessert was a little round piece of heaven as well.  Oh – if you didn’t read my previous post, we both had the same entree each night, so I can’t comment on anything else, but I’m positive anything at either establishment is incredible.

Saturday night, we did The Pelican Club.   I had the shrimp and four-cheese grits.  There were forty other things on the menu – from appetizers on down – that I would have liked to try, but I was practicing restraint, since portion control clearly didn’t make it in my carry-on and stayed in Virginia.  It was truly the best bowl of shrimp and grits I’ve ever had, and believe me, I’ve had a few.  

I ordered the pecan pie – which wasn’t the best ever, but the vanilla bean ice cream served with was VERY good – and my friend again had a very chocolate something that she ate on until she hurt.  I’d get that – chocolate decadence was the name at one place or the other – if we went again, which I hope we will!

Do you have restaurants you HAVE to go back to, in any city, town or country?  I know that’s how the Knight and I travel…  we find a place we love and the trip isn’t complete if we don’t eat there…

This entry was posted in travel.

18 comments on “Details, details!

  1. Sue says:

    Yes, we usually have a favorite wherever we go and we have to eat there. I’m worse about it than Rob. He likes to try new things, but I feel if it’s wonderful, why switch?

  2. Mary. says:

    In the NE Kingdom (Vermont) and our house, fried bread dough is served with pure maple syrup. DH makes his own bread dough using his Vermont GM recipe — always made for special family breakfasts. You may also use frozen bread dough: thaw, let rise, cut in pieces (poke hole in middle for best experience), and fry, baby, fry.

  3. Nichole says:

    Sounds devine! I keep saying I need to play a vacation based on one of Rachael Ray’s “tasty travels” or $40 day shows.
    Since Charlotte has become like our 2nd home, we have SEVERAL restaurants that we love down there. So many now that we can’t possibly visit them all in one trip. The Penguin Diner is a must for the atmosphere and fun… we saw it on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives and it is fitting… but man is the comfort food, well… comforting! Their fried pickles are the best ever! BBQ is a must when in town too… Mac’s Speed Shop sure rocks!
    I wish I could remember the awesome Cuban place we ate at while in Miami (Coral Gables)… that was FANTASTIC.

  4. gMarie says:

    Sounds lovely. Someday I hope to get there. We have had some fabulous meals and little restaurants, but usually can’t remember the name or find them again.

    Around home – it tends to be local chains and sadly we have been disappointed lately more often than not. Thinking about trying knock offs at home. g

  5. AlisonH says:

    Mealy’s in Newmarket, Maryland, out in the country (or it was growing up if it isn’t now.) The table legs were made from antique sewing machines and the food was old-time Maryland good, corn fritters like nobody else’s.

    We used to go there once a year after tromping through the woods and cutting down a Christmas tree at a Boy Scout tree farm, and then going to Mealy’s to celebrate my birthday.

    The first year we did that, Dad invited a bunch of other families and made it a surprise party and told the staff to bake me a cake for it.

    What flavor?

    Anything but chocolate, he said, he being allergic to chocolate so we almost never had it in the house.

    And you know they only remembered that one word. I got the biggest, best, most gloriously thoroughly chocolate cake ever in my life to that point, and I was thrilled! Look at all that chocolate! The frosting, the cake, the decorations…!

    Dad grumbled. I didn’t pay him no nevermind, hon, that cake was perfect!

  6. Barbara S. says:

    DTE has informed me the deep-fried refrigerator biscuit dough route works pretty well. (I am still holding out for when we deep-fry croissant dough, considering how much I like the ones I find at the store. Home-made is always better, right?)

  7. Marjie says:

    It’s funny how some foods are things you just have to have when you go to some place or other. You wouldn’t go to Omaha without ordering a giant steak would you? Oh, wait, no one goes to Omaha just for fun. Oops.

    I don’t deep fry – I’m afraid of hot oil – so I just have to drool over your beignets.

