Wearing Another Hat

December 2010 003Some of you know that I don’t like secrets, in part because it’s hard not to share!   I mean, there’s gossip, and then there’s “I care – what’s going on?” and perhaps hardest of all to sit on is the “Ooooh!  Good news!” secret…

I’ve known since early December that I was going to be nominated as the president elect elect for the Junior League of Charlottesville.  I had to avoid the topic with good friends even until the January board meeting, and then I still had to not count my chickens until the membership confirmed the board’s nomination last Thursday, less than 12 hours before I flew to New Orleans for a leadership conference.

October 2010 014If you don’t speak Junior League, what I just told you is that I’m now wearing another hat in the League.  From now ’til our annual meeting in May, I’m Membership VP and PE-e.  Then, for a full year, I’ll be “just” President Elect, going to conferences and meetings and preparing to serve as the public face for a powerful group of women.  Then, from May 2012 to May 2013, I’ll be the President of the JLC. 

After that, I REALLY think I’m going to finally sustain – which is to say, evoke my life membership and move into a truly supportive role for the awesome gals who still are actively working in the League.

This does mean you’re likely to hear even more about the JLC for the next oh… 30 months or so.  It also means I’m re-engergized and really excited about the era of transition Junior Leagues everywhere are experiencing right now.  

Yeah, I’m still Mrs. Chief and membership chair at the firehouse.  That was the Knight’s only concern/request; that I maintain my activity there.  I will point out that I’m also an administrative life member there, so in theory, I could “retire” at any time… but I won’t. 

DSC00667Strangely, this new commitment has brought balance and positive energy to all parts of my life.  Go figure.  gMarie is big on “Can’t give from empty” and I get that…  I didn’t think I was, but I have to wonder…  It seems odd that I’d suddenly make the commitment to Weight Watchers two days after accepting the nomination, and when you add in the home improvements we’ve been doing while running Sissy up and down the road for her eye care…

So, talk to me.  Tell me what you’re doing this weekend.  Are you stronger when you honor your inner compass?   Do you find balance in serving the greater good?

DSC01992

15 comments on “Wearing Another Hat

  1. Nichole says:

    Congrats! 🙂 I think we all often find more when we’re busier than busy than when we’re content with doing nothing, no?
    You’ll do a wonderful job… 🙂 They are lucky to have you!

  2. Sue says:

    Congratulations. I think they’re lucky to have you.

  3. gMarie says:

    I have to agree with Nichole’s comment about getting more done and feeling fullfilled and valued and productive when we are super busy (yea, I added in my own ‘tag words’ there).

    I’m so happy you are finding the right mix and balance for you. I think JL is exactly what you needed to balance your ‘labor of love’.

    Weekend – listing pros and cons; going over them again and again until I’m sick; dinner with friends tonight; hopefully sewing tomorrow; superbowl party Sunday; knitting.

    ::muchlovetoyou:: g

  4. Amy says:

    Chan, that is wonderful! Now, I know that I don’t know much about the Junior League, but I have heard you speak of it many times, and I know that this will be a wonderful endeavor for you! Congrats!

  5. Kristyn says:

    Congrats. I too find I am better focused when I am busy. If I have to much time on my hands I put things off to the last minute and then stress out over it.

  6. kathy b says:

    Aww that is wonderful. I have to protect my down time in a big way now. i still volunteer and work of course, but i watch how busy I FEEL. I like and need to have some real slow time. Must be my age!!!!

  7. Barbara S. says:

    My weekend—I am actually on my way out the door to drive north for a visit, and then I will drive back south a little bit in the morning to see that girl for lunch after she gets off work. I figure I will be seeing if I can get at least one sock fixed tonight while sitting in a hotel room watching TV (I am hoping for some elusive cable novelty). I am also hoping for a stop at a yarn shop before the lunch meet-up.
    As for the rest of it, I’ll be home before dinner tomorrow. (Well, maybe a late dinner since they seem to think 10-2 is a good work schedule on a Saturday, after already working M-F. Do not get either one of us started on that, especially her!)

  8. Kristin says:

    The fur baby looks better in a hat than I do. HAHA

  9. Marjie says:

    Congratulations! Pretty soon you’ll be the Empress of greater Charlottesville, and they’ll be lucky to have you. Great pictures of the girls, especially last year’s Easter Ears picture.

  10. Mary. says:

    Well, Madam President-Elect…WAHOO! As others have said, any JL is lucky to have you in their midst and C-ville is extra lucky. Love seeing Sissy in her (royal) purple, but the two of them in bunny ears always makes me smile…esp GG trying to escape them.

    Weekend involves picking up DS from airport, back from his prolonged training in ID. But before that I must clean his house (been house-sitting for him). You can tell you are old when you have to clean up your son’s home so he won’t be disappointed in you!

  11. km says:

    This is the big Pine Wood Derby weekend. The “impound” the cars and the boys are only allowed to work on them at club meetings…so I’ve taken no photos thus far. I’m so excited for the race…and there will be photos soon. I’m really proud of my 2 little designers.

  12. Kathy says:

    Congratulations!! 🙂 So very happy for them and You.

    Too mentally tired to think so this reader will pass on the seemingly ha-a-ard question 😉

    Weekend: College DD is home, laundry and a Super Bowl party.

  13. kathy says:

    Congratulations! You’ll do a fantastic job!

    Yes, I believe the more you have to do, the more you get done. Kind of obvious when it’s written down, but yeah. If I’m really busy I manage to get it all done, and to do it well.

    Make sure you take some down time just for yourself too!

  14. Anita says:

    I always love a good photo of the girls in hats. 🙂 Congrats Chan! I know you’ll do an awesome job.

    Me? I’m too busy as it is, I can’t imagine taking on any more. You are much better at being super busy than I am. 🙂 I tend to resent being super busy…

  15. StarSpry says:

    Congratulations! I know you’ll do an awesome job 🙂

Leave a Reply