  8. Jessica says:

    Oh Marjie, you just rang a bell for me! Kansas City, and The Golden Ox, and if you go, you NEED to order the Rib Eye. Our old neighbor in California told us about it, but when he went, the old KC Stockyard surrounded the restaurant. When we moved to KC (briefly, in ’07), we noted the stockyard was long gone, but the Golden Ox was still there, and it was truly an oldschool steakhouse. Pretty neat.
    We have a great pizza restaurant here in Northern New York, and when we go, we get the Antipasto classic salad for 2, and the Pizza bolognese. YUM! When we cannot make it out for pizza and wine night (wednesdays are pizza nights), i recreate the menu here at home….which i plan to do tomorrow night.

  9. kathy b says:

    THe BOulder Beer Bar in BOulder Junction WI has the best brisket sandwiches ever.

    Keys in St. Paul

    MAVERICKS in Roseville MN for pulled pork sanwiches…..ahhhhh

    Grouper sandwiches anywhere on Sanibel island!

  10. That’s a great question…but I’m guessing we have a bad habit of hardly ever going the same place twice, when out of towning. We once had a fav place to get clam chowder, and I don’t think we’ve yet gotten over how awful it was to go back the last time, and find that new chef had changed things…SOOO sad.

  11. I think your pea butter was pistou! Any chance that is right? The french make it as a topper for soups too!

    We have an Irish Pub Egan and Son and boy is that place always good!, I don’t even care for calamari but there it is out of this world, and toffee pudding cake, or their mushy peas!!! OKay I am hungry!

  12. Kristyn says:

    DH and I used to go to Toronto a couple of times a year. We always had to have Thai at a place call Spring Rolls on Younge and Italian at the Olde Spaghetti Factory. I need to get a passport so we can go back – I miss it!

  13. Terrie says:

    Yum! You’re making me hungry 🙂 I hope the Knight enjoys the beignets!

  14. Katie says:

    funny reading kristyn’s comments about the olde spaghetti factory. i loved that place! always best if you got seated in a trolley – it has (had?) a san francisco theme.
    in st. john’s, newfoundland, i love going to casa grande for mexican food. or if you need an all day, all night breakfast menu, there is classic cafe.
    when i go shopping in bangor, maine, we always go to oriental jade for the chinese buffet. it is AWESOME and has all sorts of options for older son who just doesn’t “do” either veggies or chinese…
    enjoy the beignets – we do like the vermont folk and have ours with maple syrup. : )

  15. Carol says:

    Everything sounds wonderful! It’s a place I would like to visit some day. Did you have any pralines? Thank you for suggesting the kindle or nook to me. I have been leaning toward the kindle but I like that the nook has color. Thank you for all of your kind comments. You have been a wonderful bloggy friend ♥

  16. Anniebananie says:

    You went to NO? Man, I really have gone down the rabbit hole. Did you have fun? (I’m sure you did!)

    I miss you. 🙂

  17. Louise says:

    The first place I’m going to go to when I visit New York is going to be the Seafood Shack out in the Hamptons. Since moving to PA from NY, I need, need, need, seafood!!! Next stop, Mirabella’s in St. James. Two birds with one stone, I would absolutely wear a dress. It’s the only “proper” way to dine in that fabulous French restaurant.

    Good Luck with those Beignets. Please, please, please don’t listen to that flight attendant. There’s no comparison! I will happily send you a recipe:)

  18. Bubblesknits says:

    lol Oh yes. When we travel, we arrange our schedule around the food. ; ) Dr. Tooth (aka Chef Tooth) likes a good dining experience. When we went to Las Vegas, we spent weeks in advance planning out which restaurants we wanted to try. However, one thing that we noticed was that the fancy restaurants that we were *sure* would be fabulous, usually weren’t. (Emeril’s, I’m looking at you.) It was the spur of the moment dining that usually had the better food.

Leave a Reply

